We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hospitality Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not coming back”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We ended up staying at this location only because the Best Western Barclay Hotel was full due to an event where they had booked a year in advance.

On the weekend of our stay, we were given suite #247.

CONS:
- The biggest disappointment was that the suite smelled smoky and moldy, which they tried to cover up with a spray of some kind.
- It was apparent that there was previously a picture hung on the wall which was no longer there, this was obvious by the wall staining that did not exist where the picture used to be. All walls were covered with wallpaper except for the bathroom; not only was the wallpaper old and stained but was ripped in areas as well.
- On our departure day we decided to try the pool facilities. The pool bottom was dirty and there were even some leaves. The shallow part of the pool at 3 foot 4” was too deep for young children and the deep part of the pool at 5 feet was not deep enough. We got some coffees and enjoyed some conversation at a table in the pool area. As we were enjoying our visit with family we had not seen in a while, time did get away from us. However, 10 minutes after check out time the girl from front desk was on us like white on rice. Either we are staying for another night or we must go. This was a Sunday and their parking lot was empty. somehow I doubt our departure was critical.
- Room and bathroom felt small.
- The pub is only open Thursdays and Fridays.
- I was first a little shocked by the fact that there was not an elevator, although since there are only two floors it is not necessary. However, elderly should be concerned about having to haul there stuff up a flight of stairs and down a long hallway.
PROS:
- Bed was comfortable and appeared clean.
- There was a flat screen TV (limited channels), fridge, microwave and a Keurig coffee machine with 4 K-cups. $1 for additional cups. The standard other items were also included.

We do not plan to revisit this hotel and our future stays will be Barclay Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zomar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    106
    43
    14
    10
See reviews for
87
87
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you ever have the chance to stay in Port Alberni on vacation, be sure to say tat the Hospitality Inn. The staff are really friendly. We like the fact that it has a pool and hot tub and a restaurant as well. The beds can only be described as amazing. We have been coming to this Inn for several years for Thunder in the Valley, and the quality is always consistent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us each year. It's always a pleasure to welcome back our guests as we strive to provide consistent quality service. We are glad to hear that you found the beds to be amazing and had the opportunity to relax in the pool! We look forward to welcoming you back for next year's Thunder in the Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looking forward to book a "mini cruise" on the Frances Barkley round trip from Port Alberni to Ucluelet, we checked Trip Advisor for an hotel where we could spend 2 nights and narrowed down our choice to the Hospitality Inn. As serendipity would have it, it must have been the best place to choose.
Our first contact with Beth at the reservation desk was very pleasant and most helpful. Besides assigning us a room at the Hotel, she organized our boat reservations for the next day.
Upon arrival we were welcome to a clean, comfortable room with all the amenities you may need on a tourism or business trip. Noticing that the Rotary Club had chosen this venue for their weekly meetings reinforced us in anticipating an excellent stay and indeed everything came as expected and better.
While we didn't have an opportunity to experience all the dining facilities, the breakfast included in our package was copious and delicious made out of quality ingredients with a wide selection of options. The waitress was also very pleasant and efficient.
I would warmly recommend the place to anyone who plans to stay in Port Alberni for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to The Hospitality Inn and Port Alberni. It is so great to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay, but you were met by welcoming and accommodating staff and that overall we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to welcome you back should you return to the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights, and had booked a tour to the Broken Islands, they took care of every details for us.
Room was was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was outstanding, service was excellent, hotel is situated on a busy road but is well sound proofed.
Tripadvisor was definitely helpful in choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Wow! it is great to hear that we took such good care of you during your stay. It is our pleasure to take care of the details and ensure that your stay is restful. e look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawlins, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful helpful and informative staff, good sized clean room. The salt water pool and hot tub was great. Didn't eat in the Restaurant but the menu looked good. Only open for breakfast and supper.Close to the Lady Rose Marine Working Boat Cruise and the Best little German Restaurant the Little Bavaria. Taxi service very quick, clean vehicles, and friendly. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 2 floors, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLYLOCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay! We appreciate hearing that you found our team to be wonderful and informative and that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the Alberni Valley's other gems too. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

WE stayed here fro one night on our Canadian trip. Booked using trip advisor and certainly no regrets. at all. All staff so helpful, rooms generous size with a bed to die for. Exceptionally clean, tidy and quiet. Restaurant qualaity very good with plenty of choice. Easy to access with huge car park.Great location for visiting town.
We would certainly stay here if we visit Port Alberni again.
Robert Burns, Scotland

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Manager at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed a restful night, but also found the facilities to be exceptional. We strive for the best and it is a pleasure to have accommodated you during your visit to Port Alberni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A nice clean hotel with welcoming staff right off one of the main roads coming into Port Alberni within easy reach of shops and facilities. Rooms spacious and well equipped as well as being clean, with trolleys available for luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahosp, Owner at The Hospitality Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hospitality Inn. We take pride in providing a welcoming and comfortable place to stay during your travels. We are pleased that you found everything enjoyable along with our convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
1.1 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
134 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hospitality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hospitality Inn

Property: The Hospitality Inn
Address: 3835 Redford St, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 3S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hospitality Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Port Alberni for business or for recreation, we offer outstanding accommodation. Enjoy our year-round, covered, heated, outdoor, salt water pool and hot tub.Located between Nanaimo and the West Coast, the Pacific Rim National Park is our back yard. You can take a leisurely 90 minute drive to Tofino or Ucluelet, visit Long Beach and be back to the hotel in time for a swim. Or, stay over on your way to B.C.'S famous West Coast Trail. At The Hospitality Inn, we will meet your needs and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hospitality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Hotel Port Alberni
The Hospitality Hotel
The Hospitality Inn Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing