We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somass Motel & RV
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Port Alberni)
US$115
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebird Motel(Port Alberni)
US$58
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Tyee Village Motel(Port Alberni)
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Resort & Campground(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Crest Motel(Qualicum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hospitality Inn(Port Alberni)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
74
50
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
50
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distance to marinalaundry facilitiesswimming poolfull kitchengreat little placevancouver islandwould stay here againpleasant stayunitsbedsportbedroomdykehighwayvictoriapetcabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The room has some special amenities that make a traveler feel really welcomed. Five pillows on the bed! I didn't have to open drawers and look through closets... A refrigerator actually meant for guest use. A make-up remover cloth (not that I wear make-up but that was special!) There is plenty of light and accessible plugs. A table that can actually be used. A microwave. Parking right next to the room, labeled for the room. And nice,, friendly people... I couldn't ask for better accommodations from a five-star hotel! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silbermanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Somass Motel & RV is a great place to stay! Everything here is immaculate: very attractive cottage-style rooms/suites, and RV area, with flowers everywhere, some outdoor space to enjoy and an inviting outdoor pool. And all at reasonable rates. But what makes the Somass Motel very special is the excellent customer service. This service was very evident even before I arrived. I have scent allergies, and extraordinary efforts were made to make my room a scent-free area before my arrival. Outstanding!! And much appreciated!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornbyisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I went up to Port Alberni with my cousin and his wife to fish for salmon and halibut. Enjoyed the motel very much. Nice rooms with kitchen, clean, and very friendly owners and staff. They accommodated every request we had. Our two bedroom unit had the bedrooms attached with the back bedroom having to walk through the front bedroom. Motel is walking distance to marina, restaurants, and convenience store. We would definitely stay here again. This was my cousin's second time here. It is a motel NOT a hotel. Expect casual not high end amenities. We enjoyed sitting outside our unit each evening when we returned from fishing, chatting with friends and other guests at the motel. Good place for kids. Groceries are VERY expensive in Port Alberni (as are most other items and services.) If you are coming from the states, bring as much as you can according to the border requirements.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeEll_born_to_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Lovely motel - very clean. Friendly hosts. Beds very comfortable. One of the best motels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92JENNY92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Why would you want to stay anywhere else? We loved everything about the Somass Motel - its warm welcome, its location, its facilities, the room, the price...

We chose the motel for our too-short, two-night stay based on TripAdvisor's ratings, and aren't we glad we did!

Online reservation was easy and the response was quick and efficient. Some seven or eight months later, when we checked-in, we were expected, warmly welcomed and provided with a mountain of valuable local information.

The motel is conveniently located just outside the town, on the road to Ucluelet and Tofino. If you choose not to do your own catering, it's only a short drive to the harbour area for breakfast at the Blue Door Cafe and dinner at the Swale Rock Cafe, both of which provided us with good food, great service and excellent value.

We'd chosen the Superior Queen room at the Somass Motel. It was spacious, scrupulously clean and very well-equipped. It was decorated in a plain, modern style with a huge mirror and, unlike every chain hotel we stayed at in Canada, the lighting was truly excellent. There was plenty of space for clothes, both hanging and in drawers, and a big flat-screen television. A convenient coffee machine that takes those little capsule things was provided, as well as a coffee percolator, tea bags and an electric kettle. The room was air-conditioned, of course, but the windows opened too.

Free WiFi was available in the room.

The bathroom, with a bath, shower, wc, handbasin and plenty of hot and cold water was excellent. Toiletries were Aroma Botanical soap, shampoo and body lotion and there was even a pretty little bag of West Coast Tranquility Bath Salts. And the bath towels were the biggest and fluffiest we have ever encountered outside of a five-star hotel!

Outdoors, there was lots of space to park our rental car and a lovely, private, well-maintained garden with space to sit and enjoy a drink.

There's a laundromat on site (C$1.75 wash, C$0.50 dry - if we remember correctly) and an iron and ironing-board will be brought to your room on request.

We would have been happy to spend longer here. When we return to Vancouver Island - as we hope we shall one day - we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews