We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Mass”
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have stayed at this motel for the past 4 years. Each of the first 3 years things went very well. Our room was made up and cleaned each day including fresh coffee and mints. This year was different. There are new owners of the hotel, even though they are very nice and courteous there housekeeping ideas are different then the last owners. The first day we did not ask for anything other than fresh towels, the next three days we asked for normal service, I guess their idea of normal service only includes making the bed. We did not get fresh sheets that we could tell any of our nights. The room was not vacuumed, the coffee service was not refreshed nor was the bathroom sink or counter cleaned.

After our great treatment by the previous owners this was a real let down. We usually tip our housekeeping staff but we did not during this stay. I hope that it is just growing pains because we have always enjoyed our stays at the Somass Motel. We will return next year and give it another chance but if things are the same we will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela-and-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Somass Motel & RV
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Just out of town to keep things nice and quiet, but not too far that a short walk along the river won't do you any harm either. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and made us most welcome. The rooms are neat, tidy and clearly well kept and the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel owner / managers are such nice people, they really helped me sort out a problem I had with my car while I was kayaking in the Broken Islands near to Port Alberni. They went far beyond the call of duty and I can't say enough good words about them! The rooms are very clearn etc. too. You are in good hands at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieAnn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I agree with most reviews on Trip Advisor with this motel. Clean, full kitchen with everything that you need, comfy beds and very nice owners. We didn't swim in the pool however it looked clean and inviting. The owners are 4 months new to the business and doing well!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the street because we took our dog. It is a little loud from traffic with th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The property was nice for both adults and kids as it has a basketball hoop and outdoor pool. We liked the idea of having the outside picnic tables with umbrellas right outside the cabins. Unlike a hotel where you might be lucky with a balcony you were able to sit outside in the nice weather and relax. The owners are new to the property so there are some housekeeping bumps that will need to be figured out but in time they will get it. The rooms are semi updated but they have everything you need and are really clean. The location is in walking distance to the marina, restaurants and a beautiful walking path along the river which was a bonus as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that is in the middle and not right on the main road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3jellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We're always a bit sceptical when it comes to motels and (despite the good reviews for this one) we arrived on-site with not too many expectations. We were proved wrong!
The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the semi-detached motel-'room' (little cottage) better than expected and the outdoor pool just great! In front of our 'room' there was a pic-nic table with a decent size (functioning!!!) umbrella, which we made well use of. Kitchen tools, (dish) towels, huge fridge, 2 TV's, well everything was there to secure a pleasant stay. The motel owner even provided body board, (soft) balls a.s.o. in the pool.
We regretted the fact that we only stayed there for one night. Well done, Somass!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerfr0mH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have to say the Somass has to be one of my favourite places to stay now. The people that work there were so kind and friendly to me and my family, and made us feel welcomed. The room was small, but cozy and clean. The motel was surprisingly quiet and peaceful, so it was easier to fall asleep after such a long day on the road. Next time my family and I come to Port Alberni I will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frost70v3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv
Somass Motel & RV Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing