We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Highly recommend””
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a gem! Awesome motel located on the outskirts of Port Alberni on the way to Tofino. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was spotless and well appointed. The whole place is beautiful and obviously well cared for. The motel called us before our stay to see if we needed anything prior to our arrival. The care and customer service are noticeable among all the staff.
We would highly recommend this motel to others. Definitely would return!

Room Tip: Enjoy the flower garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegreatjourney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Somass Motel & RV
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

we stayed for two nights and were impressed by many things. Modern rooms with flat screens and comfortable beds. We stayed in a pet friendly room that even had its own little garden and picnic table. The owners were friendly and professional. They even came outside to wave us goodbye as we drove off. We have recommended to all our friends as a great alternative to paying double or more in Tofino.
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An older motel, but very well maintained. We had the familly unit which has a well equipped kitchen, great to make simple meals. Very clean overall, spotless bathroom, great shower, comfortable bed. We have stayed here a few times over the last ten years, and will again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seeingtheworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our family went to Port Alberni and stayed at this motel & Rv in summer time.
Fantastic views and the family-friendly staff made us just like home. The room was very clean and comfortable, with good bed linens and towels.
Everything was perfect as we needed, clean and comfortable, - WiFi, internet and a suitably equipped kitchenette. The swimming pool my kids loved was very nice and relaxing us for Our tired bodies in hot days. We were very helpful lots of advice about road, restaurants and etc.... We were very happy, a memorable experience and relaxed during our stay, overall both parents and kids had a wonderful time!
Will definitely come back again and recommend it to more friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sonia907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed overnight before doing a day trip on the France Barkley. Motel is older but very clean and very comfy beds. The room configuration was a bit strange (walk through 1st bedroom where queen bed is aginst the wall to get to 2nd bedroom) but the web site warns of this. This was fine for one night but wouldnt want to be here for much longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband, our two dogs and I went boating on Sproat Lake for 3 days and choose to spend the nights at this motel. Upon arriving, the owners made sure we had a place to park our truck and boat. Our room was very close to highway which we thought would be noisy but it wasn't bad at all. The one bedroom suite has everything you'd need for a short stay. The beds and bedding are very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked to cook all your meals. The grounds of the motel are well maintained with beautiful hanging baskets at every door. We highly recommend this motel and will be back again!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tinab242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stopped here for an overnight on the way through to Ucluelet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms better than pictured on their website. It was as others have said very clean. Wifi was reasonably fast and reliable. Good wall AC unit. Nice tv and cable package. I really can't find anything negative with the exception of if you expect a fancy hotel you will be disappointed but in the category of motel it is a top choice (likely the best motel I have ever stayed in). I drove by some of my back up choices and was happy with the Somass as our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv
Somass Motel & RV Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing