We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, wonderful service”
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w/kitchen and sleeper sofa, which accommodated 2 adults, 2 senior citizens, and 1 toddler. The suite was clean and bright, and the bedroom and bathroom were much more elegant and comfortable than what we'd expected at a motel. The common area could be on the cozy side if all 5 of us were hanging around inside, but since the weather was nice we made use of the picnic table right outside and we enjoyed the pool as well. The staff were very friendly and cheerful. We accidentally left behind a couple of small items and, after we called, they promptly mailed the items back to us. Overall, we had a great stay at the Somass.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Somass Motel & RV
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

Very good. Staff friendly & helpful. Rooms brilliant with HD TV and a kitchen area. Very well located and within walking distance of the Clam Bucket

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Somass Motel is a great place to stay in Port Alberni.

Easy access from the highway, recently renovated rooms are spotless, modern and well-equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite cable, refrigerator, microwave, drip coffee pot, a Keurig-brand coffee pod machine *and* an electric kettle for making your tea.

Room 110 is an end unit, in the back (away from the highway and the RV spots) and has a nice little hidden garden just outside it's door. Get this unit if you can!

This is a good example of a privately run business that cares about what they do and taking care of their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank four12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

During our 3 week vacation and tour over Vancouver Island, my husband, my 10 month old daughter and I spent one night at he Somass Motel on our way to Tofino.
We had not reservation, but were met by very very friendly owner, who made sure we had a room at the quiet back, since we had a baby with us. She also brought us an extra towel for the baby, before we could even ask for it.

The room was so nice. It was spotless clean (and I mean that literally!) and the interiour let us directly feel comfortable. There was a fridge and a microwave, so we were very well equipped to prepare food for the baby.

The bed was a dream, and we had HD-TV in the room. They also have free high speed wifi-internet.

Port Alberni, I have to admit, is not the most beautiful town on the plante, but the Somass Motel is definately one of the most beautiful motels!
If we pass through Port Alberni ever again, we will definately spend a night or two at this Motel again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Comfy beds, good price, clean, quiet, friendly staff. Very good motel for a very good price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Passing through Port Alberni we were forced to seek shelter for the night. We stopped to find a place to stay and happened to stop right by the Somass Motel. Normally we would drive right by a small motel but the sign said it had kitchen units and we needed a place to cook dinner and rest so we said, "it's here and we're here and we need a place to stay".

My wife went and booked a kitchen unit and a standard room for our family. What a surprise. Modern card-key locks opened the door to our one bedroom unit with a kitchen. The rooms were spotless and modern. The kitchen had everything we need and a great little coffee maker from Van Houtte. The bed was comfortable and we had a choice of pillows. The large screen television was good but there were no hockey games on just then.

We're so glad we didn't pull over outside one of the large chain motels. If you're in Port Alberni, don't hesitate to consider staying at this Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This motel is a great bargain, given its like-new look, spotless condtion and excellent facilities. I spent three working days in town and enjoyed my stay at the motel greatly. Very friendly owners who make one welcome the whole time. Rooms were much larger than I expected and looked like they had been renovated yesterday, although I gather it was longer ago than that ! Season was not far enough advanced but the pool would be great later in the summer. The Somass River is across the road and it is only three minutes into town. Very quiet location means great sleep at night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv
Somass Motel & RV Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing