We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather a hidden gem -- don't overlook it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somass Motel & RV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somass Motel & RV
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rather a hidden gem -- don't overlook it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

It would be easy to drive past this property and think, 'Nah -- probably not very good.' In fact, it IS very good. I'm told it was built in the 1950s, but it is completely up to date. I opened my door to a spotless room, new bedding, microwave, mini fridge, big bathroom -- even a flat-screen TV, although I don't typically watch TV on vacation. The lady who checked me in was polite, friendly and, most of all, very helpful. I did not have my car on this trip, but it quickly became apparent I would need one in Port Alberni to get around to the various sights. She called the local Budget agency, handed me her cell phone, and I took it from there. Slept great both nights. If you're hesitant about independent motels -- and I certainly was after a very bad experience several years ago -- it rates in about the middle of the Canada Select five-star system, and I would say that is accurate.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskrat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    47
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite w/kitchen and sleeper sofa, which accommodated 2 adults, 2 senior citizens, and 1 toddler. The suite was clean and bright, and the bedroom and bathroom were much more elegant and comfortable than what we'd expected at a motel. The common area could be on the cozy side if all 5 of us were hanging around inside, but since the weather was nice we made use of the picnic table right outside and we enjoyed the pool as well. The staff were very friendly and cheerful. We accidentally left behind a couple of small items and, after we called, they promptly mailed the items back to us. Overall, we had a great stay at the Somass.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Very good. Staff friendly & helpful. Rooms brilliant with HD TV and a kitchen area. Very well located and within walking distance of the Clam Bucket

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Somass Motel is a great place to stay in Port Alberni.

Easy access from the highway, recently renovated rooms are spotless, modern and well-equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite cable, refrigerator, microwave, drip coffee pot, a Keurig-brand coffee pod machine *and* an electric kettle for making your tea.

Room 110 is an end unit, in the back (away from the highway and the RV spots) and has a nice little hidden garden just outside it's door. Get this unit if you can!

This is a good example of a privately run business that cares about what they do and taking care of their guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank four12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

During our 3 week vacation and tour over Vancouver Island, my husband, my 10 month old daughter and I spent one night at he Somass Motel on our way to Tofino.
We had not reservation, but were met by very very friendly owner, who made sure we had a room at the quiet back, since we had a baby with us. She also brought us an extra towel for the baby, before we could even ask for it.

The room was so nice. It was spotless clean (and I mean that literally!) and the interiour let us directly feel comfortable. There was a fridge and a microwave, so we were very well equipped to prepare food for the baby.

The bed was a dream, and we had HD-TV in the room. They also have free high speed wifi-internet.

Port Alberni, I have to admit, is not the most beautiful town on the plante, but the Somass Motel is definately one of the most beautiful motels!
If we pass through Port Alberni ever again, we will definately spend a night or two at this Motel again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Comfy beds, good price, clean, quiet, friendly staff. Very good motel for a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Passing through Port Alberni we were forced to seek shelter for the night. We stopped to find a place to stay and happened to stop right by the Somass Motel. Normally we would drive right by a small motel but the sign said it had kitchen units and we needed a place to cook dinner and rest so we said, "it's here and we're here and we need a place to stay".

My wife went and booked a kitchen unit and a standard room for our family. What a surprise. Modern card-key locks opened the door to our one bedroom unit with a kitchen. The rooms were spotless and modern. The kitchen had everything we need and a great little coffee maker from Van Houtte. The bed was comfortable and we had a choice of pillows. The large screen television was good but there were no hockey games on just then.

We're so glad we didn't pull over outside one of the large chain motels. If you're in Port Alberni, don't hesitate to consider staying at this Motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Timberlodge & RV Campground
Timberlodge & RV Campground
#12 of 13 in Port Alberni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somass Motel & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somass Motel & RV

Property: Somass Motel & RV
Address: 5279 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Somass Motel & RV 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Cottage Style Motel located in the heartland of Vancouver Island's Pacific Rim region. Our central location makes us the perfect base for daytrips throughout the area. Cruise the Alberni Inlet on the MV Lady Rose, ride the summer steam train out to McLean Mill National Historic Site. Our well appointed and air conditioned rooms include 1 and 2 bedroom fully equipped kitchen suites as well as standard rooms with fridge & microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Somass Motel & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somass Hotel Port Alberni
Somass Hotel Rv
Somass Motel & RV Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing