We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Alberni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edelweiss Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Port Alberni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we just stayed for 2 nites to take a trip on the MV Frances Barkley to Bamfield and back. The accomodations were good and Trudi's breakfast were good and much variety. Trudi was instrumental in getting the vouchers for the boat trip. She also was very helpful in providing us with recommendations for dinner. We recommend this B&B for a short stay. Trudi was an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glassboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Edelweiss Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

I just arrived at the Edelweiss and unfortunately it did not live up to the website images. The room is just that, a single room with no bathroom. The door to the room does not lock unless you are in the room. The walls are paper thin so I hear the conversation in the next room. There is one shared bathroom for all guests, except those in the honeymoon suite. I wish I had thought to check tripadvisor before booking (as I usually do) but I booked based on the web images and location (2 blocks from friends I am visiting). I hope breakfast is not as disappointing as others suggest it was for them. Hostess seems friendly enough. Wifi is good quality. The price is certainly reasonable, but I would not select it again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravCdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi O, Owner at Edelweiss Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for writing your review.
The room that you stayed in was an overflow discounted room. It was the only room that has a shared bathroom with one other person and was reserved for single travelers. We no longer rent that particular room. All our other rooms have private baths, locks with keys and some have a full kitchen and are apartment sized with their own living rooms. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Arrived without reservations but the landlady had a room for us. A nice home in a quiet, residential neighborhood not too far from downtown. Very clean, everything was in good repair. She recommended her own favorite restaurant for dinner (clearly a hangout for locals rather than tourists) and graciously accommodated our dietary requests for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed in a suite on the lower level. The shower was huge and everything was clean. The bed was more comfortable than many hotels. Breakfast was good, but the company of the other overnighters is what makes a B&B so special. Trudi is an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelotsSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent one night in Port Alberni in Edelweiss B&B. Compare to our other accomodations in the island, this place and the neighborhood is poor. The room was clean. There was a big kitchen and a sitting area as well. The breakfast was terrible but the price of one night is reasonable for this quality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HektorHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed for two nights and were well received. The 'honeymoon' suite was excellent with a jaccusi in the bathroom. Our hostess was quite friendly and arranged before our arrival our booking on the Frances Barkley (the Lady Rose no longer operates).
Only reserve: the breakfast was somewhat disappointing, but not enough so to make us regret our stay.
By the way, if tempted to take the logging road to get to Port Alberni, don't. 160 miles of dust, pot holes, and gravel. We should never have looked at the map we received from Budget in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
318 reviews
50.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Swept Away Inn
Swept Away Inn
#4 of 13 in Port Alberni
39 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2610 12th Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 2T7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alberni
Price Range: £33 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three suites; each with their own private bathroom. Suite #1 with separate entrance has 700+sq ft of living space with one bedroom, one bathroom, a living room with flat screen TV, a full kitchen, washer/dryer and a private outdoor patio area. Suite #2 has two bedrooms (one Queen bed & one Single bed)walk-in closet and one bathroom; access to an aditional living room with games, TV and a King-size pull-out sofa available for larger groups. Suite #3 (Honeymoon Suite) has Jacuzzi tub, flat screen TV, walk-in closet and access to an outdoor sundeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Bed And Breakfast Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing