We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish n chips!!”

Bare Bones Fish and Chips
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bare Bones: an upscale fish and chip restaurant featuring west coast halibut, salmon, cod and prawns. Sides include hand-cut fries, caesar salad and coleslaw. Try your fish grilled or choose our famous beer batter or panco bread crumb coating. Always fresh and delicious! Look for our patio on Johnston.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent fish n chips!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We ate lunch here and had a wonderful experience! We had the halibut and salmon both grilled, and the prawn starter. All were excellent, as were the sides( ceaser salad, chips, and coleslaw). The service was quick and friendly, and the atmosphere was good. The keylime cheesecake was delicious as well. I highly recommend!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Billpov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    100
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish&Chips in Port Alberni!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You can have traditional batters or panco or grilled. All good! Fries are fresh and tasty. I hear there are Newfies involved here. So you know its gotta be good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great choices in fresh fish and chips. Excellent. Cool older building which comes with great service. Can be busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islander14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantzville
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were Port Alberni for a meeting and discovered this place. We went for their special where one can sample the different choices of fish, salads and French fries. The meal was awesome and very delicious. Thanks to the waitress for helping in making the selections for us. It was a pleasant surprise and beyond our expectations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glennys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An interesting twist on fish and chips”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Found this place by chance as we were making our way over to the west coast. Your choice of fish, prepared in one of three ways, with a variety of dipping sauces. All served in a converted church. Instead of something battered, I went for the fire-grilled halibut and it was excellent... I didn't end up using the dipping sauces, because they overpowered the delicious flavour of the fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bare Bones Fish and Chips also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bare Bones Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing