We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sehmi Japanese Restaurant

Sehmi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Langley
1 review
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

How can it be that sushi tastes stale? This restaurant mastered it somehow. Lettuce and mayo in a yam tempura roll to top it all off?? Outrageous. Overpriced for a outdated place that you have to call back again and again to place an order because they are too cheap to get seperate phone lines for payment method and incoming calls.. Save ur money and get ur sushi at a gas station.. As this restaurant probably does.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wastingmoneysucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise, worth stopping at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have been visiting Port Alberni, where we have had a project at Great Central Lake for years, but never found a great restaurant. Someone recommended this restaurant and on driving up, I nearly kept going, but on entering I was very pleasantly surprised, the interior décor was better than the exterior and was soon to learn that the look was the worst part. The service was prompt and very polite, with offers to help with selections and descriptions of the dishes. We ordered a couple Sushi dishes and a Bento Box. The amount of food served was large, fresh and the quality above any expectation. This may well be the best Japanese food and value we have had, having travelled considerably. This was an amazing surprise, I would recommend the restaurant to anyone and suggest that you plan your trip so that you can include a meal at this outstanding Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonderer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food..when you get it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have gone to this restaurant over and over and have had horrible service every time. We are never asked if everything is ok, would you like another drink (a neighbouring table just got up & got a water jug). At every visit part of our order was a long time eaten before the others were served. Order for pickup & eat somewhere nice. The decor is beyond outdated and shabby. Exceptional food terrible experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant to eat at -again. We had a large group, and except for one missed appy, everything was good. Food as always was plentiful and delicious. As I am not too finicky for seafood I am still able to select from the menu for more "turf" stuff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Don't think your going in for a quick meal. Worth the wait .i love the bento box tempura is really good .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zippercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sehmi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Sehmi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing