We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, private, relaxing...great hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 13 Port Alberni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful, private, relaxing...great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Tom and Marla are two of the kindest and most accommodating hosts you will find on the B&B circuit, and most definitely are deserving of high recommendation. The lodge is very comfortable, with very nice rooms. They don't offer a hot tub feature, but rather have provided very nice spa bathtubs in each of the guest rooms. The views are scenic from the rooms as well as the large 2.2 acre exterior grounds, of which are very well groomed. The breakfast is healthy and includes a selection of fresh fruit, home-made baking, home-made granolas and jams. Beverages include fruit juices, milk, freshly ground premium coffees and a selection of fine teas from around the world. The nicest aspect is that you can set your own time for when you would like to have breakfast. They have a library and a fine billiards table for guest use, as well as a sitting lounge.
If you intend to go fishing, they will help you set up charters with the price of your room, as well as they will pack a very healthy and substantial lunch for you to take with you on the boat and will have it ready for you when you leave early in the morning.
Congratulations to Tom and Marla for being the only 4-Star Canada Select accommodation in the Alberni Valley, you deserve it.
Website: http://www.cedarwood.bc.ca

Room Tip: http://www.cedarwood.bc.ca/rooms.php
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We went to Port Alberni this past weekend, my partner was working on his sailplane ratings at the Vancouver island Soaring Centre, located at the Port Alberni Airport (about 6 km away!!) . Searched and searched the web listings for a quiet, private place to stay. Found the perfect place at Cedar Lodge. Situated on a huge lot (at least an acre, I'd guess) and surrounded by old-growth cedars, mature Rhododendrons and a variety of tall perennials. Water fountain, picnic table, covered lounge swing, I could go on and on, it was so beautiful. The building was solidly built and the rooms are very private. Air conditioning, massage jet tubs!!!! Mattresses are firm, we had a wonderful sleep! Room darkening blinds! This will be our home away from home! And the continental breakfast! A variety of juices, homemade granola (yum yum . .I have the recipe now!) yogurt, home baked goods, muffins, scones, everything was delicious and included in the price! Spotless rooms! Tom and Marla were our very hospitable hosts and made us feel very welcome.. we felt like family!

Room Tip: I would say that all of the rooms are equally wonderful. They all have air conditioning and massage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Cedar Lodge was our saving grace for a one night's stay prior to a kayak trip to Broken Group Islands via Lady Rose. We had foolishly booked a room at the Tsunami Backpacker's Guesthouse and left upon sight (see review). Tom and Marla welcomed us in with open arms and had us at "hello." The personal massage bathtub was awesome. They put out a wonderful nutritious breakfast at 6:45 am so we could make it to the boat in time. The attention to detail throughout (guestrooms, common spaces, garden and outdoor spaces) makes it all so enjoyable and a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a family reunioun wih relatives from Ontario and the Netherlands, and it happened to fall on my mother-in-law's 70's Birthday, so we booked 4 rooms that could accomodate 17 people at Cedar Wood Lodge. Tom and Marla were very friendly and welcoming, they were very helpful in guiding us through the events to see and do in Port Alberni and the west coast. They provided a perfect breakfast and they were very willing to bake (I think all day every day!) to accomodate our dietary needs. The children also loved the pool table! We would definately come back again and highly recommend those who have a family to stay with Tom and Marla.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights, which turned into three, which turned into 4- we didn't want to leave! Tom & Marla were so accommodating and sincere- they clearly love their jobs, value their guests and it shows. The housekeeper was friendly and non-intrusive, asking us if we were sure there was nothing else we needed. The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms are accessible to all and the cleanliness was great. The property is right beside the highway but you would never know- you can't hear any road noise except the occasional siren and everyone hears those! Internet was FAST FAST FAST. If you are in town for business, you want to be here!
We will be recommending the Cedar Wood to everyone! and quite inexpensive, even in high season!
Not wheelchair accessible yet but I think that will be in the near future. Pets not allowed inside as there is a lot of carpet but our dog was happy to play outside and roam around all day :)

Room Tip: They're all great- superb rates on everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyAwayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had booked a charter fishing trip in Port Alberni for myself, my husband and our 3 children - 25, 20, & 18 and needed a place to stay overnight as we had an early start (5.45am) for our fishing trip. Our fishing guide recommended the Cedar Wood Lodge to us as I did not know Port Alberni very well so we booked two rooms next to each other. Tom and Marla went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very spacious, our children had 2 double beds and a sofa bed in their room and weren't cramped at all. We had two queen beds in our room. They recommended going to The Clam Bucket for dinner which we all thoroughly enjoyed - great seafood and fish and chips. We were up very early the next day and they had prepared five hearty lunches for us to take fishing. Lovely lodge in immaculate grounds - the only 4 star accommodation in Port Alberni! We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyshawnigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Cedar Wood Lodge. Our hosts provided excellent "insider" information about sites to visit and local restaurants. They went well beyond what we expected, even from B & B owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Hummingbird Guesthouse
#7 of 13 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center

Property: Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Address: 5895 River Rd | Pacific Rim Highway 4, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alberni Valley's finest accommodation, serving business and leisure travelers alike with exceptional value in elegant surroundings. At the 4-star Cedar Wood Lodge, you will enjoy a unique and tasteful blend of old and new. Nestled into two and one-half acres of heritage gardens and old-growth cedars along the scenic Somass River in Port Alberni, British Columbia, the Cedar Wood Lodge, built new in 1998, is furnished with modern comforts and beautiful antiques. The spacious guest lounge encompasses a fine billiards table, two small libraries, a relaxing sitting area, fireplace, and garden view bistro dining room where the complimentary daily breakfast buffet is served. The delicious and nutritious breakfast includes a selection of fresh fruit, yogurts,home-baked breads, muffins, scones, croissants and coffee cakes, and home-made granolas and jams and hot oatmeal. Beverages include a variety of chilled fruit juices, milk, freshly ground premium French-pressed Arabica coffee, and a generous selection of the finest teas from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing