We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent b&b in lovely location”

Hummingbird Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hummingbird Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 13 Port Alberni B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent b&b in lovely location”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed here in the Fireside Room for one night at the end of the April. The room is spacious, with a large sitting area with very comfortable furniture, a large screen TV and a gas fireplace. The king-sized bed is very comfortable and there's a large bathroom with a sauna (which we didn't try.)
The room is private and very quiet; the adjoining breakfast room with kitchen is well-equipped and handy. The owners were friendly and welcoming.

Overall, a top-notch bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had a lovely 2 night stay here in Port Alberni. Cheryl and Wayne were very helpful with things to do and see.
The room was lovely (Eagles nest) and the air-con was just what we needed in August.
The outdoor space was lovely and it was great to be able to use the BBQ and make ourselves at home in the garden.
Our only disappointment was that we didn't get to taste Wayne's awesome breakfast as he was fishing! Cheryl's was pretty good though, although my husband doesn't eat eggs so a bit limting. However Cheryl helpfully made some none-eggy toast when asked!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank est1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I highly recommend this beautiful guest house to everyone who plans to see Vancouver Island. We stayed there for five days and did our day trips all over the island and had a wonderful room to return to and a huge comfy bed all ready for us when we got home. The breakfasts were wonderful and Wayne is a wonderful host and will even share his "secret recipes" if you push him hard enough. He was delightful to talk to and offered many suggestions for touring that we took him up on and he was a big help to us. Don't hesitate to book a reservation at the Hummingbird. Guest House. We were very satisfied and found nothing disappointing about our decision to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannah930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I had 4 fabulous days at this B&B. The property was gorgeous, the bed terrific, the breakfasts fantastic and the hot tub so perfect at the end of the day. The separate entrance to my suite gave me the independence I wanted, but the owners were always available and willing to offer assistance if that was needed. Breakfast was at my convenience and was always a different and tasty treat. Each of the rooms offered something unique; my suite was filled with sunlight and very well equipped. I highly recommend this B&B and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Everything was great...

The ease of booking,
The welcome,
The rooms,
The peace,
The breakfast,
The location.

It turned out to be a great base to tour the area.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank John Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed in the Hummingbird Guesthouse last March. There are different levels of accommodation there, and all have a private entrance. We stayed in the Eagles" nest which had a good view of the garden. It was quiet and had loads of books and a TV equipped with sattelite TV. The place was spotless and the bed comfortable.
Breakfast was ample and lived up to the country breakfast title. The room was warm with a electric fireplace.
They do have larger accommodation which is equipped with kitchens.
The resident dogs are friendly and don't mind being taken for a walk. They are unobstrusive and stay in their own part of the yard.
Port Alberni has lovely walking trails and good restaurants. The dock boasts quaint coffee and gift shops.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstykatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Absolute Greed
I booked the the best room they had for one evening Jan 3,2009, as this was to be packaged up with tickets for the finals for the world U17 championships, it was a grand prize for a fundraising raffle for minor hockey.
It was booked with and held with my visa
A week later they phoned demanding I book it for the whole week as they knew all the rooms in town are booked for the week of the U-17's and cancelled my reservation that was held with my visa.
Out and out greed with no respect for the law or the consumer.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank U17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
2.3 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.0 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Guesthouse

Property: Hummingbird Guesthouse
Address: 5769 River Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 6Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hummingbird Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Guesthouse Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing