We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Door Cafe

Blue Door Cafe
Ranked #23 of 91 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A really good breakfast”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We went in for an early breakfast before taking a day's boat trip. The food was freshly cooked and my wife's pancake was particularly good. Great value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    2
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. friendly service”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came across this place by accident and were really pleased we did. We found ourselves in Port Alberni on a Sunday morning, starving for something to eat. The Blue Door didn't look like much from the outside, but don't be fooled. Our waitress was friendly and chatty and the food was really good. I had an enormous pancake with bacon and my husband had a Denver omelette. The prices were very reasonable too. Well worth a visit if you're in the Harbour Quay area of Port Alberni.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank popgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“All Alone”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We wanted a good breakfast and saw the mixed reviews about Blue Door. Well we got a great breakfast and a pleasant conversation with the cook/hostess/waitress. We sat at the bar and she brought the local news paper over and we talked about the current floods in Calgary while our food was cooking. We were all alone and had a very nice breakfast. Blue Door is exceptionally clean and the food was fresh. Friendly, smart and pleasant!! We loved it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Cafe to Visit”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great Owner & Staff, Great Food
A Wonderful Cafe to visit while in Port Alberni. Down by the docks which make it a wonderful place to enjoy food and coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcdjcdcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“small but awesome food”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Always good food, cooked right in front of you, small cafe, but you get to know your 'neighbors', very quaint, excellent service,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank janinereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Door Cafe also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Blue Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing