We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable menu!”

Smitty's Pancake House
Ranked #39 of 91 Restaurants in Port Alberni
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Remarkable menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We visited this restaurant for a lunchtime meal and were not disappointed. The service was excellent - we were immediately greeted and attended to consistently throughout the meal, even though there were quite a few other people in the restaurant. There was a bit of a wait for the food but when it came, it was good. I would definitely advise dropping by this place for a meal if you are in Port Alberni- it won't disappoint you. And as the title suggests, the menu gives you an amazing choice. We spent a long time deciding what we wanted at this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TShillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had breakfast at Smitty's before leaving Port Alberni. The serves was fast and friendly and the food was hot and tasty. Beautiful start of the day..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debralee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The food was excellent, service was very friendly and efficient, and the timing was wonderful. Though it was busy, we didn't have to wait long for our meal. Will go again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

It's a family restaurant in a decent sized town. I have to admit, the food was good, hot and fresh. Great service. Their skillet meal was tasty and not overwhelming. And when they recognized that they didn't ask if my husband wanted strawberries on his pancakes, they took them back and whipped up a fresh batch, not just scraped them off. Port alberni was a nice place to find.

Helpful?
Thank holdonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large portions, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived to a dirty table, lazy waitress "cleaned" the table with a sopping wet, dirty dish rag and left the table wet. Ordered eggs benny, done medium with fruit cup and a side of chunky style hashbrowns. One of the eggs was soft very soft and when I cut in to it, the yolk all went running in to the doily under my fruit cup. My advice, put the hashbrowns on the plate with the eggs and the useless doily and fruit on their own. Another waitress spilled a milkshake on people at another table even got some on the ceiling!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yukonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smitty's Pancake House also viewed

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Smitty's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing