We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like HOME !”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We were enjoying a driving tour of Vancouver Island, and decided to spend two nights in Parksville. Finding the Sandcastle Inn was almost like coming home. We had an upstairs VERY SPACIOUS room, at very reasonable rates. An elevator was nearby, the staff was VERY pleasant and helpful, and the included breakfast was better than many "chain" motels by far.
The location was just off the "main street", in a quiet neighborhood, with convenient access to all necessary facilities, AND a nearby beach park.
In summary, we were treated like family !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family and I stayed for 2 nights in late July. There are not many choice of accomodations in Parksville, but this one was affordable and had good reviews from other travellers. The shower was good, the room was clean, and the beds were somewhat comfortable. The front desk staff were always nice and polite. Also, it was air-conditioned. I would stay again and recommend it to others on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is basic accommodation. Very clean. A simple breakfast of cereal, muffins, fruit, juice and coffee included. Excellent price. Beds comfortable. We didn't use the kitchenette. It included a sink, fridge and stove elements. Other amenities include a barbecue and laundry facilities for guest use. Close to beaches.

Room Tip: We had a room facing on the street, but it was quiet none the less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired-Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Affordable ,accomadating clean and friendly would Definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemmy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Room was very clean,bed was pretty comfortable and nice and quiet.Very friendly service.Price wise about 50.00 cheaper than the other places we tried.No complaints!We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendybraaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to have a kitchenette in our room (fridge, sink, hobs) as many rooms don't. The room itself was very comfortable, clean and tidy. We had a great sleep and it was lovely to have breakfast provided. Not the flashiest/fanciest hotel around but very nice/comfortable/clean/tidy and great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel answered all our needs – clean, comfortable, quiet, with in-room wifi and a convenient location close to restaurants, shops and the beach. Our room was on the ground floor, facing east, so we were able to enjoy the morning sun while having coffee and reading the paper on our very private little patio. A continental breakfast is included. There’s only one (cold) cereal, and not a very appealing one, but the muffins were pretty good – not the cakelike variety that often appear as part of hotel breakfasts – and there was juice and apples. Décor is not the trendiest, but we found our room quite bright and cheery, and the rate ($59 plus tax for seniors) would be hard to beat in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skylite Motel
Skylite Motel
#11 of 13 in Parksville
40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
3 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 374 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range: £45 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Inn. Since September 2009, we've been under new management with a new heart and new services. *LOCATION : 5 min. walk to beach and town. Easy access to Tofino, Mt. Washington, Nanaimo, Comox Airport etc. *FACILITY : Air conditioned, clean & cozy, non-smoking rooms, kitchenettes, coin laundry, meeting room, BBQ area *SERVICE : Free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, heart-warming service from our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Parksville
Sandcastle Inn Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing