We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent stopover”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decent stopover”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Rates were ok, mattresses could have been higher quality. Continental Breakfast consisted of stale muffins. Luckily we were in a hurry to get on our way. Reasonable in a location where prices can get very unreasonable. Clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oversixtytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
25
48
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

On our annual trek to Tofino from Victoria, we like to stop over here. Clean, warm, welcoming staff. Very assuring and good value for price. Rooms are clean and continental breakfast is a bonus. Can walk to beach. Quiet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jani1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced motel with a very friendly staff. We were just travelling through and wanted a room for one night so we didn't want to pay the huge rates a lot of Parkville's hotels and resorts want. We were able to choose from a number of nearby restaurants for dinner and it was an easy walk to shopping. We had a small suite and if we were to return to Parksville for one night or for a longer period it had everything you would need to cook small meals for yourself and not have to eat out every time. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room here last minute on a long weekend for a surprisingly affordable price. We were greeted by a very friendly lady at the front desk when signing in. She walked us through the room price and answered all of our questions about the area and even upgraded us to a suite for free, we were also given cold beverages as soon as we walked in even though we did not have to wait for service. The hallways are clean and brightly lit with pictures of the local scenery, and the room was very charming. Our room decor was tasteful and everything was clean and comfortable. The bed was lovely and had good quality, new bedding. It was also nice to have free cable and wonderful customer service that came within a couple minutes when we couldn't figure out how to work it properly. The breakfast was good, they had in door and outdoor seating with a well-kept yard. Parksville was an incredible spot to vacation in general with lots of provincial parks, beaches, and nature parks to visit. Overall a WONDERFUL experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Sandcastle Inn for two weeks when I was in Parksville on business. My entire stay was very comfortable and I felt welcomed every evening after work. The hotel is run by a sweet older couple who were quick to learn my name and made sure my stay was enjoyable.
The rooms are clean and a little dated but do have air conditioning and in room coffee machines. Towels were clean and bathroom was spotless. TV's are newer with satellite if you are concerned about that sort of thing. Breakfast is light, consisting of fresh muffins, cereal, fruit, orange juice and coffee. There is also coin operated laundry on site and they have single use soap and softner for sale.
The location is great, across from a large entertainment area with bumper boats, mini golf etc and is a quick three minute walk to the public beach entrance.
You could definitely do worse than tje Sandcastle Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forest_surefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Honestly this motel is not luxury but very cozy and clean. A young lady welcomed us and good service was impressed. Comparing with other motels in Parksville this one is very clean. I strongly recommend stay here with comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I needed a base in the Parksville area and decided to go cheap. The rooms are shabby and the breakfast is minimal.
However, the room including the bathroom was clean and the muffins tasted fresh. The rooms beside the driveway may be noisier. So, depending on your standards, if money is in short supply, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Seashell Motel
Paradise Seashell Motel
#2 of 7 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 374 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandcastle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Inn. Since September 2009, we've been under new management with a new heart and new services. *LOCATION : 5 min. walk to beach and town. Easy access to Tofino, Mt. Washington, Nanaimo, Comox Airport etc. *FACILITY : Air conditioned, clean & cozy, non-smoking rooms, kitchenettes, coin laundry, meeting room, BBQ area *SERVICE : Free wireless internet, complimentary continental breakfast, heart-warming service from our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Parksville
Sandcastle Inn Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing