We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice room...fridge microwave, good size clean bathroom. BUT NOTHING ELSE. No aircon, no bar, no restaurant, not much of a lounge, no pool, no shop for provisions. Not walkable to stores. Rocky beach accessible by zig-zag path so even sea bathing difficult. Would suit Trappist monk on retreat!! The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. I'm not sure how you booked your reservtation with us, whether it was on line or dircectly at the resort. If you called the resort directly, the fact that there are no amenities would have been explained to you, including the fact that arrangements are in place with neighbouring resorts that allow our guests to have the use of their amenities at no cost. If it was on line, we are very careful to make sure there is no expectation of these amenities. That being said, the future plans for the resort currently include a swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are not a finished resort as yet, but look forward to the future and being able to offer ammenities on site, that our guests now have go off site for.We appreciate any feedback in order to improve. We hope to see you again!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    62
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
74
76
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for two nights. The first night we had a studio and the second night, we had a one bedroom with the lock off studio.

Studio
The studio is like a hotel room with a mini kitchenette. The furnishing were nice and new and the deck was quite large. I heard there are some studios without a deck, so be sure to request it, if that's important to you. There was also no tub in the room, only a large shower. We looked onto the road but it's a dead end so it was very quiet. The only cons of this room was that the coffee maker was left dirty and the room was a bit dusty. I mentioned it to management after we had left and the manager was very responsive. Had we brought it to their attention, I'm sure they would have fixed the problems. There is NO air conditioning at the resort so be prepared for some warmth. There were plenty of windows and a fan so we were able to keep the room reasonably cool despite the +25 degree weather.

One Bedroom
We were really impressed with the quality and the size of the one bedroom. It was HUGE. The washer/dryer was nice, the kitchen is huge with everything you need for cooking. The bathroom was also a nice size and nicely appointed. The tv's are small but I don't think you go to Parksville to watch tv.

Watch their website for specials as they won't offer them to you unless you ask for it.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: The room styles vary a lot so make sure you request specifics (ie. patio) if it's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you so much for your kind words. We try very hard here at the resort to overcome some of the challenges we have, and appreciate very much when that is met with understanding. We are very excited about the future of the resort, which should include some amenities that our guests will be able to enjoy. I also appreciate that you have included tips for guests, especially the one that implies they should mention things that are important to them when making a reservation. Although these can't always be accommodated, our team certainly does their absolute best to make sure those special requests are granted. It is always great to receive notification of a review over Trip Advisor, and very much respect that it takes time and thought to put one together. Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to having you return!
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Most of the positive things you read on other review on what the room are like will be true.

PROS:
quality, fit and finish of rooms are great.
Very clean.
modern design.

CONS:
No Air Conditioning. Yep not even joking, your asked to pay descent $ for something a budget hotels offer!
Beach access... is a bit of a hike if your not at the Waterfront Villas.
the inter net is good, but your going to need geek squad to hook it up for you.(hardest one i ever dealt with and i been around the word ;)

I think they are still building the pool. Not sure if they have an on site restaurant in the work, But they will out source you to other places so you will have access to there facilities (pool, gym). if my stay was for a vacation i would just find a place that has all of that on site...

well i tried to be a true "tripadvisor" and not slag this place. It is very nice! i just wanted people to know the things that probably wouldn't be divulged to you unless you asked.

Room Tip: bag like your life depends on it you don't get a room that faces the sun in the summer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyjelly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you so much for spending the time, and putting honest thought into writing this review. It is true that we don't have air conditioning in most of our rooms at this time, which some budget hotels do. The price is higher here, however, as we believe do offer many other quality features that budget hotels do not. For clairty, we do inform people that book directly through the resort things like the pool/restaurant and construction status of the property. The walk to the beach is about the same as you would get on any resort along resort drive that has a large property.
We truly do appreciate your comments, and am so happy that for the most part your stay was a good experience. We are all looking forward to the day that we have some amenities on site for our guests to enjoy, that's for sure. Thank you again for your review, . We are working on some of the "cons" mentioned and certainly hope we can count on you returning in the future.
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at this fantastic place 23/24/25 July and it was better than my wildest expectation
The suite was just perfect
The only negative was it calls itself a resort but dosnt have a pool so it is a bit of a stretch but we knew that before we arrive. The Beech is great but make sure you have chairs as it is very rocky
I recomend this hotel with reservation

Room Tip: 411 a/b was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILTLEVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
The Sunrise Ridge Resort team is so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. I do understand your concerns regarding the pool etc. and just wanted to let you know that although we do not have all the amenities of a resort at this point, we are currenly under development, and there are plans for these in the future phases. The beach is rocky for the first 15 feet or so, but incredibly sandy out from that, if you are here for a lower tide. We certainly hope to see you again soon, and appreciate that you took the time to post this review.

Sincerely
Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite that had 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. Everything you could want was in the kitchen and everything was nice new stainless steal appliances. Had a dishwasher and washer dryer combo. The room was very big and had a deep socker tub (no jets) the best part was the large balconie that over looked the water and had a bbq on it. The staff were very friendly but Jessica really stood above and beyond. they are lucky to have her working for them!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaze_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here at Sunrise Ridge, and thank you so much for letting us and other potential guests know about your experience here. Jessica is a gem, and we are very happy to have her here as part of our team. I do have a concern, however, that you marked us with only a "2" for cleanliness. Our housekeepers take pride in what they do, and I know they would very much appreciate any feedback you had with regards to cleanliness or lack thereof. Please feel free to contact me anytime to address this issue, so we can ensure it does not happen to you again, or others.
We take our feedback very seriously, and appreciate you taking the time to post this reveiw. We hope to see you again soon!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

For the price was surprised when walked into the room and it felt like a closet. There was a main door and then on the wall to the outside was a door with a window. Dark and dreary. A best western or quality inn would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stangcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your experience while staying at Sunrise Ridge. We take these very seriously, and are very dissappointed that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory. We do our very best at the resort to ensure that our guests are having a wonderful experiene here, and had you voiced your concern when you arrived to your unit, we certainly would have done our best to make your stay more enjoyable, but finding alternate accommodations within the resort. We have several different types studio units, and if we couldn't find one to your liking, an upgrade may have been offered. We appreciate that everyone has different tastes, and do our very best to satisfy our guests to ensure their experience here is a positive one. We hope to be able to have you stay with us again, to ensure that we have the opportunity to give you a better experience which you certainly deserve. Again, we appreciate any feedback we get, and thank you for letting us know how we can improve.

Robynne Shaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We come to Parksville a couple of times per year to getaway. Always stay at Beach Club Resort but because it's high season $399 per night, we decided to try something new for $249. Although nice, we all kind of walked in and stood there just trying to figure out what was not quite right. Dark, sage green walls, very little light in master bedroom (could be a downer in Jan). Although there were three tvs, they were a little bigger than an IPad. We had a good laugh trying to watch a movie and finally gave up. Also, no bathtub in master bedroom.

On the plus side, extremely quiet, beautiful, well stocked (Maxwell Williams dinnerware) kitchen, spotless.

We were on bottom floor. Get a room on second floor at least. No air conditioning - just open windows with no screens mostly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel8853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review on our property. It is unfortunate that the colour of the room was not to your liking. We have several different colours schemes throughout the resort, and would be happy to do our best to get you into something other than the sage green should you decide to come to stay again. Colour certainly is a personal preference, We want all of our guests to be relaxed and happy during their stay with us. We do have small TV's in the bedrooms, and most rooms have larger ones in the living room. Unfortunately, the TV in that unit had stopped working, and all we had in storage was a smaller one, which we hoped would suffice until we were able to replace it with what should have been in there. We have many units that have a soaker tub in the master bedroom, but not all rooms are the same. Again, please be sure to specify this when making a reservation, and although we couldn't guarantee 100% you would have this, we always do our very best to accommodate any special requests we get. Screens for all windows are currently being addressed.
We value your opinion, and hope that in future we will be able to address all of your concerns, and very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, even with it not being all positive. Delighted to hear that you appreciate the finer things such as the dinner ware and natural beauty of the resort, and hope that we have the opportunity to "dazzle you" the way many others have been dazzled.

Robynne Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing