We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I've been meaning to write a review about this place for quite some time, but haven't until now as I prefer to not think about it . . .
My 2 sisters and I stayed here for 2 nights for our annual "Sisters' Retreat." When we came to check in, we were advised our room wasn't ready yet, although it was 10 minutes before check-in time. It was not ready for over an hour after that, and we did finally get to check in, the amenities were not what we had been promised. When we called the front desk to inquire, we were told there was nothing else available, and if we'd like to go elsewhere, they would reimburse us our money. It was a long weekend, end of the day, and of course there was nowhere else to go, so we were stuck. After a great deal of complaining, we were finally upgraded to a bigger suite, but they were not gracious about it at all.
On a separate occasion, there was a great special advertised on-line, so we thought we'd give them a 2nd chance. We made our reservation, but then got an email stating there had been a mistake, and were told we should have known they wouldn't have a rate that low! Really? We should have known?
I would recommend you avoid this place and their HUGE lack of customer service at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Having said that, I remember the instance very clearly, and have plenty of documentation on it. I think there are several key details not included in your statements. You stayed as a guest here over the busiest weekend of the year in 2008, and we had no availability to change your room the first night of your stay. I regret that you feel the upgrade on the second night of your stay was not done graciously, however that is not at all how we recall it. We in fact, due to a last minute cancellation contacted you immediately and were able to move some reservations around in order to have you upgraded from a one bedroom suite, to what we would consider the premier 2 bedroom suite on the property, at the original one bedroom rate, as well as offered to move your luggage etc. should you decide to go out for the day, so you wouldn't have to stay around waiting for your new unit to be cleaned and ready for the move. Notes on the reservation indicate that you were very happy to be upgraded, and everything seemed to be fine. With regard to the reservation you attempted to make in 2009, it was not an advertised special in any way, and in fact a glitch in our On-line booking engine was only picking up the charge for additional people in the room, and not the double occupancy rate that is standard to begin with. You were booking for a date in August, and yes, your confirmatiion from the on line booking engine did state you were getting your unit for $20.00 per night, plus taxes, Immediately we looked after remedying the problem, and contacted you regarding this. Perhaps it was unfair to say "As a past guest we are certain you recognize that we were recently having challenges with the rate on our on-line reservation system", and in hind site, realize that may not have been obvious to you. We also brought to your attention at that time the disclaimer on the website stating that stated - "In the event of a pricing error on our website, the quoted rate from our reservation staff will be correct:" Our emails to you were very apologetic, and after correspondence from with the General Manager at that time, you were offered what was still a significantly discounted rate due to the inconvenience caused to you. You chose to cancel the reservation.
Although I understand your frustration, I am surprised that this has come as a Trip Advisor review more that 4 years after you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed at the Sunrise Ridge from August 12-17/2012. Beautiful room with comfortable beds. Nice deck with older, but functioning BBQ on it. No air conditioning, but we were able to get a fairly good breeze through the suite with the provided fans (although still quite hot one night). No pool, but access to outdoor pool at hotel next door. A bit of a hike to the beachfront on the property, but we just drove to Rathtrevor beach anyway. All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bjcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the resort. We appreciate your positive feedback, and are really pleased that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Robynne Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice room...fridge microwave, good size clean bathroom. BUT NOTHING ELSE. No aircon, no bar, no restaurant, not much of a lounge, no pool, no shop for provisions. Not walkable to stores. Rocky beach accessible by zig-zag path so even sea bathing difficult. Would suit Trappist monk on retreat!! The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. I'm not sure how you booked your reservtation with us, whether it was on line or dircectly at the resort. If you called the resort directly, the fact that there are no amenities would have been explained to you, including the fact that arrangements are in place with neighbouring resorts that allow our guests to have the use of their amenities at no cost. If it was on line, we are very careful to make sure there is no expectation of these amenities. That being said, the future plans for the resort currently include a swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. We are not a finished resort as yet, but look forward to the future and being able to offer ammenities on site, that our guests now have go off site for.We appreciate any feedback in order to improve. We hope to see you again!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for two nights. The first night we had a studio and the second night, we had a one bedroom with the lock off studio.

Studio
The studio is like a hotel room with a mini kitchenette. The furnishing were nice and new and the deck was quite large. I heard there are some studios without a deck, so be sure to request it, if that's important to you. There was also no tub in the room, only a large shower. We looked onto the road but it's a dead end so it was very quiet. The only cons of this room was that the coffee maker was left dirty and the room was a bit dusty. I mentioned it to management after we had left and the manager was very responsive. Had we brought it to their attention, I'm sure they would have fixed the problems. There is NO air conditioning at the resort so be prepared for some warmth. There were plenty of windows and a fan so we were able to keep the room reasonably cool despite the +25 degree weather.

One Bedroom
We were really impressed with the quality and the size of the one bedroom. It was HUGE. The washer/dryer was nice, the kitchen is huge with everything you need for cooking. The bathroom was also a nice size and nicely appointed. The tv's are small but I don't think you go to Parksville to watch tv.

Watch their website for specials as they won't offer them to you unless you ask for it.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: The room styles vary a lot so make sure you request specifics (ie. patio) if it's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you so much for your kind words. We try very hard here at the resort to overcome some of the challenges we have, and appreciate very much when that is met with understanding. We are very excited about the future of the resort, which should include some amenities that our guests will be able to enjoy. I also appreciate that you have included tips for guests, especially the one that implies they should mention things that are important to them when making a reservation. Although these can't always be accommodated, our team certainly does their absolute best to make sure those special requests are granted. It is always great to receive notification of a review over Trip Advisor, and very much respect that it takes time and thought to put one together. Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to having you return!
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Most of the positive things you read on other review on what the room are like will be true.

PROS:
quality, fit and finish of rooms are great.
Very clean.
modern design.

CONS:
No Air Conditioning. Yep not even joking, your asked to pay descent $ for something a budget hotels offer!
Beach access... is a bit of a hike if your not at the Waterfront Villas.
the inter net is good, but your going to need geek squad to hook it up for you.(hardest one i ever dealt with and i been around the word ;)

I think they are still building the pool. Not sure if they have an on site restaurant in the work, But they will out source you to other places so you will have access to there facilities (pool, gym). if my stay was for a vacation i would just find a place that has all of that on site...

well i tried to be a true "tripadvisor" and not slag this place. It is very nice! i just wanted people to know the things that probably wouldn't be divulged to you unless you asked.

Room Tip: bag like your life depends on it you don't get a room that faces the sun in the summer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyjelly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you so much for spending the time, and putting honest thought into writing this review. It is true that we don't have air conditioning in most of our rooms at this time, which some budget hotels do. The price is higher here, however, as we believe do offer many other quality features that budget hotels do not. For clairty, we do inform people that book directly through the resort things like the pool/restaurant and construction status of the property. The walk to the beach is about the same as you would get on any resort along resort drive that has a large property.
We truly do appreciate your comments, and am so happy that for the most part your stay was a good experience. We are all looking forward to the day that we have some amenities on site for our guests to enjoy, that's for sure. Thank you again for your review, . We are working on some of the "cons" mentioned and certainly hope we can count on you returning in the future.
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at this fantastic place 23/24/25 July and it was better than my wildest expectation
The suite was just perfect
The only negative was it calls itself a resort but dosnt have a pool so it is a bit of a stretch but we knew that before we arrive. The Beech is great but make sure you have chairs as it is very rocky
I recomend this hotel with reservation

Room Tip: 411 a/b was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEILTLEVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

The Sunrise Ridge Resort team is so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. I do understand your concerns regarding the pool etc. and just wanted to let you know that although we do not have all the amenities of a resort at this point, we are currenly under development, and there are plans for these in the future phases. The beach is rocky for the first 15 feet or so, but incredibly sandy out from that, if you are here for a lower tide. We certainly hope to see you again soon, and appreciate that you took the time to post this review.

Sincerely
Robynne Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite that had 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. Everything you could want was in the kitchen and everything was nice new stainless steal appliances. Had a dishwasher and washer dryer combo. The room was very big and had a deep socker tub (no jets) the best part was the large balconie that over looked the water and had a bbq on it. The staff were very friendly but Jessica really stood above and beyond. they are lucky to have her working for them!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaze_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here at Sunrise Ridge, and thank you so much for letting us and other potential guests know about your experience here. Jessica is a gem, and we are very happy to have her here as part of our team. I do have a concern, however, that you marked us with only a "2" for cleanliness. Our housekeepers take pride in what they do, and I know they would very much appreciate any feedback you had with regards to cleanliness or lack thereof. Please feel free to contact me anytime to address this issue, so we can ensure it does not happen to you again, or others.
We take our feedback very seriously, and appreciate you taking the time to post this reveiw. We hope to see you again soon!

Robynne Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing