We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three bedroom waterfront villa was lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Three bedroom waterfront villa was lovely!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had gorgeous mild weather on November Remembrance Day weekend and enjoyed walking along the beautiful sandy beach that goes forever when the tide is out. Bring your puddle boots for splashing through the tide pools. The beaches on the east side of Vancouver Island are uniquely calm, and soothing. Lots of sea lions barking across the bay and seals close at hand. We saw so many birds and other wildlife in a brief morning walk. Rathtrevor provincial beach park is minutes away with wonderful seaside trails. You'll enjoy viewing the majestic snow covered coastal range mountains across the strait. This waterfront accommodation suited our family perfectly...it is spacious with three bedrooms and also three bathrooms, a great kitchen with all of the dishes and glassware we needed, a large living area and outdoor patio for relaxing family time. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I always want to be close to the water...I recommend the waterfront villa if you want to experience...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NBunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    64
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
79
78
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came up Sunday spent the day swam in the pool and relaxed. We asked for the top floor away from everything. On the top floor it was nice and quiet. We went and sat by the evening fire. I wish we had that the first time we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom waterfront villa. Very nice room. View of the water was beautiful. The villa is well sound proofed, we had a wedding party beside us and didn't hear a thing. The beds were very comfortable. It is a 5 minute walk to get to the main building and the pool. You do need to drive to get to any restaurants. We enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't stay longer than a day or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This is one of the newest places to stay in Parksville. Nice outdoor pool with a small workout room, beautiful condo rooms with granite countered kitchens and nice balconies overlooking the pool and courtyard. The adjacent lot is vacant but not unsightly. It is mainly a condo, so don't expect daily bedding and towel changes.

The only knock on the place, which applies to many hotels in Parksville, is that the beaches are very disappointing compared to those on the West side of the Island. The "beach" at Sunrise Ridge is a five minute walk away down a winding path lined with blackberry bushes. When the tide is in, there is no beach, just big rocks. When the tide is out, the ocean is a kilometre away across mud flats.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Been coming here from time to time for about 5 years now and had another nice stay here in August. The place is getting better. Now that they have a pool, it's getting better for families too. Beach access is OK and other than construction fences the grounds are OK too. Maybe they'll finally start expanding the resort in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a studio, with the promise of a kitchenette, good views, and a full bath. The photos on the website were beautiful, but misleading. The place is new, clean, and in a beautiful location, but our room was stuffy (we agree with other comments about the need for a/c), dark, and not worth the money we paid. Our "view" was the parking entrance and backside of the main building (see photo). Either pay the $$$ and get an expensive suite, or don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRBuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We rented 4 suites for our family. Rooms are nicely appointed. However there is no A/C in the whole building. Rooms were unbearably hot. A couple if rooms had nice decks with table and chairs but no umbrella making the deck useable. Two days in a row we had to travel to the nearest gas station to get ice. Asked for a wake up call which came 32 mins late. Good thing it wasn't our ferry day.
I think the owners need to spend time there to see the
conveniences that need to be
Installed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
529 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing