We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full package accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here with our family will visiting family in the Parksville area. We had a ground level suite that was right facing the pool and a few steps away. Untraditional in a bit f a time share accommodation in that they don't clean your room daily (only upon check-out) but if you need anything just ask and they were accommodating. Nice bedroom, beautiful bathroom. Spacious living room. Huge kitchen with 4 chair breakfast nook, All appliances and in-suite laundry an a gas BBQ. Additionally all of you pots, pans, coffeemaker, toaster etc are there so it's like being at home. Pool area was very nice and clean and well used but not too busy. Not very many resorts have an outdoor pool in town and this one is nice. Only downfall was the lack of air conditioning. Not sure why they wouldn't have included those.... Location was pretty good. On resort row in Craig Bay. A short 2 k run to Rathtrevor Beach or you can walk to the beach and along which, while shorter, can be eliminated due to high tide. The tide goes way out and walking out a kilometer is very realistic. Lots of fun for the kids and if you fade right and head towards Rathtrevor their is a lot more sand and places to sit. If you like the beach its a great place to be. Highly recommend staying here. Especially if you have a suite and are calling this 'base' for some time.

Room Tip: ground level pool rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyce714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family and I recently spent 5 days at the Sunrise Ridge and it was wonderful. Rooms were nice and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite with a pull out couch in the living room and both beds were very comfortable. Our suite did not have A/C but we were provided with a fan and temperature was fine even when it got quite hot out.

I loved the fact the we had our own kitchen, bbq and washer and dryer.

All of the stay were friendly and accommodating. My daughter loved the pool and we spent a lot of time just swimming and enjoying being outside.

Just a short walk really to the beach as well we say deer more than once which thrilled my daughter!

We will definitely will be coming back next year!

Kelly

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying here right now and there is no air flow. It is so hot! I booked a room with AC but did not receive one. Windows open, fans blasting and it is raining outside. Thank god the weather is crappy or we would be dying in this place. Would never stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Cindy G,
I was surprised to read your review, as there was no indication on your reservation through Booking.com that you had requested air conditioning. The last 2 days have not been hot sunny weather, but still quite warm and extremely humid. This definitely adds to the discomfort. In your review, you mentioned that you requested a room with a/c but didn't get it, however when speaking with you today you mentioned that the booking.com site said we were air conditioned so that is why you booked here. I am sure you heard the complete surprise in my voice when you mentioned this and I explained that we have been extremely careful to make sure there is no mention of air conditioning on any of the third party booking sites due to the fact that a/c is only available in some of our rooms and we do not want our guests to expect to have it and be disappointed. I immediately went to the site to check, and could not find anywhere on the site that had any indication of air conditioning in our units. I would appreciate it very much if you could send me the information or a link to where you saw this, so I am able to fix it and avoid any further disappointments. You could email the information to generalmanager@sunriseridge.ca All the A/C rooms were booked when you arrived, and unfortunately we could not accommodate this request at that time.
Our rooms are truly lovely, and I really do hope you change your mind regarding "never staying again", but next time perhaps make the additional request for air conditioning.
Sincerely,
Robynne Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Checked in aug 1 and departed aug 3. Got a partial view of the ocean and stayed in a one bedroom suite that connected with a studio one bedroom suite. The two rooms connected through a small front entrance hallway.
The resort grounds were well manicured. The swimming pool was great for the kids. They loved it.
The fitness centre is really a small room with a treadmill, recumbent bike and an eliptical. Small and not air conditioned which made it very hot considering the temperature was 30 plus degrees. No cups to fill up with water while exercising. But that was minor.
We were given a later check out and that was appreciated.
The first night was almost unbearably hot. None of us in the group could sleep as the units did not have A/C. Thankfully the second night we got a portable A/C unit that helped a lot. The front desk were accommodating and understanding the situation.
The only negative comment I will make is one front desk person seemed a wee bit irritated and it felt like we were inconveniencing her.
However, Joanne who checked us in was amazing. She even gave excellent sushi restaurant recommendations and arranged for a bike rental to be picked up earlier than normal for my husband who wanted to mountain bike at six a.m..
Thanks Joanne for your service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My understanding is that this is a time-share resort that is not yet fully sold or constructed. The prices are significantly better than at the nearby resorts, but based on what I saw in friends' units in some of the other resorts, I think that the rooms at the Sunrise Ridge are better equipped. The resort is very much like other time share places I have seen, with clean, modern, comfortable, fully-equipped units where you could stay for a week or two. I was alone and staying for only two nights, so I rented a studio unit. It was on the ground floor. It was rather dark, because of the need to keep the blinds closed to have some privacy. There were windows on one wall only which did not allow for cross ventilation. There was no A/C, but fortunately, it was not hot when I was there, so the temperature was not a problem. Because of the location on the ground floor next to the garbage containers, there was some noise occasionally, but it was much quieter than many other hotels where I have stayed. There was no noise from other units. I did not use the pool or exercise room, but they appeared to be in excellent condition. If I return to Parksville, I would not hesitate to stay at the Sunrise Ridge, but I would ask for a larger unit above the ground floor. Overall, I think the Sunrise Ridge offers excellent value for the cost, especially compared to the other resorts in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter and have better ventilation. Some rooms have a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evadvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The family went for a week long vacation to Vancouver Island and enjoyed the stay at the resort. The room was well equipped and didn't lack anything. Sufficient cook-ware and utensils and the BBQ on the patio was clean and worked well, too.
The pool was well maintained and clean. Kids had a blast!
Little bit of a walk to get to the beach.

This is NOT a hotel but a resort. so don't expect room service and daily fill ups on shower gel, etc!
Front desk was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: paying a bit more for the "partial ocean view" is well worth the $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank KLuecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We looked at every place in the area and this one by far was the nicest. Of course if you want waterfront, they are limited and you'll pay more. The only problem I found with the place was they have all queen beds. But they are new, clean, modern, the outside if manicured and if you don't have to look at the ocean or have a bigger bed, this is the best bet for the money. They were cheaper than the rest and even upgraded me. All very friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing