We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have never been to Parksville and were a little unsure of what to expect. We were blown away. Really easy to find. So much to do... English man Falls, beaches, parks, wildlife recovery centre (only $8 for adults and such a neat place), Coombs market (goats on a roof, 'literally').... I was also surprised to like the beach by the hotel better than Rathtrevor beach. Yes you need to get out there early enough before tide comes back in (8am). It was less busy and had way more sea creatures to discover. But then again we prefer to explore the beach rather than swim. However Rathtrevor beach was great too. It had a huge park for kids and sprinkle park as well as a walkway along the beach. Still really close to resort.

Loved the resort. We had a one bedroom suite. Room 129. We had two adults and 3yr + 10month old. So the separate bedroom was helpful. We had two bathrooms, huge deck, A/C, fully stocked kitchen (dishwasher, washer dryer etc). Impressed with quality of appliances and kitchen wear. Only negatives: Not all rooms have A/C and there isn't daily maid service. But we were told they are in the process of installing more A/C's. So when booking call the resort and ask for A/C and pool or sea view which we did and got. Resort staff were attentive and easily accessible. We will definitely stay again. Such great memories were made on this trip!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank CanadianFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Room we got was the size of postage stamp not a suite as suggested in the website. We asked if they had a different room and were told that they would get back to us. Never heard from them and had a vacancy sign at the front so one would assume a room was available. We booked thru the trip advisor and were told by staff that we should never book that way, only direct as that was why we got a small room.

All in all this was a poor place to stay and I would not recommend it nor would I stay here again.

Room Tip: don't book thru a trip site such as trip advisor, book direct and ask them what you are getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A wonderful family resort, extremely helpful staff and the one bedroom condo was amazing. Two bathrooms with a large soaker tub...AWESOME! In room laundry, spacious rooms. Grandkids had a blast!! And so did Nana! Thank you

Room Tip: enjoyed ground floor which gives easy access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vancouverislandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here with our family will visiting family in the Parksville area. We had a ground level suite that was right facing the pool and a few steps away. Untraditional in a bit f a time share accommodation in that they don't clean your room daily (only upon check-out) but if you need anything just ask and they were accommodating. Nice bedroom, beautiful bathroom. Spacious living room. Huge kitchen with 4 chair breakfast nook, All appliances and in-suite laundry an a gas BBQ. Additionally all of you pots, pans, coffeemaker, toaster etc are there so it's like being at home. Pool area was very nice and clean and well used but not too busy. Not very many resorts have an outdoor pool in town and this one is nice. Only downfall was the lack of air conditioning. Not sure why they wouldn't have included those.... Location was pretty good. On resort row in Craig Bay. A short 2 k run to Rathtrevor Beach or you can walk to the beach and along which, while shorter, can be eliminated due to high tide. The tide goes way out and walking out a kilometer is very realistic. Lots of fun for the kids and if you fade right and head towards Rathtrevor their is a lot more sand and places to sit. If you like the beach its a great place to be. Highly recommend staying here. Especially if you have a suite and are calling this 'base' for some time.

Room Tip: ground level pool rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyce714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family and I recently spent 5 days at the Sunrise Ridge and it was wonderful. Rooms were nice and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite with a pull out couch in the living room and both beds were very comfortable. Our suite did not have A/C but we were provided with a fan and temperature was fine even when it got quite hot out.

I loved the fact the we had our own kitchen, bbq and washer and dryer.

All of the stay were friendly and accommodating. My daughter loved the pool and we spent a lot of time just swimming and enjoying being outside.

Just a short walk really to the beach as well we say deer more than once which thrilled my daughter!

We will definitely will be coming back next year!

Kelly

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying here right now and there is no air flow. It is so hot! I booked a room with AC but did not receive one. Windows open, fans blasting and it is raining outside. Thank god the weather is crappy or we would be dying in this place. Would never stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Cindy G,
I was surprised to read your review, as there was no indication on your reservation through Booking.com that you had requested air conditioning. The last 2 days have not been hot sunny weather, but still quite warm and extremely humid. This definitely adds to the discomfort. In your review, you mentioned that you requested a room with a/c but didn't get it, however when speaking with you today you mentioned that the booking.com site said we were air conditioned so that is why you booked here. I am sure you heard the complete surprise in my voice when you mentioned this and I explained that we have been extremely careful to make sure there is no mention of air conditioning on any of the third party booking sites due to the fact that a/c is only available in some of our rooms and we do not want our guests to expect to have it and be disappointed. I immediately went to the site to check, and could not find anywhere on the site that had any indication of air conditioning in our units. I would appreciate it very much if you could send me the information or a link to where you saw this, so I am able to fix it and avoid any further disappointments. You could email the information to generalmanager@sunriseridge.ca All the A/C rooms were booked when you arrived, and unfortunately we could not accommodate this request at that time.
Our rooms are truly lovely, and I really do hope you change your mind regarding "never staying again", but next time perhaps make the additional request for air conditioning.
Sincerely,
Robynne Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Checked in aug 1 and departed aug 3. Got a partial view of the ocean and stayed in a one bedroom suite that connected with a studio one bedroom suite. The two rooms connected through a small front entrance hallway.
The resort grounds were well manicured. The swimming pool was great for the kids. They loved it.
The fitness centre is really a small room with a treadmill, recumbent bike and an eliptical. Small and not air conditioned which made it very hot considering the temperature was 30 plus degrees. No cups to fill up with water while exercising. But that was minor.
We were given a later check out and that was appreciated.
The first night was almost unbearably hot. None of us in the group could sleep as the units did not have A/C. Thankfully the second night we got a portable A/C unit that helped a lot. The front desk were accommodating and understanding the situation.
The only negative comment I will make is one front desk person seemed a wee bit irritated and it felt like we were inconveniencing her.
However, Joanne who checked us in was amazing. She even gave excellent sushi restaurant recommendations and arranged for a bike rental to be picked up earlier than normal for my husband who wanted to mountain bike at six a.m..
Thanks Joanne for your service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
577 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
521 reviews
37 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
63.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing