We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, but we won't be staying here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arbutus Grove Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed here on many occasions! We loved the idea of parking at the door, no smoking and we have a small Yorkie, so allowing pets are a must! Our reservation on this trip was for four days even though our daily jaunts are always to Nanaimo. We had the end unit and returned in the evening to a very hot room!! We weren't aware the heater was also a cooling unit. The bed was very uncomfortable until we removed the egg crate (which made the bed very soft), there were cob webs and mold in the corner! We later discovered carpenter ants!!! Definitely NOT the place it was a year ago!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I was very upset when I read your review. We take all our complaints very seriously and were very disappointed to hear of your problems. We seldom get complaints as you can tell by all the good reviews we have had. We get many complements on the bed with the memory foam toppers as you can read from comments the other guests have made. I do believe you might be the first guest who hasn't liked the memory foam. Thank goodness you can take it off and solve that issue. Our heater and air conditioning unit is very simple. You just set the temperature that you want and it will either heat or cool to whatever you have set it at. My staff is hard working and diligent in their cleaning and we get many excellent comments on the absolute cleanliness of our rooms. We take great pride in it. Our staff was upset that you did not come to them with your problems as we aim to keep all our guest happy and would have corrected any problems you had. I hope you will come and stay with us again so we can correct your opinion of our little motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Arbutus Grove Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is an older motel, but we love being able to park at your door and having a kitchen to use for our breakfasts each morning. We never did see the gal that made up the rooms. It was like a little fairy cleaned up whenever we were gone .......and we always came back to a clean room. Very comfortable beds and super quiet air conditioner. Our room had an extra bedroom which was a pleasant surprise. Location was great for real estate shopping from Naniamo to Comox. The only negative is the way the front desk gal took our payment. Any motel or hotel we stay at takes an imprint of your card for " incidentals" , however she neglected to say anything and put our complete charge for our 5 nights through upon arrival. We thought that she should have told us that was what she was going to do. So be aware.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write this excellent review of our little motel. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Our staff is excellent and I am so happy you thought so too. It is always good to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location, close to all the amenities but off on it's own. Quite, clean and affordable, friendly staff, picnic tables out front on the grass. Cooking units available. Beaches galore minutes away.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes available if needed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank-you for your excellent review. We so happy you appreciated our little motel. We work hard to make your stay enjoyable and are so glad you enjoyed it. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We always stay at the motel, when we travel to Parkville. We enjoy that the room is very clean, they have wire less internet access and a nice flat screen T.V. The bed is very comfortable, and the room has a combination heater and cooling unit. I can't say a bad thing about this place. I do like the fact that there is no smoking in the rooms, so it always smell clean. The safe are nice and they ask if they can do more to make our stay more comfortable. I always recommend the motel to anyone that travels to Parkville.

Room Tip: They don't have a pool, unable to remove the rating on this one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It is really great to hear from our regular guests and to know that every time you stayed with us you have had a great experience. We will keep up our efforts to maintain our rooms to the highest standards for our valued guests. We really appreciate your very kind comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Arbutus Grove Motel was the perfect place to stay on a recent road-trip with some friends - Excellent price, comfortable accommodations, and friendly staff.

The Motel is an old building, which has been updated. Rooms are comfortable, decorated nicely, and have very comfortable beds. My room was spotless clean.

There is a nice coffee shop across the street for morning caffeine fix.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVJollyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank-you so much for staying with us and writing this great review. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you come back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I, along with our small dog, made Arbutus Grove Motel our home away from home from mid August to mid November while our house was being repaired from an attic fire. What is really nice about this location is it is close to a lot of things but not in the middle of everything, so quiet is normal. I loved being able to park right in front, so it was easy to unload our luggage and stock up the fridge and kitchen cupboards with groceries.We had a spacious, clean room with wireless internet, flat screen TV and air conditioning (heat & cool). The mattress was extremely comfortable and the decor was homey and relaxing. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, cutlery, glassware, a fridge with freezer, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and lots of cupboard space. Even though it is located right next to the Island Hwy. road noise is minimal. There are picnic tables out front and we barbecued on several occasions. There is a small restaurant, a drop-off laundry and a coffee house right across the highway. The staff are friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this motel to anyone who wants maximum comfort, good value and a central location especially if you plan on visiting Vancouver Island (north, south and west) or visiting family or friends in the Oceanside area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that it felt like a home away from home to you. We sure enjoyed having you and your little dog. We do get lots of good comments about the motel being a single level so you can park right in front of your door and no stairs to contend with. Hope to see you and your little furry friend again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The rooms were very clean and a good size. Loved the updated decor, very nicely done. The beds were comfortable good mattress. The location was great close to everything we needed. We had a very enjoyable stay at the Arbutus Grove Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie A, Owner at Arbutus Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I sure hope you can come and stay with us again soon. We loved having you. We really appreciate your kind remarks and would like to thank-you for taking the time to write this excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
3.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.3 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Grove Motel

Address: 1182 East Island Highway, Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy single story motel conveniently located on the south end of Parksville across from the Heritage Center Mall. All rooms have large flat screen TV's, coffee, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet, very comfortable beds, very quiet, close to the beach, across from restaurant, Serious Coffee, laundry mat. Lots of free parking, room for RV's. We are environmentally responsible with the newest most efficient heating and air conditioning, we also have efficient water usage without compromising the comfort of our guests. We are small dog friendly and have some kitchenettes available. We are maximum comfort and value and know you will be impressed. We receive daily compliments on our motel and work hard to make your stay everything you could want. We have just became wireless so bring your I pads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arbutus Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Grove Hotel
Arbutus Grove Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing