We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for family spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Seashell Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Parksville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you are looking for 5-star amenities and posh service, please go elsewhere. This place isn't for you. But if you are looking for a simple, laid-back spot to hang your hat for a few days, this motel will do the trick. Our unit (#27) was very clean and updated. While the bedspreads are a bit dated, the bathroom was very clean and well-tended to. The gardens outside were lovely and you can see the owner's pride in their property.

Free TV with all the premium channels. Free wifi.

Adjacent to the Paradise Fun Park with bumper boats and mini golf. For the under-10 set, it's very fun and easy to pass some time there.

The property is adjacent to the ocean and an easy walk down to the shore, but not oceanview due to its orientation. There is a side yard with barbecue and picnic tables which was pleasant for sitting outside, but again, no view from there.

Located in central Parksville, a 2 min drive to main beach and main street. Easy drive to Goats on Roof Market, Cathedral Grove, Qualicum Beach, Rathtrevor Beach and all the other attractions.

Free breakfast is a nice touch - two types of cereal, homemade muffins, tea, coffee, juice.

Note: the smallest rooms with just bed and shower are very very small. It worked for us as a "sleeper suite" attached to a larger room, but if you were travelling with a partner you'd probably want to upgrade to the proper double room. For a single person doing an overnighter, it would be adequate.

We were travelling as a family with small kids so liked having the two rooms, kitchenette, two washrooms. It gave us room to spread out.

Room Tip: Choose a "sleeper suite" and pay a little bit more if you are travelling with your family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cottagergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

What to say about the Paradise Seashell Motel?



Pros:

-very friendly staff. Sort of a family feel to it.

-free SUPER-BASIC BUT FREE breakfast (two types cereal, a loaf of bread for toast, home made muffins and tea/coffee and orange juice)

- little gift bags for the kids (consisted of some cool little dollar store type toys, sunglasses, books, mini-frisbee, crayons, printout of coloring pages etc)

- location to the beach

-location to mini golf

-location to downtown Parksville

-decent beds

-nice little kitchenette

- didnt notice any traffic noise despite its beside a main road

-Exceptionally accommodating manager (John). (We were paid up for two nights but after the first night my son came down with the flu part way through the day so we left. When I asked if we could get a credit to stay another night some other time the manager didnt hesitate to say yes)

-pet friendly rooms (great for people with animals)

- Coupons for free mini golfing for our party and 50% off the bumper boats at the mini golf next door

-Great contact from the manager via email.



Cons (mainly small, not significant complaints!):

- NO FANS in the bathroom which leads to smelly rooms if anybody uses the bathroom. Also makes it hard to dry off if you’ve showered.

- Dated linens etc (not the end of the world of course)

- Shower nozzles are super low. Us taller people have to bed to stand beneath the water flow. Could use some removable shower wands so that people over 4 ft tall could wash their hair. :)

- Noise from other patrons chatting as they walked past our room early in the morning. (not much the hotel can do to change this. Perhaps we would ask for a back room next time).

- When I called to confirm our reservation I received an answering machine rather than a person.



Overall, I would stay at this hotel again if we were passing through the Parksville area.

Room Tip: Perhaps the second floor would have less foot traffic outside the door in the morning. There are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kia01, Manager at Paradise Seashell Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review of our Motel. We shall be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Parksville!

In response to a couple of reviews regarding the 'Back Rooms' being a little quieter, they have just one bed and no kitchenette!

John, myself, and our wonderful staff, wish you all a great summer. For information regarding our Motel, please feel free to contact us at any time, we shall be happy to assist with your inquiries!........Kind Regards........Janet.:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I never really expect too much from motels and we chose this place as it was the best value for money and included breakfast. And even though yes, it had floral bedspreads (of course!), I was impressed with the room. Flat screen Tv, and large clean bathroom with full-sized tub. Standard microwave, fridge and coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea. Beds and pillows were comfortable and the breakfast was pretty decent - coffee, wholemeal toast and jams, cereal and raspberry/blueberry muffins. We had a room at the back and traffic noise wasn't a problem. We only stayed for a night but could easily have stayed longer. I'll be back if ever I am in the area again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peachesandcream81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Nice room at the back of the building which did make it quiet , but the bed was very uncomfortable and it only had a shower in the bathroom. It is alright for an over night stay. The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have stayed at the Paradise Seashell motel many times over the years. Always had a clean room, never a problem to get extra amenities and the location is perfect. They offer free mini golf (located right next door to the motel) which is always a good time! The staff is great, and we will definitely stay again! Highly recommend it if you're in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannahsmiles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

No A/C. Coffe maker did not work. We requested a room with fridge. There was not one. This place is right on highway so if you must go, back room is better (if a big rig does not pull in during the night and keep running.

Tacky mini golf park with kitschy themes. Acces to seashore depends on tide and finding someone who knows the area.

Other than hotel staff,Every one we met in the area was helpful and pleasant.

At least it was relatively cheap

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kia01, Manager at Paradise Seashell Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

We here at Paradise Motel take great pride to make each guests stay as pleasurable as possible.We are sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We have many guests return each year with their families. Everyone at Paradise take's great pleasure helping to create those precious lasting memories.
We hope you return one day to Parksville!

We appreciate all reviews, and thank everyone for taking time to responde with your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Unless you're staying in one of the resort hotels (Tigh N'Mara and the Beach Club are two of the nicest), there are not a lot of great reasonably priced motel options in Parksville. The Paradise Seashell is a small, two story walk-up hotel, almost as if time stood still in the 1960s. Very clean, not at all fancy, not at all modern but there's TV and phones, some units have kitchenettes. There's a continental breakfast served in a common room, and you are one property off from the wonderful sandy beach! If you want a fancy breakfast, you can walk 1.5 blocks up the street to the Beach Club and then enjoy the public boardwalk along the ocean. Keep walking and you'll hit the wonderful community park, oceanside, with a fantastic play area for children, including a water playground (seasonal).

Janet and John, the proprietors, are wonderfully friendly. John is an avid birder -- ask about the resident eagles that live on a snag viewable from the parking lot. Quieter rooms are on the backside (away from the road).

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms on the back of the building are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
VIP Motel
VIP Motel
#12 of 13 in Parksville
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Seashell Motel

Address: 411 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Parksville
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradise Seashell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Sea Shell Motel is the ideal Parksville Motel to call home while visiting Parksville and the surrounding area of Vancouver Island. Our Oceanside Parksville accommodation is in a prime location, right next door to the world famous Paradise Mini Golf and Fun park, which provides hours of family fun for all ages. You'll receive Free Mini Golf. (During opening months of Paradise Fun Park March - September) A short walk through the property takes you to one of the nicest, safest, sandiest beaches on Vancouver Island. This Parksville Accommodation is within walking distance of many restaurants, ranging from casual to fine dining. For those who want to stay closer to home we have a bbq / picnic area for the use of our guests. For those with pets, we are also pet-friendly, with four rooms set aside for our four-pawed guests and their families. Since we only allow pets in our pet-designated rooms, those who are sensitive to pets can enjoy pet-free accommodation by reserving one of our non-pet rooms. This Parksville Motel, is centrally located on Vancouver Island making it a perfect home base for exploring the many other beautiful areas with just a day trip in any direction. Long Beach (west) Campbell River (north) and Nanaimo/Chemainus or Victoria (south) to name a few. There are many modes of transportation available to explore Vancouver Island - bus, car, tours and biking and hiking. And for the more adventurous, outdoor activities such as sailing, kayaking or caving can all be booked from the Motel. Of course there are also many beautiful golf courses in the area, one for every level of player. If it is fishing you enjoy, charters are available from marinas close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paradise Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Seashell Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing