We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing...”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice Suite in area by Grotto Spa...very quiet as it was off-season...splurged on jetted tub...nice.
Probably do better if Cedars Restaurant operated as a pub-style place...might get m=ore uptake...room was very nice with kitchenette and comfy king bed...pool and hot tub were well maintained...

Room Tip: If possible try to get the ocean side...we were a long way from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you Sunny222 for your review. We're thrilled you feel your stay was "quiet and relaxing" and you enjoyed your Spa Bungalow Suite with comfy king bed, jetted tub and kitchen. Yes when you stay in the Spa Bungalows it is about a 3-minute walk to the Pool House and another 3-minutes to the beach.

There are other pub-style restaurants in the area. We feel with the renovations to the cedars restaurant and lounge we have the best lounge in Parksville and our rustic contemporary cuisine is unique. It’s about creating handcrafted favourites, maintaining the integrity of the ingredients, guaranteeing freshness and using local whenever possible

Thanks again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    563
    335
    143
    89
See reviews for
539
841
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. DULL! The king size bed in the room was the best part. Very comfy. Rooms are very clean. Spa is overpriced and I've been to much nicer on the island. Cedars was ok. The only pleasant servers were the male servers. No one was very interested or engaged at work. Use to come here all the time but I don't think I will be back for a while if ever.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyplecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you Ashleyplecas for your review. I am sorry your first anniversary was not everything you hoped it would be and we did not meet all your expectations.

I'm glad your room was very clean and your bed was very comfy. Sounds like your experience in our cedars restaurant & lounge was satisfactory and your male servers were pleasant.

Sorry you feel our spa is overpriced. I will share this feedback with our Spa Manager. Our spa is very unique in that our Grotto mineral pool included with every treatment as is our 3rd floor lounge. The average time a guest enjoys the spa is about 3 hours - for the cost of a 1 hour treatment. We believe there is good value in our treatments, service and products used. Earlier this month, our Grotto Spa has once again been voted #1 Spa on Vancouver Island, #1 Spa in Western Canada, #3 Spa in Canada and #18 Spa in North America by Spas of America.

I'm a little surprised by your comment that no one was very interested or engaged at work, only because we receive so much positive feedback on how engaged our team is, and I'm regularly asked how we do it.

I do hope you decide to return to Tigh-Na-Mara. It is a great place to reconnect with the loved ones in your life.

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, it was very spacious, clean and quiet. The grounds were nicely landscaped and the restaurant staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. We participated in the happy hour and had a reasonable and tasty dinner. Lunch and breakfast were no different. The check in was efficient and informative. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bpettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much bpettinger for your "excellent" recommendation! Sounds like you had a great stay - 2 Bedroom Suite was spacious, clean and quiet; meals were reasonable and tasty; and our Team was friendly/knowledgeable/efficient/informative. Fantastic!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Parksville from Victoria,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in an ocean view suite. STUNNING view! Comfy beds, amenities provided,the jetted tub (which does fit two people comfortably) and fireplace were fabulous! However it wasn't thoroughly cleaned. The bedside tables were a sticky mess. And SURPRISE a tiny "lubricant " product was found under the bed. The front entrance was dirty as we stepped in. I'm shocked because this is a first out of many stays there this has happened.

The Grotto Spa was amazing! Exceptional service from beginning to end! The couples massage was the best!

We enjoyed the lounge. Service was good,but a bit pricey. We also enjoyed Cedars in the morning for breakfast. Again a little pricey. Food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Top ocean view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you Ray A for your review. I'm delighted you and your wife enjoyed the Oceanview Suite with the STUNNING view, comfy bed, jetted tub and fireplace. Very sorry the room wasn't perfectly clean for your arrival. Obviously this does not meet our usual high standard. As you mention this is the first time out of many stays where this has happened. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager.

Thank you for your comments about our "amazing" Grotto Spa. The couples massage is a wonderful experience. We are always thrilled to hear the service was excellent in both the spa and the restaurant!

Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Six of us, including my parents, recently spent an evening at this resort. We were very pleased with our accommodations. We had two connecting rooms in a cottage, one side had a king bed and bath and the other had a kitchen, bedroom and bath. Because we rented both sides we were able to bring our two dogs - they enjoyed the fenced backyard and nearby beach walk. We also took in the mineral pool and really enjoyed the experience. We had breakfast at the resort and enjoyed that too although the cost of each meal option was more than was allotted in the package. It would make more sense if you could have the least expensive option fully covered.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westcoaster_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you Westcoaster_8 for choosing to bring your family, including your parents and your dogs, to Tigh-Na-Mara for your family weekend. We are thrilled that our Duplex Cottage suited your needs so well, and that you enjoyed the beach and the Grotto Mineral Pool.

Fair point about the breakfast cost being fully covered in the package. Our packages have always been designed to cover the cost of the least expensive menu option. Our cedars restaurant & lounge has just been renovated including new menus, and there is still some "tweaking" taking place. However we will adjust our packages to reflect the new menu options.

Thanks again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel Room (and vicinity) - Rating 8/10
Our room over New Years was one of "pod" of 3 in the vicinity of the Spa, constructed in the log-cabin style. The room was spacious, with a kitchen nook, a large, clean bathroom with a soaker/jet tub and excellent shower. The room (and vicinity) lost points because the entry doors, set in metal frames, were all but impossible to shut quietly, with the result that every time someone in one of the other units shut the door, there was a large crash that rebounded throughout the room (and presumably when we shut our door as well). If the doors had been set in wood frames, the noise and closing impact would have been somewhat less. The other thing that lost points was that the roadways & paths throughout the resort are very poorly lit, making it difficult to see one's way when walking at night.

Dining Room - Rating 7/10
New Years' Eve Buffet Dinner (Cedars Restaurant) was excellent; the food was plentiful, varied and of very good quality for a buffet. The only small criticism was that there was no line control and so I observed a certain amount of line-barging and one instance of outright shoving by a customer. Perhaps short line-up ropes would help. The staff was friendly, helpful, prompt with drink orders and all in all made for an excellent dinner.

The band playing for the dance (Johnny Inappropriate) consisted of good musicians, playing rock of the last 15 or 20 years, but the criticism I have is that it was all the same beat (all 4/4 time) and about the same tempo (about 30-32 bpm), no matter what was played. The dance floor was small, but worked well.

The next night, we dined in the same dining room (Cedars), and it was obvious there were problems in the kitchen. Out appetizer (Spinach & Artichoke Dip with Pita) was good overall, except the pita that was supposed to be warm, was actually burnt black in places. Our entrees were acceptable, but again one entrée (Chicken Wellington) arrived with the pastry on the edge of burnt.

Not good value for the money this evening, but we are wiling to chalk this night up to the staff being tired from NY Eve the night before.

Spa - Rating 4/10
The Spa loses points for not being as advertised. We had massages and they were very good at a normal price point, but the mineral pool was not at all as it was said to be. When we inquired about it, we were told it was modelled on mineral pools in Budapest, Hungary. Note people that the mineral pools at both spas in Budapest are HOT pools; the Tigh Na Mara pool is cool. When we inquired we were told it was at body temperature. It was not. Body temperature is 37C/98.6F. This pool was 34C. In any event it was not hot as the pools in Budapest are - while the Budapest pools have a range of temperatures with the lowest being around 26C/79F these are called COOLING POOLS; the "usual" pools are hot, around 40C/104F.

The relaxing room on the 3rd floor is beautiful with comfortable furniture made from driftwood, and complimentary tea, herbal tea, coffee and fruit and while we did not sample the attached Tapas restaurant the menu looked good and the food, such as we saw, looked very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daninvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you daninvictoria for your detailed and overall very good review. I'm glad you enjoyed your newly renovated Spa Bungalow Suite. Our New Year's Eve Masquerade Ball was a huge success - very happy you felt dinner was "excellent" and our staff was friendly, helpful and prompt. I have shared your feedback on your dinners and the band with our Director of Food & Beverage who will bring it to our Christmas season review which is happening later this week. Here all feedback is noted to make improvements for next year's celebration.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your massages during your visit to the Grotto Spa, however am concerned that you were misinformed about our Mineral Pool, as this led to your expectations not being met. Our spa reservations team is well versed on benefits of the Mineral Pool, as this is a signature treatment at the Grotto Spa. Please allow me to introduce this unique experience.

Designed to emulate a natural stone grotto, this 2,500 square foot warm water pool is infused with natural minerals and trace elements which detoxify the body and rejuvenate the spirit. The pool area includes a two story water wall, an invigorating glacial plunge cascade and a non-mineralized whirlpool. To ensure the integrity of the minerals, the water temperature is set at 91 to 93 degrees Fahrenheit.

The natural minerals and trace elements in the Grotto Mineral Pool are extracted from Hungary’s Legendary Savar Springs and are absorbed through the skin, making this a spa treatment in itself. The minerals have many benefits including soothing aching muscles/ joints with the anti-inflammatory properties, detoxification; remineralization and stimulation of the metabolism. Core body temperature rises as the metabolism increases, therefore we encourage those who are pregnant or have medical conditions to consult their doctor prior to enjoying this area.

The Grotto Mineral Pool contains the following minerals and trace elements – sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, lithium, chloride, bromide, iodine, fluoride, sulphate, metabolic acid and metasilic acid.

Happy you found the 3rd floor lounge to be beautiful and comfortable.

Thank you,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here for a long while but so happy we made the booking. Only one night, but cottage was clean and well equipped. Love the open fire. Bed was very comfortable. Tv selection brilliant for children.

Bring your own food. Restaurant is overpriced and not as great quality as it used to be.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SazS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you SazS123 for your review. We're glad you came back too! Like you, a lot of people have heard of Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, or have stayed here years ago, but haven't been back in many years. They are pleasantly surprised at how much has changed while at the same time maintained the natural beauty of the property. Over the past couple years we've totally renovated our restaurant and lounge, upgraded our WiFi system, renovated our Pool House and Sport Court and every year we are improving/renovating our guestrooms. In 2013 we finished renovating our Spa Bungalow units and will start this year on our Oceanview guestrooms.

We're working hard to make Tigh-Na-Mara Resort your favourite place to reconnect with nature and with the important people in your life - including yourself.

Thank you again,
Jim H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
37.0 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Property: Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing