We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent return visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I spent one night at TNM in an ocean view room. We checked in after a very relaxing couples massage at the Grotto. I could have laid in bed and stared out the window at the ocean forever! This place is very sentimental to us, we got married here in 2012. We loved sitting in from of the fire place, in room coffee, the jacuzzi, and the biscotti in our room. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. After we checked out, we went for a beautiful walk on the beach. Just thinking of this amazing place brings tears to my eyes! Happy Tears. Cannot wait to return again!

Room Tip: Ocean view is totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much Chelsey V for your excellent review. Brought happy tears to my eyes too! We are so happy you chose Tigh-Na-Mara to be your wedding venue. Hopefully you will return every year to relive those wonderful memories. Thrilled you enjoyed your very relaxing couples massages, your ocean view room with gas fireplace and jetted tub, and walking on the beach. Great to hear everyone was so helpful and friendly, thank you.

We'll see you again soon,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a nice one night stay - used a package purchased via airmiles, which included a breakfast credit and passes to the Grotto. The grotto was a bit of a disappointment in the sense that it was no more than a quiet, glorified swimming pool (albeit relaxing). It was also a fair walk from our room, and given the rainy afternoon - not so welcome. The room was as expected. Gas fireplace is cozy. The pilot was out and maintenance showed up within 5 minutes to get it going. Nice view from the balcony - Texada Island and the ocean. Jacuzzi tub beside bed, full sized coffee pot (which we really appreciated), comfy bedding (except for the pillows, which were not as plush as I would have liked). Overall, quite clean and comfortable and great for a couples getaway.

Breakfast in the dining room was very good. Service was actually excellent - eggs cooked to perfection. "Brunch" is your choice from the a-la-cart menu, plus the continental selections. The price is between $18-$22, and includes coffee, tea and juice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniece2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you berniece2000 for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed your couples getaway and were able to relax in our quiet, clean and comfortable ocean view room with gas fireplace and jetted tub beside the bed.

I'm sorry you were disappointed in our Grotto Mineral Pool. It is very unique, designed to emulate the wonder of a naturally occurring grotto. The Mineral Pool is infused with natural minerals and trace elements which detoxify the body and rejuvenate the spirit. In addition, the Mineral Pool area includes a two story waterfall, an invigorating cool splash waterfall and a non-mineralized whirlpool.

Great to hear your breakfast was cooked to perfection and service was excellent! It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to our Cedars Restaurant Team.

Thanks again,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We love Tigh Na Mara, always a relaxing get away. The staff is great and the log cabins give you the rustic feeling with all the comforts of home. Beautiful grounds and beach for walking. Parksville is minutes away for groceries and restuarants, or try the on site restuarant and lounge, they also have a luxury spa on the grounds if you want to treat yourself. We visit at least twice a year and are never disappointed. Great for families or couples and is pet friendly, something for everyone wether you want to relax in a cabin in the woods ar enjoy a condo with an ocean view. Highly recommend this resort and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Cabins for family or ocean front condo for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianfriends_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you canadianfriends_13 for your excellent review and high recommendation! We love that you love Tigh-Na-Mara for all the right reasons - our great staff, rustic feeling, natural grounds and walks on the beach.

Thank you so much for visiting us from Victoria at least twice every year! Tigh-Na-Mara is a special place to reconnect with those you love - and only 2 hours from Victoria is a perfect getaway.

Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at one of the spa cottages. The log cabin theme was inviting and not overbearing, the small kitchen was adequate to make dinners and eat comfortably enough. Beach access was nice to have and the location along the coast was ideal. Cottage was clean and parking was fine. Finding the cottage in the dark can be challenging. The Cedars restaurant was a tad expensive for the quality but service was good. The spa was average to good, fresh fruit and tea/coffee were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you Pui-Sze for your lovely review. Great to have you visit us all the way from Toronto!

I'm glad you enjoyed your newly-renovated Spa Bungalow, our location, beach access, and the good service in our Cedars Restaurant & Lounge (also newly renovated) and our Grotto Spa.

We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit Vancouver Island,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We love to slip away for a few days to Tigh Na Mara. We live about an hour away.....this time we were there mid week and took advantage of the half price appies in the lounge, they are very good. We also enjoyed the Cedars restaurant, excellent food and the TreeTop Tapas were we had endless Tapas, superb service and food. We always take advantage of the mineral pool and hot tub, we look forward to detoxifying, always feel so refreshed. We prefer to book a one bedroom oceanfront suite with a kitchen, however, I have two small complaints regarding the suite, the couch is far to low and soft, really gave me a backache, and the TV is too high on the wall. Having a fireplace to enjoy while we were there was wonderful, we were experiencing an artic cold spell. The staff are excellent, kudos to the spa staff, housekeeping, lounge, dining room and front desk staff, the best of service. I would like this review to be a 4 1/2 but that is not possible, the only cons were the sofa and TV, otherwise a perfect getaway :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you tricia939 for your great review. We're thrilled you love to slip away from Courtenay to Tigh-Na-Mara for mini-vacations!

Nice that you were able to dine in all of our outlets, including the newly renovated Cedars Restaurant & Lounge as well as the Treetop Tapas & Grill at the Grotto Spa. Yes the half-price appies special is very popular on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Very happy to read that your food and service were "very good/excellent/superb" each time you dined with us.

It will be my pleasure to share your kudos with our Team Members in the Grotto Spa, Housekeeping, Cedars and the Front Desk. This means a lot to us. I will also take your comments about the sofa (too low & soft) and TV (too high) into consideration.

We hope to see you again soon,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Rented a two bedroom cabin on the resort side with 4 girlfriends in January 2014.

Check in quick and painless at the main building. Our cabin was 415 a hop skip and jump down the road. Ample parking right out front of each cabin and room for a picnic table. Cute porch with chairs and an ash tray. Each bedroom had a double bed, small dresser, closet and nightstand. Bathroom was basic and included a tub and blow dryer. Kitchen had a small table and chairs, microwave, fridge, stove, dishwasher, some pots and pans, and cutlery. Fire place came with lots of precursor wood and newspaper.

Grounds were beautiful and beach was down a little path between the big motelish buildings. These building have more traditional hotel rooms and are the only ones with ocean views. It was very foggy the entire weekend which offered some privacy at our cabin but left the sunrise on the beach lacking to be sure. When the tide is out you can walk for miles which I'm sure on a sunny day would be fantastic.

Shopped at the gift store and went to the Grotto Spa but otherwise didn't eat or drink at any of their services. Was surprised at how many cabins were in use in January. Can imagine in the summertime the place is jam packed and offers a bit of a different atmosphere. Is awesome pets are allowed in the cabins, always nice to see some animals when I am missing mine.

Great place but for us the ferries and two nights in the cabin cost over $900. When you add food, gas and Spa treatments, I'm not sure I couldn't find an equally nice place that wouldn't drain the bank.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you Sheridan C for your review and for coming to visit Parksville from Abbotsford. Sounds like you and your girlfriends had a peaceful, relaxing spa getaway. Thank you for your comments. Tigh-Na-Mara is a unique resort - pet friendly rustic cottages with wood burning fireplaces, great beach, spa, free parking.

Sorry it was foggy while you were here. We did get a lot of fog for about a week. Overall it has been an incredibly mild winter season.

Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

everytime we get on the ferry to come to resort my whole body relaxes. when we get here all I want to do Is sit on deck and look at the ocean, and walk on the quiet beach. suck a nice place to unwind. cant wait to come back..

1  Thank janelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much janelle99 for your review! We're so happy you've found a place to relax and unwind and that you look forward to your visit every time.

We look forward to your next visit too,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
17.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £103 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing