We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Tigh Na Mara. I'd been there more than 10 years ago, so didn't know quite what to expect. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage. Everything was clean and in great shape. Staff was very helpful. We liked the mineral spa, but the indoor pool was not a great place to hang out as it was hot and had very strong chlorine.

The only downside was the limited menu in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you Michael T for your review and for choosing Tigh-Na-Mara for your 5 night stay from Calgary. We LOVE hearing that we've exceeded your expectations!

Nice to hear your 2-Bedrroom Cottage was clean and our staff were very helpful.

We look forward to your next family visit - hopefully before another 10 years goes by!
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just spent 3 nights in a log cabin at Tigh Na Mara. We had stayed at other resorts in the area but now that we have a dog, we needed a new location and were very happy to be able to bring him to Tigh Na Mara. A few things to be aware of:

The cabins in the woods are not all actually in the woods and there is no privacy. Ours was on the main drag of the resort, so anyone staying in the lodge had to drive past us and there was plenty of foot traffic too (including two separate incidents of people pacing near the front of our cabin on cell phones) as we were between the lodge with the beach path and the restaurant and pool. So, sitting out in front of the cabin was more like sitting on your porch in a busy neighbourhood. Some of the other cabins are more private, but still in a sort of cul-de-sac formation.

The cabin itself was certainly functional and had all we needed to be comfortable, though it was very small. Very dark of course because of the interior walls being logs, which I get, but more lighting would be great to brighten things up and actually be able to see into my bag in the bedroom.

The pool was great, we used it with our daughter. Very, very busy of course, which is to be expected at a family resort. There is also a playground that we used. Unfortunately not everyone adheres to the quiet time before 8am as two days running we were woken by kids shouting in the playground at 6:30am.

In short, it wasn't the quiet, private forest cabin we were hoping for, so we won't return. For others not seeking privacy and quiet who are perhaps travelling with friends, it might be perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you EdTraveller2013 for your review. We are happy to offer pet-friendly accommodations at Tigh-Na-Mara year round in our Rustic Cottages. Good to read your Cottage was functional and comfortable. I am sorry you did not get the privacy you were hoping for. It sounds like you stayed during a very busy weekend! 12 of our 41 Cottages are located along the drive towards the beach and ocean view guestrooms and yes, these units do see more traffic than any other of our 192 guestrooms. I don't know your specific details but if we receive your reservation in advance with a request for a quiet, private room we will do our best to assign a room that will better meet these requests. This is our high season. There are many dates in our lower season where you could stay and feel like you have the entire resort to yourself.

I'm glad your daughter enjoyed the pool and playground. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again, perhaps in the fall.

Best regards,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have stated at this resort many times over the years, and decided to bring our daughter overnight to experience the ocean, Rathtrevor Beach and everthing this resort has to offer. We weren't disapointed, our first time with our daughter and she had an amazing time. Chased crabs on the beach, played on the playground, built sandcastles and waded in the ocean. Perfect getaway for a family.

The resort is clean and in an amazing locaiton. The rooms are old, probably could use an overhaul, but we had no complaints in our one bedroom room with the most amazing ocean view, panoramic along Rathtrevor Beach. The service was great, very attentive, brought down a crib and set it up for our kid, gave us a really early check in so she could nap and overall great customer service.

We did not visit the restaurant or use the spa services on this trip.

We will definitely take our daughter back and stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: If possible, get into the ocean view buildings as the view is second to none. You don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you ErinGaster for your review of your "perfect getaway for a family". I'm so happy you decided to introduce your daughter to the ocean on our beach! With our shallow, sandy beach, we have the warmest ocean temperatures anywhere in Canada.

Thank you for complimenting our service, our clean comfortable rooms and of course the amazing view. You're right, our rooms aren't brand new, but we do updates every year. This year all our Ocean View rooms received brand new mattresses and duvets, our Deluxe Suite bedrooms are getting new furniture Wednesday morning, and our studios will be getting new flatscreen TVs.

We look forward to your next visit with your daughter.

Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed many times over the years and we enjoy ourselves every time. The rooms are always clean and the beds are comfortable. We have stayed in every type of room. While the Ocean view room is nice we enjoy the Spa Bungalows the best. We stayed in the older Cabins once with our dogs and won't ever do that again. The bed was so small. We are used to a king bed and it didn't even feel like a queen bed. I would not describe any of the rooms as really "fancy" but more rustic and west coast style. The beach is great for a walk and is easily accessible. We recently had a baby and we look forward to taking him in the future as the resort always seems to have family activities. We love the grotto spa and the restaurant onsite is pretty good! I am a breakfast person and it never disappoints. I would highly recommend the Tigh Na Mara.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you Ashley_083 for your high recommendation! I'm so happy to hear you've stayed with us many times over the years and always enjoy yourselves.

Thank you for pointing out your rooms are always clean and comfortable. We will have new mattresses in all our ocean view rooms and new duvets in all our guestrooms by the end of June. The Spa Bungalows have been completely renovated and our most updated rooms, but I agree with you that we're not "fancy" - we're not trying to be! Rustic and west coast style is who we are. The beds in our Cottages are Queen, but if you're used to King we have lots of rooms with King beds.

I'm glad you enjoy our newly renovated cedars restaurant and lounge too.

Congratulations on your baby boy! In addition to the beach, playground, sport court and Pool House, we do have a wonderful seasonal Recreation Program that kids love. Some families tell us their kids even choose to vacation here over Disneyland!

Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Weather you have children or you just want an escape for yourselves, Tigh Na Mara is the ultimate destination on Vancouver Island.
I am 67 and I have been going there since I was in my 20"s, I always want to return. Kids love it, adults love it....who wouldn't.
It has the best beach on the Island miles of white sand, amazing sunsets and storm watcher's paradise.
Wonderful accommodations available, so many different layouts to choose from.
The have a very descriptive website. Don't miss the Sunday buffet, it's amazing.

.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityVictoria_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you QualityVictoria_B_... for saying Tigh-Na-Mara is the ultimate destination on Vancouver Island - I tend to agree with you!

I see you live in Victoria, travelled as a couple and have been staying with us for 40 years! That's fantastic! I always enjoy hearing stories of guests who return over a period of many years and are able to recapture the same feelings and memories they hold from their youth - and share them with their loved ones. The property is kind of timeless in that sense.

Look forward to a brand new website launching next week! One note about our Sunday brunches, we now only do the buffet brunches on "special" Sundays like Mother's Day, Easter and Father's Day this weekend. Most other Sundays we have a new Brunch a la carte menu that is receiving rave reviews.

Thanks again and keep coming back,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My first time at the resort was a short one night. My family and I arrived early evening and were greeted by very personable staff. We stayed in one of the cheaper lodge suites on the bottom floor. The room was nice and very clean, yet dated. The mini kitchen was an added bonus. I really loved the forested property and the walk way down to the beach was easy with no stairs. The beach was great and all the amenities at the resort were very nice. Will return in the future.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Chef_SER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you Chef_SER for your review and for choosing to stay at Tigh-Na-Mara for the first time! We're happy you found our staff very personable and your room nice and very clean. Sounds like your family enjoyed the forested property, beach and all our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding here on May 10 2014. With only a few weeks to plan Suzanne Hedges and her team worked their magic and gave us the ultimate special day. Not only are the grounds and view one of its kind, the suites and bungalows are first rate. We could never have pulled off our perfect day without the help of the staff here at Tigh na mara. Thank you for making our every wish come true. Kevin and Michelle Heller

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Kevin and Michelle, congratulations on your wedding! It was a special day and we are honoured to have been a part of it. Our wedding specialist Suzanne loved the card you sent - thank you.

We hope you come back every year for your anniversary to celebrate each other and your memories of your perfect day. Bring your bikes!

Thank you for the review. Tigh-Na-Mara is a great choice for weddings.
Jim H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
17.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £103 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing