We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back to this beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
southwest Ontario
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back to this beautiful spot”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Beautiful resort with wonderful amenities and the gorgeous beach right below. Spa is magnificent with the mineral pool as part of the package. Felt really renewed after treatments. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was really delicious as was lunch in the pub area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algillw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    563
    335
    143
    89
See reviews for
539
841
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

April 2010 we had a quiet wedding at Tigh na Mara. The staff were amazing. Everything was beautiful and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The location, room and service was so much more than we expected.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary. all that we knew is that we wanted to go to a resort with a day spa, well we were not let down. We stayed in the ocean view units on the top floor as I heard the bottom ones can be a bit loud with people walking around. What a great please. it is very nice and cosy with the fireplace, big comfy bed and we had a jacuzzi tub in the corner of the room. The view was amazing from the ocean view units every room looks like it has a great view across the bay. It did rain almost the whole time we were there which was only a few days but that really did not matter. One day we had a relaxing couples massage witha pararfin dip on our hands and feet. I have never had a massage before ( except Physio) and it was great. Also whenever you book and activity there you get use of the Grotto mineral pools which we made use of. We had our massages in the afternoon, so we went to the grotta pools in the morning then later came back jumped in again then went upstairs for our massage and after went back to the pool again after relaxing in the relaxation lounge of course. The next day we paid to use the mineral pools and went to the unlimited tapas for dinner. Which was booked out 2 weeks in advance for the night we actually wanted to go. Realistically between the two of us it was probably cheaper to pay per plate because there is only so many plates you can eat and dessert. i think wew probably tried half of everything on the menu. We also went to the breakfast brunch which is really nice. It was a busy weekend because of all these conferances but it did not bother us one bit in actual fact we never really saw anyone even and dinner and breakfasts, just have to time it right.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbell river
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

For my birthday we went to the Tigh-Na-Mara -I had in passing mentioned on booking it was for my birthday. On arrival there was a birthday card from management and chocolates a lovely touch. Also my husband requested from staff since the gift shop was closed if they would reopen so he could purchase my gift. The word I heard from staff when asked any reasonable request was "absolutely" what a wonderful way to remember this special time.
Anne Stubbs, Campbell River

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblerCampbellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed in one of the cabins - it was very very outdated and dirty for a 'luxury' property. (Scratched & damaged, outdated furniture, walls, appliances etc. ) During the night I dropped my glasses on the floor in the bedroom, upon picking them up off the floor in the morning, I found they were covered in dust, fiilth, and somebody elses hair. The bathroom was old and dirty as well. The cabin was disgusting and overpriced, and we will never go back. The front desk staff were not friendly or helpful - mildly understandable as Christmas is a busy time of year, although still not excusable considering the cost of our stay. (Over $1200 for one night including christmas dinner, party of 4) The Grotto spa pool was nice, but not included in the cost.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandDknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houtby, Director of Sales & Marketing at Tigh-Na-Mara Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback Trip Advisor. Tigh-Na-Mara takes all comments very seriously – those provided through our internal comment cards as well as those shared through other means such as Trip Advisor.

Your experience was certainly not our standard and I would like to personally apologize for your experience.

Since your visit in December 2008, we have made significant improvements to our guestrooms and amenities throughout the resort. Specifically we have spent more than $2 million dollars updating our oceanview units and our rustic log cottages. These updates include new linens, new lighting, flat screen televisions, new furniture and more!

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort very soon.

Kind Regards,


Jenn Houtby-Ferguson, CMP CMM
Director of Sales & Marketing
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, BC Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This is my 2nd time at this resort. In this area there are many resorts, Tigh na Mara being one of the first I believe, this shows. It clearly needs updating compared to the surrounding resorts for the same price. Yes its supposed to be rustic however the rooms are starting to look a little run down now. The service in the restaurant is very good, the food is also good. We didn't find the Sunday buffet worth the money comparing again to other resorts. The jacuzzi tub in our room did not work, we weren't offered another room. This was our honeymoon which they were aware of so a little disappointing when the tub did not work. In compensation they offered to pay for our movie ($5.99) that we had ordered the night before, not good. The location of this resort is good and the beach and views are fantastic however after staying at surrounding resorts, all updated this resort would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winstonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My husband and I have been to Tigh Na Mara several times and have not had a bad experience there.
The Grotto Spa has a relaxing atmosphere that truly assists in de-stressing. If you go there, opt for the full meal deal in the treetop for tapas. Hubby and I tried everything on the menu, enjoyed several pots of tea and read books. It was relaxing, we were in no hurry and we had just enjoyed body wraps and massages. All in all, I think we spent 3 hours in the treetop.
Because the resort is pet friendly, our 120 pound Rotti goes with us, we get a 1 Bdrm cottage with a kitchen and woodburning fireplace.
The staff are wonderful, but I was less impressed by the restaurant waitresses. We were on time for our 6pm dinner reservations and the 2 waitresses assigned to our table already looked harried and gave the impression they didn't really want to be there.
After our spa day, we take the dog for a long walk along the beach. It hasn't mattered to us what the weather was, we like walking together in the rain :)
All in all, I give the resort and spa a 5 star rating.
The $1200 price tag may be a little over the top for some people but when I factor in 4 spa treatments, meals, transportation, accommodations and the sheer joy of being away from the phone and computer for 3 days, it's worth it to me.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumn_moon_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
64.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
37.0 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Resort

Property: Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Address: 1155 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#4 Spa Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort is located in 22 acres of forest beside the ocean. The Resort features unique log-style accommodation units, gas fireplace and kitchenette in every guestroom as well as three on-site restaurants, a full service spa, indoor pool and fitness centre. Every stay at Tigh-Na-Mara includes complimentary parking, complimentary wireless internet and complimentary local and calling card calls. The Resort also offers direct beach access and six golf courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tigh-Na-Mara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Hotel Parksville
Tighnamara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing