We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good value”
Review of VIP Motel

VIP Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VIP Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Like most motels in Parksville, this is an older, somewhat dated property. But it’s clean, comfortable and well maintained, centrally located and one of the better values in an area that can be quite pricey even off-season.

We had a spacious end unit with two queen beds, a full kitchen and a dining table with four chairs. It was well enough equipped that we could have cooked all our meals, had we chosen to do so. In addition to an electric stove, small fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker, we had a good selection of pots and pans (mostly new or newish) along with dishes, glasses and cutlery for four. Even dishwashing liquid, sponge and tea towels are provided.

The decor is anything but trendy (haven’t most places ditched the floral bedspreads by now?), but if that sort of thing bothers you, the VIP is probably not somewhere you were considering staying anyway. Beds are comfortable if somewhat creaky. Maybe other rooms are different, but in ours the mattress was set atop a box spring that seemed more box than spring. If you sat on the edge, it creaked, though once you got into bed, it was okay. We had a plug-in fan but no air conditioning, but I’m not sure that would ever be a problem. It was unusually hot for September when we stayed, but the room was always a comfortable temperature. Also included: a flat-screen TV; fast, reliable wifi connection; and lots of towels in the bathroom, plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Each room has a numbered parking spot right outside the door, so no need to drag baggage across the property. We never heard any noise from adjacent rooms, the parking area or even the highway, unless the door was open. Even then, many rooms are set back far enough from the highway that traffic is not bothersome.

A basic continental breakfast is included in the room rate. You can pick up coffee, juice, cereal, toast or muffin at reception and take it back to your room. The owners are pleasant and helpful. Not a fancy place, but I’d have no hesitation recommending it if you just need reasonably priced accommodation for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were in town for a couple of car shows and VIP was recommended to us by family that lived in the area. What we found was a very clean room and the care and attention by the managers was second to none. The breakfast muffins, toast, tea, coffee, etc was a very pleasant surprise and we enjoyed them the 2 days we were there. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Not fancy, not a dive, just what you would expect for an affordable low end stop on the island. One of the few in the area that accepted larger breed dogs so definitely props for that. Outside of an old bra found behind a headboard, both rooms we had were clean. May not be for everyone, but good for a quick layover and close to Sandy beach.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank justducky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The VIP is your typical highway side motel. It is a little dated, nothing fancy but it is clean, the management freindly and the service good. If you are passing through Parksville and like us need a safe place in the middle of a bad accomodation storm I can reccomend the VIP Motel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sittingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We found this little motel just as we were entering Parksville. Very nice and helpful staff. Quaint little room, with comfortable bed and well equipped Kitchenette and full bathroom. Just a few minutes drive from Rathtrevor Beach and a short drive to the centre of Parksville.

Room Tip: Very close to Rathtrevor Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were looking for a place that had an extra bedroom as we were travelling with an young woman who is not part of our family. This place was perfect for us. The suite was very spacious. The two televisions sets were as surprise as were the number of comfortable chairs and the invitation to get anything you might have forgotten for free from the office. Our travelling companion, a young woman from Korea, was even treated to some Korean food by the Korean-Canadian managers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the VIP motel for four nights in November while visiting family nearby. Even though it was a long weekend and the motel seemed pretty busy, they gave us a king room for the price of a regular which really was a bonus. The room was clean and large with TV, two comfortable chairs, a kitchenette with a small fridge, full sized stove, sink, table for 4, microwave, and coffee maker. More than adequate. The bed was comfortable but the linens were your standard motel fare....not the greatest but acceptable.

All rooms are on the ground level so each unit opens directly outside onto the parking which provides a nice buffer between the motel and the highway so trafic noise was not an issue and access was fast and easy (no stairs or hallways). The motel itself is easy walking distance from Parksville beach/boardwalk and downtown. There are lots of dining options very nearby.

The reasonable rate included a continental breakfast of muffins, cereal, toast, juice and coffee which is available in the office and can be taken back to your room.

Overall the VIP is a good option in Parksville.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#11 of 13 in Parksville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.5 mi away
Skylite Motel
Skylite Motel
#10 of 13 in Parksville
40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arbutus Grove Motel
Arbutus Grove Motel
#5 of 13 in Parksville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Motel

Address: 414 Island Hwy W, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — VIP Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your VIP Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIP Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing