We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madrona Beach Resort
victoria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My daughter and I go for a girls' retreat here every year. we like to spend time reading, sketching and having nice talks by the fire. The location is perfect- right on the beach and the units are meticulously maintained. The staff is friendly and unobtrusive. Tigh Na Mara Resort is next door and we head there to spend a day at the wonderful Grotto Spa and eat at their excellent restaurant. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amusedcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have been going to Madrona for a "Girls Getaway" weekend for more than 15 years and always had the most wonderful time. We go in winter - the off season - where we get three nights for the price of two for a fully kitted out cabin on the beach. It's just perfect for a 2-3 day getaway: kitchen, 2 full bathrooms and bedrooms, comfy living room with fireplace. And the ocean at your feet...

It's the most peaceful place ever, with an ocean walk to Rathtrevor Beach beckoning no matter what the weather. The staff are always courteous, helpful and available if needed. But because everything's always taken care of and the place is so clean and well stocked, we've seldom had need to contact the front desk.

Love Madrona!

Room Tip: There are 8-10 self contained units right on the water - the premium way to go and all equally well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in a beach unit a few meters from the start of the beach. It was really incredible to be that close to the ocean particulary at high tide. Reservations, check in and departure all went very well. We needed a few extra things for our grandchild and they were readily available. The unit was clean , up to date and had everything we needed for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a lovely three-night stay here last week. Located in Parksville's "Resort Row" alongside many pricier options, this place offers great value and a very pleasant experience. Our quarters featured a postcard view straight out across the water. There's easy access to the beach down a walkway at the rear. The room itself was easy to feel right at home with, featuring a fireplace, large dining table and a kitchen fully appointed with all the implements and dishware we needed - plus a dishwasher.

Staff were friendly and helpful. When we asked the manager for a breakfast place in town, she offered what turned out to be a great suggestion (Lefty's). We'd never have found it otherwise.

It may not have the flashy amenities no doubt offered by some of the other places, but we didn't miss having a restaurant, pool, spa or the like. We came to relax and enjoy the beach, and watch the stars, and this was a great place to do that!

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmoCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

HI!

I recently returned from a 4 night -5 day stay at the Madrona resort with my seven year old daughter. This was our first stay and we plan to return again next year.
We stayed in a suite on the ridge - no separate bedroom. It was relatively plain but very very clean and comfortable. Well equipped with a full kitchen and a fireplace it was super! The suites are located on the ground floor affording us not only a FABULOUS view but a lovely patio on the greenway! The beach a 2 min walk and it is fantastic - beautiful sand and when the tide is out it is spectacular .... forever stretches of sand create a playground for the children and a lovely walking ground for adults. At dusk the communal fire pits light up as people create campfires and others join.

All the staff so welcoming, pleasant and helpful - and the little efforts, printing a copy of the ferry schedule, giving us matches for the fire when I could not find mine were greatly appreciated.

For those looking for great affordable accommodations I would suggest you look here first!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Absolutely wonderful. Ridge view are great, very cozy. Each "condo" is furnished differently. We had 4 units in total, and everyone loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Holford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed at a ridge level unit at Madrona in the last week of July 2011. Madrona has a 30% off deal on the ridge rooms until early August, probably because the weather has not been that great. All along the drive, there are vacancy signs, so it doesn't look like everybody is full. The week we were there, it was sunny but temps were in the low 20's, so not really hot.

Cannot beat the price at $130 / night, these rooms on the ridge with ocean views normally go for around $200 at all the places along the drive.

The room is on the ground floor, was clean and also quiet. At various times during our stay there was nobody beside or above us so very quiet and unobtrusive. You can walk outside to a small patio, table and chairs and small bbq. Further out is a common yard with chairs to take in the 180 ocean view. Beach is a short stroll down a boardwalk

The ground floor units have full kitchen, dishwasher, stove, fridge. It does not come with any condiments, such as spice, oil, butter etc. Pick these up at the quality foods down the street. We had six of everything in the unit. Would have been nice to have more plates, forks, spoons etc so that we could put everything from two meals in the dishwasher at the end of each day, instead of handwashing a few things we needed. We had four people.

WiFI is free, but signal is weak.

Staff are responsive. If office is closed, there is a resident manager in unit 30, you go ring the doorbell and get whatever you need. During the day the housekeeping people are usually roaming around in their golf cars and you can exchange towels or get extra supplies.

This resort has no pool and very limited other facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLBurnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Beach Resort

Property: Madrona Beach Resort
Address: 22-1145 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madrona Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Beach Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing