We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rustic lodge was perfect for our mother/daughter retreat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbend Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverbend Resort
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The rustic lodge was perfect for our mother/daughter retreat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We recently had our annual mother/daughter chick weekend at the log lodge next to the office area and it couldn't have been better. There was plenty of space for the 10 of us, a full kitchen, two full bathrooms (very important when you have a bunch of women), tons of towels, no shortage of hot water, a nice outdoor firepit area, a lovely deck and a view of the river from the master bedroom and yard. There were plenty of beds, bunks and hide-a-beds available, although the upper bunk in the second bedroom on the main floor was unstable and a bit sketchy so we didn't use it the second night. We had a ton of fun and didn't have to worry about our noise and laughter as we were far away from anyone else. My only complaint would be about the old and tacky trailers and sheds of some of the permanent residents in the park. It would be nice if they could be cleaned up to improve the overall esthetics of the area. On a more positive note, the staff were friendly and helpful and, on our last day, a couple of us got keys to look at a one bedroom cabin, a two bedroom cabin and one of the yurts, and we were impressed. Both the cabins were very nice and one was completely renovated and we expected the yurt to be very rustic and hippy-ish and it wasn't at all - it was very nicely furnished and not at all rustic. My daughter now plans to make a reservation for a summer weekend in one of the cabins and I plan to bring some friends back next year for another chick weekend. By the way, there is also a very nice beach on the river which will be a great place to swim when the weather gets better!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed in the lodge. Beautiful fireplace and great view of the river! The beds were very comfortable and the lodge was spacious yet cozie. Overall, a great place to stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I came across this very attractive resort quite by accident last September and decided to stay for a week in one of the yurts. The week turned into a month, and then another month in one of the log cabins with my perfect travelling companion, a small dog (with big ideas). Another month went by and one of the over-winter rv'ers was posting a list for Thanksgiving dinner with an after-dinner fire-side sing-a-long and before we knew it, it was Christmas and people were thinking about take turkeys out of the freezer to cook in the large oven in the lodge, or making cranberry sauce, or ordering pies and counting chairs, tables, plates, and cutlery for 50 or more home or away from home for the holidays. How could I leave? Now that the cedars and big firs are covered with snow and the tiniest ever birds are eating the crumbs on the picnic tables and my little dog is snug in his bed by the fireplace in our pretty cabin, I might as well wait to see what happens next. This is a beautiful place with many advantages: clean, cozy cabins, a short walk to the river, close to town, close to Parksville's spectacular beaches, mostly quiet, friendly, with a nice mix of people and accommodation options for young and old, rich and not so rich, artists, hikers, swimmers, fishers, dog walkers, photographers, people cooking hot dogs, and snoozers. Although I like to travel, I also want to feel safe when I'm away from home, safe enough to stroll through the park at night and leave my door unlocked. We've enjoyed our stay here. The next time I find myself looking for a nice change from town and home, I'll be back, and my little dog too!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper181779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed two nights with our little 17' trailer. Friendly staff. No problems. They have a web connection. Weather was good.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William31428572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The most common saying at Riverbend is "IT IS WHAT IT IS" and that just about sums it up. And you will pay for the privilege. Tired is another word. The dusty potholed drive into the Resort is a clue as well. Not rustic just uncared for. Our experience was barely adequate and to list all the defects we were required to pay for would take too much space. We will never return here... even if it was the last Resort!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesopenwider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

Our park is over 75% paved, and we are planning on paving more of our driveways this year. Our long-term goal is 100% paved driveways on the resort’s property. Please note that most of the unpaved driveway coming into our resort is actually a municipal road, and not on park property at all. Our resort’s staff help maintain this municipal road entrance with the resort’s own equipment as a service to our guests.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Riverbend “resort” (resort term used loosely) for three nights. We rented a two bedroom cabin for the four of us adults staying there. The drive up into the resort is through a gravel road and many RV’s, then on to a paved road, past a couple “Yurts” and more RV’s. We rented a two bedroom cabin for the four of us adults staying there. The cabins looked ok and rustic from the outside, but were dated once inside with minimal coffee and tea supplies. The bedrooms were small and cozy and there was some nice ambiance from all the visible raw logs inside the rooms and cabin. The beds were the smaller “double” size, not “queen” size, so for two adults they were rather uncomfortable and small. The bathroom had minimal toiletries provided, two rolls of one ply toilet paper, two small travel size shampoo containers and one mini soap. The towels were awful! They were warn and looked used and old. There were four small bath towels and two wash clothes provided for the 4 of us for three days, no housekeeping provided to us.
We did notice that the web site portrays a very nice image, one that is much different than when you are actually in the land of RV's that is this place, similar to a trailer park with cabins.
Also, we visited friends and family with children who stayed in the main lodge as it accommodated a much larger group. The main lodge was also rustic and had two separate bedrooms on the bottom level with two double beds and a bunk bed for kids, upstairs there were four beds that could have also been used. We had a few meals there and spent the evenings there as there was a decent side deck. There was a small tv (a newer flat screen but cheep brand) but didn’t seem to work very well. The fridge was a nice stainless steel looking model, but appeared to get the best of a few peoples fists as it was clearly dented all over the freezer door. The lodge did have nice new stone tiled floors. The highlight to our experience at the Riverbend resort was on our last day, we were originally promised a 15% discount at time of check out, because we had a very large group of people staying and we prepaid our bill ahead of time (Don’t do this here!) They recalculated our bill, after we had paid for it! And charged us a $10 per person per night fee over their “double occupancy” per cabin and 4 people per lodge “rule”. So for us, we rented the two bedroom cabin and had four adults in the cabin, well… they charged us and extra $20 per night. In the main lodge, they even charge the children the same $10 each per night, they were 4 and 6 1/2 years old!
So this additional fee, nullified anything close to the 15% we were to receive back after they confirmed we brought our large group along to stay.
The final cake topper to this weekend was on the morning were cleaning up before our check out time. We were going through the lodge top to bottom doing a once through and came across two OPEN containers of RAT POISEN! NO JOKE.
This wasn’t the black plastic rat trap boxes where rats go in and die, this was open boxes of rat poison, where many small children had been playing and would have and may still sleep in the future.
Needless to say, we will NEVER go back here and we’ll be happy to let anyone we know travelling to the area know never to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildernessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

Our management followed up with this family reunion’s organizer with a letter detailing the billing and later spoke to her personally on the phone about their reunion group’s billing and their comments on Trip Advisor. The reunion organizer admitted on the phone that after reviewing our letter that the final billing was correct after all and confirmed that they did received the 15% discount as promised. As a service, we have offered her a free stay for the misunderstanding.

Please note, that it is a normal hospitality industry standard to have a base occupancy for each accommodation, and in our case either 2, or 4 guest occupancy per cottage, then to charge additional costs for additional guests. These charges were noted on our website at the time. We have since entirely redesigned our website in the attempt to make these industry standard charges clearer to our resort guests. Further we are striving to ensure all our resort staff better explain these charges & all billing charges in general. We regret this misunderstanding by this reunion group, but it’s important to the resort to ensure that the group’s final billing was correct, and as promised.

To the comment about poison in our accommodation, NO rat poison was present as noted. The resort has also made extra efforts to better secure resort areas that are off limits to resort guests & their children.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I went to this resort(if you could really call it that) with my family. We had a large group, about 70 of us, so we rented a lot of sites and cabins. First off, they double booked our original date that we had set. That's alright, these things happen, but having to rebook the date two months after we has setvthe date was really inconvenient for us. A few people could no longer make it because of this.so that was disappointing. When we got there we arrived at our cabin and it looked really nice,untill we got inside. The furnishings were out of the 70's. The bathroom was quite brutal. There was barley enough towels for the 4 of us. The water pressure was almost non existent. We asked the front desk where we can park. They told us to the left of the cabin. So we parked there, just after we got unloaded and settled,we were told by another staff member that we have to move our cars because we were parked on the picnic table area. Soooo..we had to park our cars a ways away from our cabin, WTF? The kitchenettes was stocked with mismatched cutlery and plates/bowls etc. The tv's control buttons were broken.the floor creaked all over the place and the beds were too small for double occupancy. The light bulbs were a mixture of soft white and cool white CFL's. Just looked weird and were hard on the eyes. They say they have free wifi, but the signal was so weak(even beside the office) that it was basically useless. The stairway down to the river was rickety and needed repairs. I can safely say that would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmxfolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

We are disappointed to read some of the comments from your stay. Since your stay last summer we have been focusing on improving our cottage accommodations for our guests.

Since last summer for our cottages we have installed two entirely new kitchens, a number with new carpets, televisions, furniture and window blinds. One cottage has all new outside cedar siding installed, new carpets and fully repainted inside. We also been working through all our accommodations to try to find and repair those issues that can get missed. From your comments, we have been replacing all incandescent & CFL lighting regardless of condition to new standardized soft white CFLs. Since last summer we have also installed a new commercial Meraki WIFI wireless internet system that has been providing a quality WIFI signal to our guests, resort wide.

We are not done yet, as we are committed to continuously update and improve our resort for the comfort and convenience of our guests.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Resort

Property: Riverbend Resort
Address: 1-924 Island Hwy E, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend RV Resort & Cottages, situated on 16 Acres of wooded parkland on the Englishman River with one of the nicest sandy beaches on the river.Just off highway, minutes from Parksville, beaches, golf, spas, restaurants and shopping. We have 15 fully equipped cottages. Over 100 RV sites that can accommodate up to a 40' trailer, or 45' motorhome. Tenting sites located along the river. Riverbend, the perfect spot to launch your exploration of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverbend Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing