We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverbend Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed two nights with our little 17' trailer. Friendly staff. No problems. They have a web connection. Weather was good.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank William31428572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

The most common saying at Riverbend is "IT IS WHAT IT IS" and that just about sums it up. And you will pay for the privilege. Tired is another word. The dusty potholed drive into the Resort is a clue as well. Not rustic just uncared for. Our experience was barely adequate and to list all the defects we were required to pay for would take too much space. We will never return here... even if it was the last Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesopenwider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

Our park is over 75% paved, and we are planning on paving more of our driveways this year. Our long-term goal is 100% paved driveways on the resort’s property. Please note that most of the unpaved driveway coming into our resort is actually a municipal road, and not on park property at all. Our resort’s staff help maintain this municipal road entrance with the resort’s own equipment as a service to our guests.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Riverbend “resort” (resort term used loosely) for three nights. We rented a two bedroom cabin for the four of us adults staying there. The drive up into the resort is through a gravel road and many RV’s, then on to a paved road, past a couple “Yurts” and more RV’s. We rented a two bedroom cabin for the four of us adults staying there. The cabins looked ok and rustic from the outside, but were dated once inside with minimal coffee and tea supplies. The bedrooms were small and cozy and there was some nice ambiance from all the visible raw logs inside the rooms and cabin. The beds were the smaller “double” size, not “queen” size, so for two adults they were rather uncomfortable and small. The bathroom had minimal toiletries provided, two rolls of one ply toilet paper, two small travel size shampoo containers and one mini soap. The towels were awful! They were warn and looked used and old. There were four small bath towels and two wash clothes provided for the 4 of us for three days, no housekeeping provided to us.
We did notice that the web site portrays a very nice image, one that is much different than when you are actually in the land of RV's that is this place, similar to a trailer park with cabins.
Also, we visited friends and family with children who stayed in the main lodge as it accommodated a much larger group. The main lodge was also rustic and had two separate bedrooms on the bottom level with two double beds and a bunk bed for kids, upstairs there were four beds that could have also been used. We had a few meals there and spent the evenings there as there was a decent side deck. There was a small tv (a newer flat screen but cheep brand) but didn’t seem to work very well. The fridge was a nice stainless steel looking model, but appeared to get the best of a few peoples fists as it was clearly dented all over the freezer door. The lodge did have nice new stone tiled floors. The highlight to our experience at the Riverbend resort was on our last day, we were originally promised a 15% discount at time of check out, because we had a very large group of people staying and we prepaid our bill ahead of time (Don’t do this here!) They recalculated our bill, after we had paid for it! And charged us a $10 per person per night fee over their “double occupancy” per cabin and 4 people per lodge “rule”. So for us, we rented the two bedroom cabin and had four adults in the cabin, well… they charged us and extra $20 per night. In the main lodge, they even charge the children the same $10 each per night, they were 4 and 6 1/2 years old!
So this additional fee, nullified anything close to the 15% we were to receive back after they confirmed we brought our large group along to stay.
The final cake topper to this weekend was on the morning were cleaning up before our check out time. We were going through the lodge top to bottom doing a once through and came across two OPEN containers of RAT POISEN! NO JOKE.
This wasn’t the black plastic rat trap boxes where rats go in and die, this was open boxes of rat poison, where many small children had been playing and would have and may still sleep in the future.
Needless to say, we will NEVER go back here and we’ll be happy to let anyone we know travelling to the area know never to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildernessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

Our management followed up with this family reunion’s organizer with a letter detailing the billing and later spoke to her personally on the phone about their reunion group’s billing and their comments on Trip Advisor. The reunion organizer admitted on the phone that after reviewing our letter that the final billing was correct after all and confirmed that they did received the 15% discount as promised. As a service, we have offered her a free stay for the misunderstanding.

Please note, that it is a normal hospitality industry standard to have a base occupancy for each accommodation, and in our case either 2, or 4 guest occupancy per cottage, then to charge additional costs for additional guests. These charges were noted on our website at the time. We have since entirely redesigned our website in the attempt to make these industry standard charges clearer to our resort guests. Further we are striving to ensure all our resort staff better explain these charges & all billing charges in general. We regret this misunderstanding by this reunion group, but it’s important to the resort to ensure that the group’s final billing was correct, and as promised.

To the comment about poison in our accommodation, NO rat poison was present as noted. The resort has also made extra efforts to better secure resort areas that are off limits to resort guests & their children.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I went to this resort(if you could really call it that) with my family. We had a large group, about 70 of us, so we rented a lot of sites and cabins. First off, they double booked our original date that we had set. That's alright, these things happen, but having to rebook the date two months after we has setvthe date was really inconvenient for us. A few people could no longer make it because of this.so that was disappointing. When we got there we arrived at our cabin and it looked really nice,untill we got inside. The furnishings were out of the 70's. The bathroom was quite brutal. There was barley enough towels for the 4 of us. The water pressure was almost non existent. We asked the front desk where we can park. They told us to the left of the cabin. So we parked there, just after we got unloaded and settled,we were told by another staff member that we have to move our cars because we were parked on the picnic table area. Soooo..we had to park our cars a ways away from our cabin, WTF? The kitchenettes was stocked with mismatched cutlery and plates/bowls etc. The tv's control buttons were broken.the floor creaked all over the place and the beds were too small for double occupancy. The light bulbs were a mixture of soft white and cool white CFL's. Just looked weird and were hard on the eyes. They say they have free wifi, but the signal was so weak(even beside the office) that it was basically useless. The stairway down to the river was rickety and needed repairs. I can safely say that would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmxfolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

We are disappointed to read some of the comments from your stay. Since your stay last summer we have been focusing on improving our cottage accommodations for our guests.

Since last summer for our cottages we have installed two entirely new kitchens, a number with new carpets, televisions, furniture and window blinds. One cottage has all new outside cedar siding installed, new carpets and fully repainted inside. We also been working through all our accommodations to try to find and repair those issues that can get missed. From your comments, we have been replacing all incandescent & CFL lighting regardless of condition to new standardized soft white CFLs. Since last summer we have also installed a new commercial Meraki WIFI wireless internet system that has been providing a quality WIFI signal to our guests, resort wide.

We are not done yet, as we are committed to continuously update and improve our resort for the comfort and convenience of our guests.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We made a reservation to stay for a few nights over a long weekend, and could not have been more disspointed. Although they were well aware we had a dogs and kids, they put us first in walk in campground (down a steep hill by the river). We checked out the other tent camping sites we were offered after arguing over the walk in site, which were absolutly horrible, side by side so close you could hear your neighbours wispering. No trees or anything for tarps, no campfire ring, and directly across from the septic feild. It took about 1/2 an hour to check in and pay, as they were so dissorganized, and we ended up leaving early we were so disspointed. I have a reservation charge on my credit card, that dispite 4 calls now over 3 months to be removed (as I paid in full once I arrived) is still there. Don't waste your time, the pictures on the website are beyond decieving!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

We are very disappointed to read of your experience tenting at our resort. Our river side walk-in sites are our most desirable and sought after sites, as they are right on the shore of Englishman river. Being the summer, our most busy time of the year, your check-in could have been longer then usual, and we apologize for this inconvenience. The current manager would like you to call and speak to him, so he can investigate this billing issue you noted.

We want to ensure we have done our jobs well and our guests are happy with their choice of Riverbend.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This was our first stay at Riverbend, although not our first visit. The last time was five years ago, when we checked it out as a possible alternative to the Rathtrevor Campground across the road. At the time we were pleasantly surprised: a private, unassuming camp with sites nestling in between lots and lots of trees.
This time, the first thing to greet us was a fence shield a space of several acres cleared of the trees, to make way for more RVs. The older part of the camp, near the office and other facilities, also has far fewer trees than before, and RVs were parked cheek-by-jowl. Shame that, in their bid to cash in space rentals, the owners have forgotten that when people go on holiday, they don't want to stay in a used RV sales lot.
On the bright side, the staff in the office were friendly. The office building is a spacious log-cabin with comfy seats, coffee by donation, books to read, flat-screen TV, and free Wi-Fi internet for campers, which is open till 9pm. There are washrooms and showers ($2 for 8 mins), a steel kitchen sink for washing dishes (good call), and a playground for small children. Of course, the biggest plus is the river itself, about thirty or forty feet down the slope: mostly shallow, gentle current, with sections deep enough for swimming and even small feet-first dives, it occupies children for hours and hours – in this respect, much better value than Rathtrevor, even though the camp itself is not nearly as attractive.
In the end, the good points outweigh the bad. We probably will return, mainly thanks to the river. Leave your bikes at home, unless you want to cycle around Parksville and the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hither-and-Yon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbend_Resort, Owner at Riverbend Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your visit to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages, and your comments on Trip Advisor. At Riverbend we are continuously improving our resort, and guest feedback helps guide our efforts.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our resort, and with such nice comments.

We do have an extensive forest of trees, and we have been expanding the resort in recent years. What we have learned over the years, trees need to be managed as we are a public place, and this includes trimming and even removing trees that could cause issues for our guests. In addition we have geared the RV site trees for two types of RV guests, short-term RV holiday guests and longer term RV guests who stay with us year round. For the longer term guests, fewer trees are actually more desirable due to increased summer sunshine, and reduced pine cones falling during the winter months. Even still we have literally hundreds of very tall fir and cedar trees resort-wide, and consider them one of our resort’s greatest assets.

We would like to thank you again for your comments, and hope to have you return to Riverbend RV Resort and Cottages very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We chose this place because we were looking for somewhere that could fit up to 10 people, and the lodge fit the bill. I got a bit worried when I got a phone call a few days after I booked over concerns we were planning on having a big party. I guess it is not common to book for one night. I had to assure them that this was not the case, but it made me quite worried about what we were to expect.
Luckily, once we arrived, we were warmly welcomed. The lodge was perfect - clean, homey and definitely roomy enough for 10 people. Wish we had more time to spend there. There was coffee made in the morning in the office next door and they even bought us doughnuts! Would definitely not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
2.1 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#10 of 13 in Parksville
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
2 mi away
Paradise Acres Ranch
Paradise Acres Ranch
#1 of 2 in Nanoose Bay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Resort

Address: 1-924 Island Hwy E, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 1R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Parksville
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend RV Resort & Cottages, situated on 16 Acres of wooded parkland on the Englishman River with one of the nicest sandy beaches on the river.Just off highway, minutes from Parksville, beaches, golf, spas, restaurants and shopping. We have 15 fully equipped cottages. Over 100 RV sites that can accommodate up to a 40' trailer, or 45' motorhome. Tenting sites located along the river. Riverbend, the perfect spot to launch your exploration of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverbend Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing