We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs and uncaring management”
Review of Sea Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs and uncaring management”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We recently stayed for a week at the Sea Edge Motel for a family reunion (we rented 8 units). The location on the beach was great, and the kids area and lawn were wonderful, however, on the second to last day we discovered BED BUGS. One of the beds was infested. A dead bug and blood was found on a sheet, and lots of bed bug poop (black pepper like substance) on the boxspring. We then searched all of our beds. Two members of our party had obvious bites around the ankles (bed bugs especially bite in rows of three - like breakfast, lunch, and dinner), a few bug corpses were found along with the tell tale pepper-like stuff.

We immediately told the office. They offered to change our sheets. They seemed completely unfazed or concerned. In fact, to directly quote the front desk person, "how do we know they didn't come in on YOUR bags?"

They offered to relocate us, but a search of a bed in a new room showed a black rimmed boxspring - again. When we expressed concern that we were being put into another room with bed bugs we were told that the black gunk was in fact, not bugs. I guess filth is fine then.

I get that Bed Bugs are a scourge, and can get around, but motels/hotels should at least be aware of the possibility of BBs. It was infuriating that the staff showed complete indifference and even insulted us by insinuating that we were the ones who infected THEM (although it was obvious the critters had been there awhile and half the beds had bed bug covers on them - indicating, contrary to the staff's "surprise" about the existence of bed bugs, that they'd either been a problem before, or at least had been a concern,

We spent half a day drying all our clothes in the dryers to kill off any potential carriers. Ugh. It was a terrible ending to an "okay" stay.

Definately would NOT recommend this motel. Not unless you bring a tent and sleep on the grass.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here from August 18 - 21. We stayed with our parents and brother & sister-in-law. In total there were 6 adults and 4 kids staying in three separate units. We had a ground floor room which opened onto the grounds and the beach. The property is old (circa late 1950) and has very basic amenities. It is a classic two story motel style with exterior stairs to the second level from the parking lot. Some units have a separate bedroom and there is a wing of units with two bedrooms each. The bathrooms are very basic (toilet, sink, tub with shower) and the fixtures are older. The decor is also older. The property is kept very clean, but has not been modernized at all. There is a sandy play area with some swings and climbing equipment for kids, but again, this is older. There are also 4 communal fire pits for use and free firewood. There is free WiFi, but the speed is somewhat slow.
The significant amenity for this motel is its location: it is right on the beach and right downtown in Parksville. Everything is within walking distance. The beach is very good and very wide, especially at low tide. The water is warm, especially in the tidal pools and there is plenty of opportunity for kites, digging in the sand, frisbee, etc.
If you are looking for a beach activity type of stay without a lot of extra features, this hotel would work for you. We found the price quite reasonable for what we wanted to achieve with this vacation. However, if you are a higher-end hotel goer with an expectation for fine finishes, new bathrooms, king size beds, new decor, spa, hot tub, poll, etc. then this is not the location for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a groundfloor room. These open directly onto the grounds and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

What A Wonderfull Find. The Layout Of The Room Was Spacious And It Included All The Required Aminieties (Two Burner Stove,Fridge,Microwave,Dishes,Teapot,Coffee Maker,Extra Pillows,Extra Towels).You Walk Right Out On Too A Lovely Green Lawn And The Sandy Beach Is Right There Just A Few Step From Your Front Door.We Found It To Be Quite And Staff Were Very Friendly And Helpfull.We Will Always Return There When We Stay In Parksville. Price Is Very Affordable And The Motel Is Situated Close To All Aminieties And Just A Short Drive To Other Wonderful Island Destinations (Tofino, Port Hardy Comox,Etc.)I Really Wanted To Keep This Little Find To Myself. Happy Travels, Carolyn

Room Tip: Bottom floor easy access to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travepartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Every room faces out towards the beach, with the ocean and beautiful mountains in the background. You can walk away out during low tide and there is a boardwalk that goes toward the town center. Although the rooms are old, they are very well looked after. The manager has been there for 30 years and she is excellent. You can enjoy fires in a safe place on the beach. The town is very pleasant and has good shopping and restaurants. For readers there is an amazing used book store you could get lost in. We found some enjoyable natural places nearby to go for walks including the estuary and the Englishman River Falls. Our room was well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilbert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

What a nice little motel ! You could not get any closer to the water .Very clean,32" flat screen TV, Queen size bed & couch with a small kitchen .There was pot's and pans,everything you need to cook a small meal .Great view & at night you can hear the sound of the waves.sheets were clean,bathtub was big and hot water instant.
My mode of transportation is a motorcycle,so it was nice to park right in front of the door.
In my opinion(good bang for the buck ) I paid $ 90.00 dollars per night in the month of June.staff was friendly

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrips154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Like countless others we stay at the Sea Edge in the same room, at the same time time every year. We stay in a one room unit on ground level. This is usually the quieter side of the motel. Families with children usually stay in the one bedrooms on the other side. There is a playground for the kids, and a huge lawn for bocci ball. The room is always clean and staff very friendly. There is a picnic table on the lawn outside our front door. You can read your book, visit with your neighbours, or head to the beach. Prior to staying at the Sea Edge I did a tour of many of the motels in the area and consider the Sea Edge to be the best value for the money..The beach is beautiful. Parksville is a great tourist spot for nature lovers. Qualicum and Englishman River Falls are beautiful

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parksvillefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Had a great time the two weeks we were here visiting my family. Service was good and the rooms were excelent (had been recentely re-done head to toe including new beds), the rate were on-par with the other hotels in town but the veiw was par none. The choice of not having maid service made the stay more econimical, and they still brought us new towles everyday. I am looking forward to my week vacation i was able to book there in the summer. Loved everthing about the hotel and the town.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy_H28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.7 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#10 of 13 in Parksville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Edge Motel

Property: Sea Edge Motel
Address: 209 West Island Highway | PO Box 209, Parksville, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2G4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Edge Motel Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing