We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to decide!”

Taste Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #18 of 100 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, American, Cafe, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“hard to decide!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

loved the atmosphere ~ cozy yet refined... loved the welcome and the attentive service... didn't love having to chose from such wonderful sounding options... had the beef dip, and i loved it!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islanddiner, Director of Sales at Taste Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you TK!
We loved having you and always enjoy positive feed back. Hope to see you soon;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not interested in helping”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On recommendation of this site we stopped on a recent trip Up-Island.

As noted before, it is a small place, maybe seven or eight tables (including outside). Six were full and two empty, but not yet cleaned. The staff member informed us it was at least 20 minutes before they could clean them and questioned if we really wanted to stay. We hung around and read the menu and retrieved something from the car. When we returned she looked surprised and said it really was busy and the food would be slow and questioned if it was really worth the wait.

I would not have been surprised if she escorted us to our car and told us to piss off. Very unwelcoming. I will not try again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islanddiner, Director of Sales at Taste Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are a small establishment and during busy periods we are forced to sometimes give a wait time. We operate mostly on a reservation only basis during peak hours. In this case we stated 20 minutes because the empty tables you were mentioning were already spoken for. I assure you we value all customers and pride our selves on giving an honest accurate wait time, to avoid holding up your valuable time or conflicting with dietary needs. I assure you this was a misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice little place”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a nice little restaurant. There is not much selection if you are a looking for a simple summer salad or you were looking to watch your carb intake. What they do have is good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very delicious lunch!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I popped in for a late lunch today. We shared a French Press beef dip and each had a bowl of yummy chicken noodle soup.
The beef dip had a different twist from the usual. Fresh mushrooms, green onions and mozzarella cheese with a light horseradish mayo.Yum! We were told that the fish tacos had all been eaten but this choice instead, more than made up for it.

Our server was a delight. Upbeat, she happily moved among the filled tables, refreshing water and asking if there was anything else she could bring you..

We'll be back for sure and will save room for the fantastic dessert selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small place, BIG flavors!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Visited taste over the weekend, it was suggested by a friend that we make a reservation (noted that they are not required) but so glad we did. We were pleasantly greeted and sat at our reserved table, menus and cloth napkins waiting with fresh ice water. With so many delicious lunch options, I chose the pulled pork grilled cheese which was the lunch special and my friends had the waffle Blt and fish tacos. After a few bites we decided that we MUST share and try each others lunches, so glad we did! Then onto dessert, although we were all so stuffed, we decided to try the black Forrest parfait and one of their featured VQA wines... amazing!!!! Will be back for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank Happybelly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Taste Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing