We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Awesome view of the beach, nice condo. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Overall a very nice place to stay. The pool wasn't open for the season yet but we made use of the hot tub and sauna. It's a great family place to stay and the rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TaraScotteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    125
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
234
139
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very helpful and friendly management, very comfortable apartment, beautiful outlook, and easy access to a number of excellent restaurants, the beach and great walks. We would love to return, and recommend Ocean Sands to any traveller wishing to enjoy the "Riviera of Vancouver Island"

Room Tip: Upstairs units with view of the rockies is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KirstenW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We travelled up from Victoria for a long weekend with our family. Our son found Ocean Sands on the Internet and booked, not knowing quite what to expect. We had a lovely apartment with a balcony overlooking the water, a magical view. The apartment exceeded our expectations, very well furnished, lovely fireplace and plenty of room with 4 adults and 2 children. the kitchen had plenty of dishes and cooking utensils and the living room was so light and airy. The management team were welcoming and lent the children their own DVD's, as we had forgotten ours. We were expecting the weather to be changeable, but overall we had sun, and amazingly saw a bald eagle retrieve a fish from the water and devour it right in front of us. a few hours were spent enjoying the walk along this beautiful beach. Ocean Sands pool opens nearer the summer which would be great for the children. Overall very good value, clean comfortable and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Asked for a room overlooking the water on a upper floor. There is an elevator outside the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New-Horizons14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a great time at the Ocean Sands and were very impressed with our suite. The service was friendly and accommodating and the managers went out of their way to make it a great visit. Would definitely recommend the resort and will most certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JKRSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

A group of 13 recently stayed in several units. They were all clean, well maintained, beautiful and comfortable. The full-kitchen units were well-stocked with dishes, and the one studio suite was perfect for the guest who had chosen that one. The location - right on the beach - wow, the greatest! The grounds are very well kept. From first inquiries about booking for our group, through check-in and our stay, Darcy and Kristy were great. Their website has photos of the units so you can see each one - and they are as good as they look for sure. I, and I know my group members, will definitely be back to stay at the Ocean Sands Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our sports team spent the weekend at Ocean Sands Resort while we took part in a tournament. Even before we arrived the Managers Darcy and Kristy went above and beyond to ensure that each family had a suite that suited their needs. When we arrived we received the same excellent service and they even opened the pool early to accommodate all of our kids. The room we had was perfect for our family, it was clean and well stocked and the view was amazing. The grounds were pristine and large enough to accommodate our team BBQ, even with approximately 50 people. The only negative, was that we could only spend a couple of days there. We will definitely be back soon and appreciate everything that Darcy and Kristy did for us all.

Room Tip: Each room is privately owned and has different sleeping options, including some rooms with bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJPVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We didn't have the best of weather, but it didn't matter. The general appearance of the site where is is so well maintained goes a long way.

The views are fantastic, along with the amenities and helpfulness of the staff.

Excellent value for money, recommended.

Room Tip: Try & get one on the cliff edge where you will be rewarded by the most fantastic sunrise (weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Trails Resort
Ocean Trails Resort
#1 of 9 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing