We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Annual Vacation Spot!”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our third year back at the resort and we were once again very pleased with the unit, the cleanliness and the amenities it provided for our family. It was so nice to enjoy watching our children play in the grass from our unit, there is no space like it we have seen before. The service was fantastic, the price was in our budget range, the beach was very accessible and our children were able to make a lot of new friends, including the resident bunnies!

Room Tip: Unit #32 is very modern and clean and has a fair amount of storage for dry goods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

As always, Ocean Sands was a great place for our family to meet for a vacation together. 3 families go up & we each get our own unit which works out well for the teens that wish to stay up later & sleep in more. We get together for shared meals & all go down for fires on the beach. Kristy & Darcy are the best managers going. They work so hard to keep everyone happy. I can't give enough acolades to them. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Lower ones can have a propane bbq. The upstairs ones, most have electric bbq's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a great stay, the condo's are set up so that everyone has a great view. The unit we were in had a nice layout and was very clean, however, it was probably time for some paint in the near future. The caretakers were very nice and made every effort to accomodate the guests at all hours. We were there for a hockey tournament and I will make every effort to stay in the same unit at the resort next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a perfect spot to stay on the East Coastline. The facilities were great and the cost very affordable. The staff was very accommodating, even upgraded us at no cost from a studio to a full condo with a separate bedroom and a panoramic view of the beach, water and mountains. Loved every minute here. The beach was easily accessible and we walked forever on the beach during low tide. Amazing. We will be staying here every time we make it to the Island. Thanks Ocean Sands!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 302, see if it's available when you're looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have stayed in other resorts on this beach. Ocean Sands offers all I could want and is very competitively priced . It is now my choice of the resorts along the beach. Staff was very helpful and approachable. The grounds well kept. Breathtaking views, quiet and relaxing.
The bathroom could have used a fresh coat of paint and there was a little mildew on the ceiling of the shower.
I am looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

This was a great getaway. We booked an oceanfront condo and it was well worth it. We walked onto the beach and the beach went on for miles at low tide. There were sand dollars and shells and warm tide pools. It was relaxing and still great fun for the kids. The view from the living room was picture perfect. My youngest child actually thought this was better than going to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The condo had every necessity for a family holiday and was spacious, clean and comfortable. Well tended grassy lawns, a small playground and pool are readily accessible. An elevator is available that can take the family down to a short walkway to the beach...and what a beach. Miles of sand for the kids to romp and buils castles. The staff was friendly and helpful. highly recommend for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caesar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parksville
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
571 reviews
3 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 1165 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Parksville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parksville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Price Range: £72 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Parksville
Ocean Sands Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing