We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food but in a time warp”
Review of Kalvas Restaurant

Kalvas Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Parksville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kalvas is a classy, upscale log cabin with dark wood tables and a warm atmosphere. The semi-circular building offers almost every table a view from large windows. The focus of Kalvas is on the dining experience and the quality of the selections on the menu. Specializing in seafood and premium meats such as AAA Alberta Beef and Island Springs Lamb, Kalvas offers high-quality meals at reasonable prices.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok food but in a time warp”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We tried Kalvas because of the recommendations on trip advisor. It was like eating in the eighties. It was also confusing - Greek sounding name, steak and seafood tag line, note German influence more than anything. Hearty portions, heavy sauces, but nothing exceptional here. The service was good on a busy summer's night, but not somewhere we would go back to.

Helpful?
Thank SQ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalvas, Owner at Kalvas Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for coming to Kalva’s and for providing your comments, which we seriously consider. I am the chef and owner of Kalva’s, and kept the name when I took it over from its original German owner about 7 years ago. And yes, there are a few old favorites kept because regulars want them. Yet there are constant improvements made to update our business while retaining that casual yet upscale dining experience in the Parksville/Qualicum Beach area.My staff and I are always looking at ways to improve guest experiences: our extensive menu changes every few months, plus daily specials include new dishes. We have built a reputation on serving the best steaks and local seafood at the lowest price locally, and serving real food made from fresh ingredients. Lastly, we go all out to accommodate individual guest food preferences. I sincerely invite you again to my restaurant to show you what else we could do to entice your palate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    93
    37
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parksville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best for seafood and top quality steaks.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I dine here more than once a week and I am never disappointed with the service or cusine. I love going on Friday's for the tenderest prime rib dinner anywhere!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A seasoned restaurant that does not disappoint.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently visited, on a Sunday evening. It was busy, but with the highly professional wait staff, service was still attentive, prompt, knowledgable, and friendly. We have been to Kalvas 5 or 6 times over the years, with and without our children, and it is consistently good, and enjoyed by all. The food this time was hot and delicious, and prepared with some flair. The value for our dollar was certainly good, and the wine pricing was also reasonable. There was a good selection of affordable wine choices. We most certainly will return on our next visit to Parksville.
Our only suggestion would be for the owner to spend a few $ and spruce up his landscaping...it is not indicative of the rest of the restaurant, and might put some people off.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David_S154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful food.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A great place to eat. The service was warm, friendly and efficient and the food was superb.
Would not hesitate to recommend eating here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great food and wonderful service!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have had dinner at Kalvas many times over the past few years. The food is always excellent and the servers are always friendly. The prawn and scallop skillet is my personal favorite. This is by far the best restraunt in the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieCooke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalvas Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kalvas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing