We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Baker Street

Baker Street
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I was made to feel like a criminal when a Bylaw Enforcement Officer of the city of Nelson told me that I couldn't walk my dogs in the downtown area. Whereas most places are becoming more pet-friendly, Nelson is the opposite. Being kicked out of downtown with my two little dogs was one of the worst travel experiences I've had. I will certainly never visit Nelson again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank inezlucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    85
    27
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Walk back in time to hippies, 1970's and grunge!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just sit and people watch. Many of the the youngsters and oldies dress in tie dyed tea shirts, sport pony tails ( men) demonstrate a very odd dress sense including kaftans and crushed velvet trousers or just sit on the pavement and strum guitars. A strong smell of "weed" pervades the air. For half a mo you think you are back at the Isle of Wight pop and rock festival circa 1971 - but no you are in Nelson!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“You're not welcome if you have a dog”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have noticed that most RV owners have a dog with them, maybe two or three. Nelson has proved to be the most dog unfriendly town we've visited! Wow. The town park stretches for three km along the river--dog unfriendly. One end is dogs on leash for a short part (no grass) and the dogs off leash is the gravel path along the airstrip. There are very few outside areas to sit at cafes (with your dog) and one sidewalk actually had a dog picture with a line through it, as in "no dogs" Come on! This is an arty community and I would have enjoyed looking at a few more stores and galleries, but Dave and I couldn't spell each other off in suitable dog friendly areas. So, we will move on. We learned later that you can be fined if you have a dog with you on Baker St. Outrageous. Yet, there is no information offered to that effect unless you hear from someone or get stopped by the bylaw officer. We wouldn't have come if we knew we weren't welcome with our dog. And we will tell our travelling friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“SHOP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

wonderful variety of shops pleasant helpful service everywhere we went from clothing to gifts to grocery shops. Love this town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vibrant and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Loved browsing the shops on Baker, friendly people and beautiful, funky town. Great shopping, coffee shops, bakeries and restaurants.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheilaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baker Street also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing