We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kokanee Glacier Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly unique experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very friendly, very clean, quiet, affordable family run accommodations. Pleasant staff at free breakfast, and owners showed care and attention. Pet friendly, children friendly, beautiful grounds. Wasn't sure how to get to beach area and a bit sketchy crossing the highway with children and dog. Nice playground on property. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Main level facing playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AngieM379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Kokanee Glacier Resort has a great view of the lake and our room was a one-bedroom suite. It was nice having a kitchen/sitting/dining area separate from the bedroom. Cooking and eating utensils are provided. Though the complex is a bit older, it is clean and cared for. Very pleasant and helpful staff made us feel welcome. A gas barbecue provided us both the opportunity to grill a steak and to meet other guests. A small gravel beach can be accessed across the highway from the resort. The resort has lawn chairs, gazebo and playing field (if you are so inclined). Breakfast includes fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins, three or four types of bread to toast, granola, and Molly is more than happy to make an omelette for you. Or, you can toast a frozen waffle.

Hiking trails are a short drive away, as is the provincial park (picnic area and sandy beach). Sit and relax on the resort grounds or use the resort as a base to explore the Nelson region.

The resort is pet friendly and those travellers with dogs were given rooms closer to a large grassy area, separate from a play field and a couple of fields facing the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outboundticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went looking for a weekend getaway in nearby Nelson BC. What a delightful place! Beautiful quiet picturesque! Small clean updated room. Comfortable bed, Small kitchenette for our picnic supplies. Good thing the A/C worked well because temps were in the upper 90s. Nice breakfast served each morning. Resort had kayaks for us to use right off their beach. Lots of quiet space to sit and read while taking in all the spectacular mountain & lake scenery. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Excellent value. Great owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My contact with Shaun, the owner, began before we arrived. I was expecting an important package which was sent by UPS. It arrived a couple of days before we did. Shaun took the initiative to call me to let me know it had arrived and assured me it'd be at the desk when I got there. He was and it was.

The minute we arrived we sensed the nice relaxing atmosphere of the place. It's a nice change from the usual franchise places one often encounters. We had a one bedroom with living room and kitchen for our two-night stay. All very comfortable and spotless; it's very well maintained. This might sound strange but one of our favorite parts of the place was the shower with its very generous flow of water, a nice contrast to all-too-many places nowadays.

The grounds are very suitable for young children and families. There is a neat tree deck, like a tree house without walls and a roof, built under a large, beautiful spruce where you can sit and relax.

Molly, who takes care of running the breakfast room, does a great job. She's very friendly and also makes a very nice omelet. We enjoyed our chat with her the two mornings we were there. (She'll probably ask you to be sure to put a pin in the map to show where you are from, too.)

To sum up, I'd say a visit there is very much like visiting a good friend's nice lake house. Very relaxing and comfortable.

Room Tip: All have similar views except the end ones closest to the lake. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room we got had lots of room. Two bedrooms and a kitchenette. The view from the porch was amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed my morning coffees on the porch!!
It's very pet friendly and the free breakfast has lots to choose from.
It was so good we booked it for next year!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinFamily1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Manager at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Martin Family,

Thank you for the great review! It is always a pleasure to welcome such upbeat genuine people. I enjoyed our conversations about your ties to the Nelson area.

We always like to remind people that we only ask for 48 hours prior to arrival date for any cancellations so it is never to early to book for next Summer.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived in Nelson late, called Resort for room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. From the minute we called until the minute we left the resort we truly felt welcomed and valued. It is an older resort, however it is easy to see that much effort has been put in to maintaining it. Breakfast was provided. Molly keeps the dining area very clean and spotless, doing her best to welcome and serve you. It was so great to see the effort this resort puts into providing an awesome service to its guests. We highly recommend it and look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Manager at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you Sandra B! It was a pleasure meeting you both.
It is very important to us to build long term relationships with all of our guests so I am glad to hear you say you will return.
Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, 2 suites. The rooms were clean, a little dated for the price but my family of 7 still loved it. The veiws during the day and at night were beautiful. The outside area was clean, nicely kept. Had a play area for our grandson. It was mnice I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun C, Manager at Kokanee Glacier Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello Dawn C,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Kokanee glacier Resort.
We are a very popular choice for families in the Summer season as we have a large, private and very safe property that is perfect for kids to run and play.
As well as the playground area you have mentioned, kids (and adults) also enjoy basketball, soccer, bocce, football and most other sporting activities. Having almost 3 acres of usable outdoor area along with a great beach for swimming (directly across the road) allows our guests to actually enjoy and stay active while they are here instead of always having to seek their daily enjoyment off site. We see many of the same families year after year and we hope to welcome back your family next year for another great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
6.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
667 reviews
6.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokanee Glacier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Glacier Resort

Property: Kokanee Glacier Resort
Address: 2615 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kokanee Glacier Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking view of the Kootenay Lake, only an eight minute drive to the city of Nelson, and close to the Kokanee Glacier Park. The Kokanee Glacier Resort is an excellent starting point for exploring the best of the Kootenays. Comfortable air conditioned suites complete with private bedroom(s), kitchens and many other amenities make this the perfect family vacation destination, or just a great overnight visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Kokanee Glacier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing