We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest patio!”
Review of Bibo

Bibo
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: BiBO serves modern bistro fare, rustic Italian, fresh, creative, European inspired comfort food along with a wide variety of exciting wines in an intimate dining room in historic Malone Manor on Hall and Herridge Lane, Nelson’s favorite destination.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nicest patio!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Food was great, but the setting and atmosphere on the patio made this meal for us. Service was great too with our server making some good wine recommendations. They claim to have the world's best sangria but it definitely wasn't memorable. Pretty watered down and disappointing. The rest of the meal fantastic! I'll definitely come back, but will pass on the sangria.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenn_boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your experience at BiBO.

We really would have rather made you a new sangria so that you could have fully enjoyed it.
I suspect yours happened to have a little too much soda which made us adjust the recipe to omit it.

I have had sangria everywhere and ours is hands down the best as everyone that drinks it can attest to. Our guests constantly confirm this.

When you come back I owe you a sangria! Let me know.

June
250-509-1990
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    73
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Bibo was highly recommended to us and we went with great enthusiasm. I thought it was pricey for what we got. Local wine need not be $11.50 a glass!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CapilanoLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We do use the best quality, organic or local or hormone free ingredents while ensuring good value as well as having delicious dishes at a variety of price ranges. What our guests want to spend is up to them.

Our wine is available in all price ranges starting at $7 and there are great BC wines that are around $8 glass. It's really up to our guests which wine they choose as we keep a variety of wines open at any given time and are willing to open wines if guests would like to try them. We prefer to do this rather than have the same house wines available as it allows our guests to try new wines and more variety.

Thanks for coming in and if you come back we'd be happy to steer you in the direction of some of those really great and lower priced BC wines.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“This patio is fantastic!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

You will love this patio. It's tucked away in the shade on the side of a hill. We were visitors to Nelson and went out for appetizers, a drink and some dessert. The service was great and the food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetwentyeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed and thank you for your review.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hot and Happy Meal at Bibo”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Bibo. It was a very hot, July night and people were only seated at outdoor tables on the patio. It's quiet at Bibo--far enough from Baker Street that the traffic doesn't penetrate. The restaurant is shaded by beautiful, huge maple trees. We decided to eat tapas style and share. Everything that we ordered was superb. We especially enjoyed the wild rice cake with tempura avocado (!) and tzaziki. Also recommend the duck tostadas with blueberry preserve and goat cheese. So yummy. Everything we ordered was delicious. The meal was beautifully prepared but not overly processed (no trendy foams). Just pure flavors skillfully blended. We had eaten a very disappointing meal for twice as much at one of the "best" restaurants in Calgary a few weeks ago and were hugely disappointed. This was simply one of the best meals that I have eaten in ages. And the service was also great--a charming, helpful waiter timed everything well. Oh and I can't forget the desert--a lemon tart with fresh berries and a perfect custard and crust. Would go back in a second.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank terranow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are so glad you appreciated your experience with us and hope to see you again.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Fairy Tale at Nelson”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful, small, little tasteful restaurant.
Great people, great food. amazing home made ice tea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erenimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiBONelson, Owner at Bibo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed BiBO and thank you for your lovely review!

June McEwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bibo also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing