We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel but is it worth the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Nice sized rooms, decent work out room and hot tub but no pool. No included breakfast. Great location on Baker Street. Very good in house restaurant and within walking distance of many restaurants, shops and cafes. Given the price i would expect breakfast to be included and that imo is what knocks this down a peg from a 4 out of 5. If budget is not a concern, this is the Nelson hotel for you. If it is a concern, then it still might be worth the splurge as it has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel is not right downtown, but close enough to walk. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were nice, clean, average sized and sound-proof. The beds were comfortable; water pressure was fairly low. Parking was ample and free. Room had a flat screen TV with cable.

Our view was of a courtyard, not the mountains. It didn't have granite countertops in the bathrooms which I expected in a higher priced Best Western "Plus." There wasn't even a continental breakfast, but there was a restaurant one site, but we waited quite awhile for our food despite it not being busy. Very nice place, but for the money, it's not the best value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank theseoldroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A pleasant surprise, both dog friendly and handicap accessible room. Great to see a place that actually has "room" for a wheelchair, unlike those that just advertise handicap accessible and place a grab bar by the toilet, the washroom here was excellent for a mobility challenged individual. Great restaurant, right on site. Too bad no breakfast included, but great to be downton with all the shops and easy access to them. Great staff, friendly and helpful, treated us and our two small dogs great. A little pricey but a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: A truly Wheelchair accessible hotel-one of a few that actually live up to what they advertise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sal and Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed over the September long weekend and had a very enjoyable visit. The hotel was very clean, updated and had great access within the community. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was very good. Sunday morning was busier and the service a little slower as they also do a full brunch mid morning. Hot tub was good and the jets were strong! Didn't see any pool. Fitness centre look good but we didn't use it. Great Stay! Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here one night largely because we always stay at Best Westerns since they are usually pretty decent. This hotel is no exception, and is quite nice inside, clean, and located on a street with lots of shops, etc. However, it was kind of pricey for what you got, and did not include breakfast, which added an extra $45 to the experience for my family with 4 members making it that much more expensive compared to most Best Westerns that include breakfast. Also no pool just a hottub (or so I was told at the desk) which disappointed the kids, and while I didn't ask, my reservation did not say there was free WIFI so if that is important to you then you should ask. So overall, just OK for this place, and I would probably try somewhere else next time I was in Nelson.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 987xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here for three nights in August 2011. The hotel is located at the west end of Baker street, less than a 5 min walk to plenty of shops and restaraunts. The room was clean and comfortable, with two queen sized beds. Hotel amenities included a well equipped fitness center, hot tub and restaraunt. WiFi was included and worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanWot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here on a long weekend getaway. Perfect location with easy access to amazing golfing, hiking, mountain biking kayaking, and great food!!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £83 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From majestic mountain views to rich history, Nelson is equally adored by outdoor enthusiasts and lovers of art and culture. As the only full-service hotel located on downtown Nelson's famous Baker Street, the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring all that Nelson has to offer. This eclectic British Columbia town attracts visitors from all walks of life. From Selkirk College students to artists drawn to a thriving arts and culture scene, nearly everyone converges on Baker Street for its unique mix of independent shops and restaurants. The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is just steps from the action. For those who crave even more action, Nelson is just a short drive to some of British Columbia's best winter sports spots. The Whitewater Ski Resort is known for having some of the best powder in the world, while Baldface Lodge steps it up a notch with guided snowcat skiing and boarding. Other outdoor enthusiasts can hike, bike and fish at nearby Kootenay Lake, nestled between the Selkirk and Purcell mountain ranges. After a day of play, soak weary bones in the Ainsworth Hot Springs while enjoying spectacular views. If you prefer an indoor soak, head back to your Baker Street hotel and indulge in one of our in-room hot tubs. These amenities include a fitness center and hot tub, free parking in a large lot, kids stay free and the on-site Baker Street Grill, which can satisfy the heartiest of appetites. The convention center space is perfect for a variety of business or special events. And, not only are we Eco-Friendly, but we're pet-friendly too. Come discover why Nelson has earned the reputation as one of BC's premier tourist destinations at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing