We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Good Service (all be it a big slow......but that seems to be a Nelson thing....they are on Island time), comfortable rooms that are very large......I mean like Condo big rooms. WiFi was good, desk, big couch and tv all were perfect. Rooms facing the street get a lot of sun so put on that A/C or your room will roast. Nice to see a fridge to keep your drinks cool. Didnt venture to their restaurant but the location is at the end of the business area of Nelson and only blocks away from everything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street get a lot of sun so put on that A/C or your room will roast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have stayed here a few times now on business and always look forward to my stay here. The rooms I have had are modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff has always been helpfull and accomodating and the restaurant has great food as well but no breakfast is included. Perfectly located on Baker Street gives you the opportunity to take a walk at anytime and find an adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I don't like adjoining rooms so I requested a change and they promptly switched me to a new room. the room was spacious, super clean, which is most important to me, and had a microwave, fridge and desk - i think most if not all of their rooms have these amenities. Brenda at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly - she is what front desk staff should model. Never a "no" or a negative. Location is fabulous, housekeeping is impeccable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RevU4YOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thanks for the wonderful feedback and for mentioning Brenda. She is the newest member of our team and is doing a fantastic job. I will be sure to share your comments with her. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is situated on the main street of this attractive town surrounded by wooded hills. Good reception, early check in. Nice rooms, well appointed, good beds and pillows. small bathrooms. There is a gym and hot tub which are good. Flat screen tv, internet comes and goes a bit. No free breakfast but ajoining restaurant is good, Hotel has it's own car parking across the street. There is short term parking at the front of the hotel for loading/unloading.

Room Tip: There is a lift and views from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I often stay at this wonderful hotel while on business. The front desk are always very warm,knowledgeable and courteous. The rooms are well appointed , very clean and feature very comfortable beds.
On this last trip, a couple in the room above me arrived home from the bar at 4 AM and were very loud, drunk and disruptive. I had contacted the front desk and they dealt with these inconsiderate guests(twice) . Upon check-out , I was asked how my stay was; I have been in the hotel industry myself in the past and realize that every once in a while, inconsiderate guests can be a big problem, (not the hotel's fault if they deal with it properly). I advised the inquiring front desk supervisor that i had been disturbed by the noise from the drunk yahoos in the room above--and the front desk immediately apologized profusely and offered a complimentary breakfast(i declined as I already ate) --or to waive my pet fee .
I had not expected to get anything so this gesture was much appreciated. They will continue to get my business! Well done!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 226oko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This, by far, is the best hotel in the area, with both price and quality. My fiance and I have stayed there about ten plus times in the past year, often just as a nice get away (as we only live forty five minutes away). We spent the past three new years and the night of our engagement at this hotel and enjoyed wonderful room service each and every time.The staff is incredible and accomadating. Love the Sunday brunch at the Baker Street Grill!!

My only complaint-and this is minor, is the cash deposit policy that has recently doubled in the past year or so. From about $100 to $200 per night. As a result of having my credit card information stolen last year at a hotel, I usually choose to use a cash deposit when possible. Since we have stayed at this hotel and have never caused any problems (non partiers, non smokers, non drinkers,etc.),we were informed by one of the ladies at the front desk that we would not have to pay the full deposit during our next visit, however when we arrived that was not the case (as the front desk worker had NO idea who we were, so he was not to blame but I just wish this wasnt promised to us because it resulted in yet another trip to the atm before check in). Again, minor inconvienence, and we look forward to staying at the Best Western many times through the summer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I only stayed overnight and we found our room clean and comfortable. The staff and management were friendly and accommodating in response to an special request that I had.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB_Boomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From majestic mountain views to rich history, Nelson is equally adored by outdoor enthusiasts and lovers of art and culture. As the only full-service hotel located on downtown Nelson's famous Baker Street, the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring all that Nelson has to offer. This eclectic British Columbia town attracts visitors from all walks of life. From Selkirk College students to artists drawn to a thriving arts and culture scene, nearly everyone converges on Baker Street for its unique mix of independent shops and restaurants. The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is just steps from the action. For those who crave even more action, Nelson is just a short drive to some of British Columbia's best winter sports spots. The Whitewater Ski Resort is known for having some of the best powder in the world, while Baldface Lodge steps it up a notch with guided snowcat skiing and boarding. Other outdoor enthusiasts can hike, bike and fish at nearby Kootenay Lake, nestled between the Selkirk and Purcell mountain ranges. After a day of play, soak weary bones in the Ainsworth Hot Springs while enjoying spectacular views. If you prefer an indoor soak, head back to your Baker Street hotel and indulge in one of our in-room hot tubs. These amenities include a fitness center and hot tub, free parking in a large lot, kids stay free and the on-site Baker Street Grill, which can satisfy the heartiest of appetites. The convention center space is perfect for a variety of business or special events. And, not only are we Eco-Friendly, but we're pet-friendly too. Come discover why Nelson has earned the reputation as one of BC's premier tourist destinations at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing