We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We requested a quiet room not facing the main street, and that is exactly what we got. Stayed just one night. It was a friendly welcoming place and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Although a coffee maker was already in the room, a kettle and bags of English Breakfast tea arrived quickly when requested.The hotel was easy to find and there was plenty of free parking at its parking lot across the street. The hotel was a couple of blocks from the town centre and a variety of restaurants. We ate at the 'in house' restaurant which we found good value and superb service. The check out was just as cheery as the check in. We enjoyed our easy-going stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is right on Baker Street at edge of downtown Nelson. Parking is across the street. The staff does not merely welcome you they adopt you. When we had questions they went well above the norm to get you answers. The front desk staff, housekeeping, management to the servers in the next door Baker Street grill were perfect. The King room we stayed in is a larger room on fourth floor it was large and immaculate, in fact if you find dust or cobweb it had to be brought in by a guest as it will not survive in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maithean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn for 3 nights and had a most incredible stay. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had a variety of questions on the area and every staff person we spoke with went out of their way to be helpful to us. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank KarenJoyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre for two nights recently. I was traveling with my toddler that, to say the least, can be stress enducing. We attended a banquet function, rented a room in addition to using the onsite restaurant. From beginning to end, I was nothing short of totally floored by the amazing (and genuine) service we received. The room was perfect, clean, updated, great amenities. The Staff was personable and took a real interest in the satisfaction of their customers. Thank you so much for the great stay, even my boy enjoyed himself and has been asking to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our son was attending college in Nelson, BC .. so both my husband and I and our son have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel many, many times. In fact, we like to call it our "home in Nelson". From the moment we made our first reservation via telephone to the front desk, we were treated with warmth and professionalism.
The rooms are comfortable and cozy, and very clean. We love the location, as it is central to restaurants and shopping in Nelson. The staff is absolutely "awesome", and we just love this hotel !! We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Nelson.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Great to hear. Our warm and professional staff continue to be our greatest asset. Thanks for the positive feedback and, of course, for continuing to stay with us every visit to Nelson. Have a great summer from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Helpful friendly staff. Wil stay again when we are in the area. Motorcycle friendly with parking on level ground across the street from the Hotel. This is a great location for walking and exploring Nelson.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel states it is a pet friendly hotel but it's not. HIDDEN COST alert. There is an up front fee of $20 but upon check in you are advised there is an additional $50 fee if the dog jumps on the bed. The reason stated on the list of rules given upon check in is "the housekeeper says so". Had I known this I would have chosen one of the other pet friendly hotels in town. Also the room for dog owners is an inside room in the basement, I am used to pet rooms being less desirable rooms but I feel like I am in a dungeon.

Room Tip: If you want a good room leave the dog at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We definitely are proud to be a dog-friendly hotel. We even have doggie treats, blankets and water dishes available upon check-in at the front desk. Charging a fee for your pet is simply an industry standard. Usually pet fees can range between $10 - $30. At our property it is $20 and this is not a hidden charge. It is clearly visible on any of our websites and our front desk agents will let you know that when you book. This is to cover the extra cleaning required in our pet-friendly rooms.

I am confused why you would be told of a $50 charge if you dog jumped on the bed. This is not policy and our Front Desk Manager was surprised to hear that you were told that. Perhaps it was some information that was misconstrued. We have charged extra when dogs have gone to the bathroom on the floor but that has rarely happened.

Our pet-friendly rooms are located on the first floor which are at ground level. Many dog owners find this convenient because of the grassy area outside your door and the waterfront dog park being such close proximity to the hotel.

I hope this clarifies things and I am truly sorry if you felt as though we were not 'dog-friendly'. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £79 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From majestic mountain views to rich history, Nelson is equally adored by outdoor enthusiasts and lovers of art and culture. As the only full-service hotel located on downtown Nelson's famous Baker Street, the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is the ideal starting point for exploring all that Nelson has to offer. This eclectic British Columbia town attracts visitors from all walks of life. From Selkirk College students to artists drawn to a thriving arts and culture scene, nearly everyone converges on Baker Street for its unique mix of independent shops and restaurants. The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre is just steps from the action. For those who crave even more action, Nelson is just a short drive to some of British Columbia's best winter sports spots. The Whitewater Ski Resort is known for having some of the best powder in the world, while Baldface Lodge steps it up a notch with guided snowcat skiing and boarding. Other outdoor enthusiasts can hike, bike and fish at nearby Kootenay Lake, nestled between the Selkirk and Purcell mountain ranges. After a day of play, soak weary bones in the Ainsworth Hot Springs while enjoying spectacular views. If you prefer an indoor soak, head back to your Baker Street hotel and indulge in one of our in-room hot tubs. These amenities include a fitness center and hot tub, free parking in a large lot, kids stay free and the on-site Baker Street Grill, which can satisfy the heartiest of appetites. The convention center space is perfect for a variety of business or special events. And, not only are we Eco-Friendly, but we're pet-friendly too. Come discover why Nelson has earned the reputation as one of BC's premier tourist destinations at the Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing