We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baker Street, Nelson BC Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baker Street, Nelson BC Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Best Western is well located on the main street of the most beautiful, funky, little town of Nelson B.C. It's well kept and the staff were most friendly, the onsite restaurant can cater you most needs, breakfast/lunch/dinner. While the premises are kept very clean, the furniture is a bit dated. I would actually give this hotel a 3.5 stars on a rating of 5. The one drawback for anyone with a physical disability is that it is located on a steep hill, which one must climb if walking the short blocks to the central business section. The open parking across the street is well lit at night, however I think that it could be full on very busy days. There are numerous restaurants within blocks, as well as all sorts of small shops. The scenery around Nelson is gorgeous, there are many day and half-day trips that can be made, using Nelson as your base.

Room Tip: we were at front, facing Baker Street...there was no problem with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Ron. The toughest part about your review was when you stated that our furniture is dated. We just put in completely brand new furniture into the rooms two weeks ago! It is absolutely beautiful. This included new headboards, nightstands, desks, dressers, accent tables and units designed to contain the fridge and microwaves. We have also bought new Keurig coffee makers. We have received nothing but glowing reviews from all of our guests how much better the rooms look. In addition, we completely renovated the bathrooms which includes new granite vanities, framed mirrors and new tubs.

Perhaps you stayed with us a month ago? Regardless, we are sorry we did not wow you with the changes we have been making. We are also sorry that you found the hill we are on too steep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    162
    48
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
159
41
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Enjoyed a fabulous brunch at the Best Western Baker Street Grill. There was so much choice...highly recommend the omelettes that are cooked to order, the fresh fruit, the gorgeous waffles with cream and strawberry coulis, drizzled with maple syrup ,yummy. Hot porridge, spare ribs, bbq chicken, fresh vegetables...just a small selection of the food available, all served by friendly attentive staff and well worth a visit.

Please be aware I am rating the food only as we didn't stop at the hotel, as we were only passing through Nelson on our way home from a camping trip at Kootenay Creek Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynebutton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for writing about the food. Our on-site dining is a big part of the guest experience when people stay at our property. While Nelson is known for amazing restaurants, one does not need to go very far if you are staying upstairs. The Sunday Brunch is a must if you are staying here on a weekend. It is easily our most popular meal.

Next time you will have to try staying overnight as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Baker BW is a very comfortable and relaxing hotel to compliment your visit to beautiful Nelson BC. The hotel is conveniently close to restaurants and pubs as well as shopping. The restaurant has one of the best if not best breakfast in town. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A GREAT place to stay. Friendly, informative staff. A fantastic bed. Very clean. The fitness centre is well equipped and the hot tub is actually hot with jets that actually work. I would definitely stay here again. Nelson is a great town to visit. Lots of nicely maintained shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level Contributor
109 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

As usual, nothing but the best at this hotel. From the perfect front desk staff to the rooms to the attached restaurant. The lobby, hallways, rooms are always in the finest condition. There is no need to stay anywhere else while in Nelson. I will be back again in about 3 months. "Well done Best Western."

Room Tip: Ask food a upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a business trip and have nothing but praise for the hotel and facilities. Modern rooms, very clean and well maintained and a good restaurant attached. Had a room on Baker street and never noticed any noise. Parking across street but not a busy street.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts Creek, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Baker Street Inn on a business trip, this was my first time tothis part of the province. The drive to Nelson while long is beautiful, and what a great finish to the drive!!

The front desk staff were very friendly and cheerful, and while I understand that parking is at a premium in Nelson, this was an absolute non issue for me as the hotel has ample parking right across the street.

I had one of the best nights sleep that I have ever had in a hotel, the matresses was sooooo comfortable!!

After a good nights sleep, what else is there other than a fantastic breakfast, and the resturant certainly did not dissappoint. The eggs were cooked to perfection, the sausages were great that the hashbrowns were the best I have had while travelling.

All in all, truly a home away from home!!

Congratulations to the owners of this and their other Nelsonproperty the HUme Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing