We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bicycling trip”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful hotel! Travelling with 37 cyclists touring British Columbia. Convenient downtown location. The staff was VERY accommodating to our needs to wash our bikes and provided a large indoor storage bike room. Rooms were updated w/comfortable beds, clean surroundings, refrig., microwave, desk area, TV and coffee maker w/supplies. The Baker Street Grill has great food, also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stunned_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    168
    50
    7
    3
See reviews for
114
165
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bassano, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff at front desk are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Checking in we had problems and they fixed everything right away. They recommended a place for our supper and touring activities. The hot tub was excellent after a long day out on the bike. Rooms are clean and beds are quite comfortable. They are located right downtown where there is lots to do within walking distance. We will definitely stay at this hotel if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank optibyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Upon entering, the appearance of the lobby was inviting because it had been updated. The room was also very nicely decorated and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Extremely comfortable rooms,very updated, good internet with great parking.Staff are one of the best in hotels i stayed in with a fair rate for what u get.Very good exercise room and close walking to everywhere in downtown.this hotel offers for a small town a big city hotel, highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theftive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a lot bigger than expected. Parking in across the street and a nice sized lot at that. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and I managed to check in early.

The room had two double beds, very modern and comfortable. There was a desk, refrigerator, microwave and a nice sized flat screen tv. The bathroom was spacious and modern in style as well.

Overall, it was an excellent place for a nights rest after the day's drive. Make sure and turn the refrigerator on (clockwise knob rotation) so you can store water or anything else later. There is also a restaurant in the hotel, with some nice upscale fare.

Just be careful if you are 6'4 or taller, you will be grazing the bathroom ceiling or ducking.

Highly recommended be it for an overnight or longer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Desdinova777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I'm happy to hear that everything worked out so smoothly during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to offer up a great review on Tripadvisor. I will be sure to share your comments with the whole staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Was a great place to stay for a business trip. Close to work location. Close to Main St (Baker) and a variety of restaurants nearby. Staff were great and always helpful. Good restaurant on property. Was pretty quiet when I was there even though all rooms were booked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eganrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Best Western is well located on the main street of the most beautiful, funky, little town of Nelson B.C. It's well kept and the staff were most friendly, the onsite restaurant can cater you most needs, breakfast/lunch/dinner. While the premises are kept very clean, the furniture is a bit dated. I would actually give this hotel a 3.5 stars on a rating of 5. The one drawback for anyone with a physical disability is that it is located on a steep hill, which one must climb if walking the short blocks to the central business section. The open parking across the street is well lit at night, however I think that it could be full on very busy days. There are numerous restaurants within blocks, as well as all sorts of small shops. The scenery around Nelson is gorgeous, there are many day and half-day trips that can be made, using Nelson as your base.

Room Tip: we were at front, facing Baker Street...there was no problem with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Ron. The toughest part about your review was when you stated that our furniture is dated. We just put in completely brand new furniture into the rooms two weeks ago! It is absolutely beautiful. This included new headboards, nightstands, desks, dressers, accent tables and units designed to contain the fridge and microwaves. We have also bought new Keurig coffee makers. We have received nothing but glowing reviews from all of our guests how much better the rooms look. In addition, we completely renovated the bathrooms which includes new granite vanities, framed mirrors and new tubs.

Perhaps you stayed with us a month ago? Regardless, we are sorry we did not wow you with the changes we have been making. We are also sorry that you found the hill we are on too steep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing