We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“All you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great overnight here to attend a wedding. Room was comfortable and really clean. Slept a great 8 hours no problem. Shower head was high enough for really tall husband (better than our own house!) had a decent view over the water to the mountains, even from main floor.

Cherie at Front Desk was really helpful. Gave good advice on where to find supplies for our night. Helped us with the local cab company during a peak time. We had spoken to her a couple times on the phone too, really sweet and professional.

Restaurant was what you'd expect, cool little diner atmosphere. Had good local beer from Nelson Brewing Company. Maybe could use a bit of redecorating, but I'm really grasping for negatives.

Will stay again next time we're in town. No reason to look elsewhere. Thanks for a great night!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
This is all great to hear, thanks for mentioning it. We are lucky to have Cherie on the front line of our service team. She has been a lot of fun to work with.

I am glad to hear that the wedding went well. It looked like quite the crew last weekend. We hope to see you guys back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    161
    48
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
157
41
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have stayed at a lot of really nice properties throughout Canada and the USA and the Best Western Baker Street Inn is now classed among them. The rooms are newly renovated and it shows as the bed linens feel clean and crisp, the paint and carpet look and feel brand new and the bathroom fixtures/decor are very modern. The wi fi in the room worked excellent and the computer chair/desk was extremely comfortable for doing work for extended periods of time. The restaurant voucher in lieu of housekeeping services was a nice touch and the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. Overall we had an outstanding experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Taryn. Thanks for staying with us. It was really great to see you again and a pleasure to meet your mother. I am glad that you enjoyed the property and that you were able to see the transformation from what it used to look like.

If you are ever back in town please be sure to pop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have always tried to stay with familiar hotel chains when possible but it was a mistake on our part booking so late. The availability of rooms was obviously small because our room was along a hall and up the stairs across from the fitness room. The hall was gloomy and the noise from the comings and goings to the fitness room was constant. Our view was of a cement wall. The noise from the a/c unit was never ending. We then thought we were in the midst of an earthquake as everything was vibrating in the room and we determined that it was only a train going through town. It happened in the middle of the night as well. Not great when you're trying to sleep. The room was small and gloomy. It had been updated at some point but no consideration given to the lack of light. The bathroom grout was black which I suspect was mould. Not cool. Breakfast is not included at this hotel but has a restaurant attached. Service was great and the food hot and filling. The decor needs some serious updating as the 60's were a long time ago. The proximity to pubs, restaurants and shopping is great but you have get past the downsides of the hotel stay. Will not be recommending this to others unless they book early and pay top dollar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank easytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am sorry that you found our property gloomy and dated. It's hard to believe since we just finished our latest room renovations two months ago which met all 'Plus' standard requirements including new framed photography in our hallways. Every piece of furniture in your room is brand new including the linens. We have had incredible feedback from customers telling us otherwise. We have also put granite vanities in the bathrooms as well as new tile work. We only have tile work in ten more bathrooms left to complete and unfortunately your room featured a bathroom that has not yet been renovated.

I am also sorry that the train woke you up. This is not a complaint we hear often but we will make note of that. The trains run through town often very early in the mornings and there is not much we can do about that.

We are also in the process of swapping out old AC units with new ones so I will make sure that we address your room.

Thanks for giving us a try - there are lots of other quality accommodations in town that may suit your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great stay! This hotel is right at the beginning of the historical Baker St. We walked to everything downtown. Clean room, quiet location. Staff was very helpful in mailing back some documents we accidentaly left in our room. Fresh local fruit on the front counter was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 244christined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Clean, quiet and great staff. That seems to always be the recurring theme on comments from our guests. I am glad that we were able to get those documents back to you. Thanks for spreading the good word about the Best Western in Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My recent stay at The Best Western Baker Street was very pleasing. My room was clean and comfortable with plenty of plugs for devices and the WIFI signal was outstanding. The staff were very friendly and the town is simply beautiful. My only complaint was that the food, while priced right was a cut below what you might get in a first class dining establishment. I would gladly pay more for better quality food ( personal preference ). I stayed two nights and decided on The Prestige Lakeside Resort for dinner the second night and that own hands down. A nice patio overlooking the river with excellent food. Back to The Best Western Baker Street.. I would come back anytime, they offer great value and have a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for mentioning our excellent wifi connection. We are one of the few Best Western's in the province that utilize a fiber optic connection so speeds are typically at least ten times faster than most other hotels.

It's too bad you weren't completely satisfied with your dinner but a patio overlooking Kootenay Lake in the summertime is tough to beat.

We hope to see you back in Nelson sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We visit Nelson 2 or more times per year and always stay at this Best Western location.

The staff is typically kind and helpful, and the room are clean and comfortable. This visit we did not have our two dogs, but they are always welcome on our visits and the pet rooms are well kept to the same standard as all the non-pet rooms.

The location is central and a pleasant walk to the heart of town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We missed your dogs this time but as you know, they are welcome anytime. We have well-appointed pet friendly rooms on the first floor.

Thanks for always choosing the Best Western in Nelson when you are in town. We appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

When you book the wrong date and show up at the hotel only to be told there is just 1 room left, you cannot complain too loudly. So I won't. The front desk staff were wonderful, our room (apart from a tiny, wonky in room fridge) was just fine.

When I needed a last minute room in Nelson, I defaulted to Best Western because i trusted the brand. I should have looked around a little more for something more suitable.

More of my review is here: http://blog.buzzbishop.com/travel/explore-bc/baker-st-inn-nelson-review/

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for the really detailed review of the property on your blog site. It looks as though the Front Desk even offered you a decent discount on our Jacuzzi Suite which is typically $249 + tax per night. Of course it is our most expensive room and apparently the only one that was available upon check in. At $189 + taxes, you mentioned that you thought you spent $100 too much for this room. It's hard to fathom that a newly renovated deluxe suite in Nelson with a Jacuzzi tub in the middle of summer would sell at $89 + tax. Most motels in town cost more than that.

We do offer rates that include a full hot breakfast in the morning, it is called the Breakfast Rate and you can book that on the Best Western website. We do find, however, that many guests gravitate towards the cheapest rate possible which does not include breakfast.

We appreciate the review. Thanks for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing