We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great property with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great property with great staff!”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Having stayed at many Best Westerns, I have always found this property to have all those simple expectations in tact...the staff always greet you with a smile, the rooms are clean and the price is always reasonable. A fairly modest gym exists with all of the bare essentials and the restaurant's Thai Rice Bowl is one of my all time favs.
A free guest computer in the lobby is always nice when travelling sans computer. On my last stay I tried the Sunday Brunch...awesome!
The location is right on Nelson's main drag, Baker Street so you are close to everything.
Good job to the staff at the Baker Street Inn...I will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeds67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    165
    49
    6
    3
See reviews for
109
163
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

stayed here for one night for work, check in was organized for our big group and rooms where good sized ours had a LCD tv good size screen. Rooms also had fridges though ours did not have a microwave ask for a room with one as some do. Restaurant offers room service, free guest computer to use, right along main street in downtown nelson very convenient location

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Baker Street Inn on New Years Eve. The dinner in the Baker Street Grill was absolutely fantastic and the prices were incredibly reasonable. The server was very knowledgeable about Nelson and made us feel right at home. The next day we had the breakfast buffet and were blown away with how much food you got for what they were charging.
The rooms were quaint but the decor a bit dated. The server mentioned that the property is renovating all of the rooms starting next month. It was clean and we always received friendly hello's from the Housekeeping staff. Coupled with the convenient downtown location and this is a great property. One of the better Best Western's I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

What a terrible experience! 4 ladies from my family wanted to spend a nice wknd in Nelson, only to find our room had the A/C stuck on max when it was +3 degrees Celsius outside! The manager at the front desk had ample time to fix it as we advised her at 1pm Friday, but choose to ignore the request. Lack of any hotel management for the entire wknd left us stuck in a 1 bed room with a very uncomfortable pullout sofa...and the hotel wanted to charge us extra for the jacuzzi in the corner! The complaints went unheard all wknd and finally on Sunday the front desk manager was in but refused to come out and help us. We were "gifted" $50 off for the 2 sleepless night stay. The hotel manager, who also manages the Hume, refused to be any more accomodating. Warning! Do not stay here...not only is the hotel unmaintained but management is unresponsive!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
I am sorry that you were very upset with your experience at the Best Western Baker Street Inn. We were unable to get that AC unit fixed and unfortunately, we were entirely full that night and couldn't accommodate you in a similar room. We thought you would have enjoyed the upgrade to a Jacuzzi Suite coupled with the discount. We clearly fell short of your expectations and I apologize for this.

Thank you for the feedback. We are always trying to sharpen our customer service. The hotel is just weeks away from becoming a 'PLUS' Best Western and we have just completed a complete makeover of all guest rooms. Feel free to contact me directly the next time you are through the area and we will make sure that your next experience is a positive one.

Sincerely,

General Manager
BW Baker Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location is convenient as a starting point for anywhere in Nelson, i.e. driving out to Balfour for the free ferry ride or window shopping on Baker st. The room is clean & the staff are very friendly. Eating at the Baker St. Grill is a must for good food & great price. If you want a more spacious room opt for the 2 beds instead of 1 even if there are only 2 of you traveling.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaDan366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I found this hotel to be nice, clean, and suitable. They had wireless internet but no breakfast. The parking lot is across the street from the hotel which was a pain, and there didn't seem to be enough spaces for hotel guests as it was difficult to find a parking spot. It is in a good location from what we could tell, and the staff seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmte_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My room was in the back and it was very quiet and comfortable, though a bit small. It's pretty good value for a hotel with a downtown location such as this, and the staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 153 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#5 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Center is historic Baker Street's newest and only full-service hotel. In 2014, the property has received major upgrades to its guest rooms, corridors and lobby to maintain its 'Plus' status.It is the preferred choice for anyone seeking comfortable and convenient accommodations in the heart of the Nelson. You can relax in an in-room Jacuzzi, dine at the Baker Street Grill, exercise in our fitness centre or unwind in our soothing hot tub after a day on the slopes. Kids stay for free and pets are always welcome. Free wireless Internet and free parking are provided for your convenience. We are motorcycle-friendly and the perfect choice for couples, families and large groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing