We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

While the rate we payed was commensurate with the quality of the hotel, we've stayed at many better, cleaner with larger rooms than the Alpine - for the same, or less, money. I know it seems like a small thing, but the hotel advertises "wifi" and it only extends to the units closest to the office. People who read my reviews know this is an important consideration for me when travelling and nothing frustrates quicker. A reasonable value, however, there are many better choices in Nelson.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ClintH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    63
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
68
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was a little hesitant to try a privately run motel when most of our stays have been with the usual chain hotels. This was a great experience from the updated rooms to the fact that many of the rooms are equiped with kitchen or partial kitchen. The bathrooms have been completely renovated. We were so close to everything and a short walk to the downtown area with all of the shops and unique restaurants which over 5 days we had an opportunity to try many of. Ask Jeff for his advice, he knows and has visited most of them. The added bonus was that there are 2 above average golf courses in the area, but my peronal favorite was Granite which is only about 2 minutes away. All in all a fanastic motel and town to visit.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms and lots of room for parking. Seems to be a good stop for motorcycle to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

After a rainy tent night in Yahk, we consulted the Web for a place to stay in Nelson and found this little gem. It took a little effort to find the place, but was worth it. In a town of empty hotels, this place was busy--so we took a room with a jacuzzi and were surprised it was so affordable. The next night, after driving a loop through the Rockies, we headed back and stayed a second night. Repeated this one more time. All three nights were absolutely fabulous--the accomodations are Baltic rustic, with an emphasis on terrific beds. No big screen TV, but who would want one in a fun town like Nelson? We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are a nice treat, and don't cost that much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

The motel was a very nice place to stay. My family and I came in when it was a very warm and humid day. The room we stayed in was neat, tidy and clean. It had a nice rustic charm. Recommended, we had a room with a kitchenette.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've been a visitor to Nelson for the past 5 years and every return trip brings me back to the Alpine. There's fancier, more 'mainstream' hotels to choose from, but this place cannot be beat with its friendly familiar service, spotless rooms and budget fitting prices. Internet, laundry and one of the BEST uphill views of the town of Nelson are all little details that make you wonder why you'd even NEED a big hotel. Easy to get to right off the main highway (a godsend after a long day of mountain highway driving), its an easy 2 min drive to the heart of downtown, or a 10 minute downhill wander. Will be back again this summer and looking forward to it!

Room Tip: They have a jetted hot tub suite that costs not much more than one of the regular rooms- if its not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

What a surprise! The rooms have beautiful triple sheet bedding, flat screen t.v's, brand new bathrooms with great craftsmanship. No where in Nelson have rates that compare to the Alpine. They are so close to downtown but just far enough that you don't get that downtown traffic. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and am already looking forward to my next stay. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for your hospitality. You guys are great!

Room Tip: Great for families, couples and single traveler's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We checked out the reviews of motels in Nelson and decided to stay at the Alpine because it looked clean and well cared for and was central enough to walk to town. It was a good choice. The reception was very friendly and the room was clean and spacious. Spotless white bed linens and towels. Comfortable bed with lots of pillows (we had just bought a pillow because a motel we stayed at the night before only had two). Table and chairs made eating our "picnic dinner" very comfortable. Parking outside our door. Location was quiet. Very reasonable price for good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
648 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn and Suites

Property: Alpine Inn and Suites
Address: 1120 Mines Rd, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 1G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Inn & Suites has 30 clean and comfortable rooms with or without a full kitchen, as well as Jacuzzi suites and large family units. This motel style accommodation features free wireless internet and parking in front of your room. The Alpine Inn & Suites is also dog friendly, a fee of $15.00 cdn/night applies to guests with pets. Ideally situated for those seeking peace and quiet but wanting proximity to Historic Baker Street and Nelson's vibrant arts and entertainment. The Alpine Inn & Suites is also the closest hotel to Whitewater Ski resort. Please let us show you our variety of renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing