We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice place with the recent remodel. Clean, very euro hostel feel, but private rooms (shared shower for the room I had at least).Simple, yet functional. Good wifi as well. Location is good as you're only a block off the main drag, Baker St and can walk anyone downtown. No dedicated parking, but street parking is free at night at least.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review of our newly renovated hotel. We are quite happy with the outcome and the response we have been receiving from our guests. I would like to point out that we do have off street parking, however, it is on a first come, first serve basis. Sorry you were unable to get one of the spots!

Regards,
Rhonda
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

First off I never stayed here before the Renovation, but when asking a few locals I was directed here. Room was nice, visible brick wall, glass enclosed shower with rain head and all. Pub was a lot of fun and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Price was very good for a traveller.

Room Tip: Hotel is not completely renovated at this time so as for new room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vancouverski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Place is nice and clean, the new renos made a huge difference, however the walls are super thin,bring ear plugs as you will basically be sleeping with whoever is in the room beside you. Can actually hear them breathing, and using the bathroom too,our neighbor had the TV cranked all night we didnt sleep much.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikes35071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Guys ski trip to Whitewater. We had 3 rooms. 2 singles in the new part (very nice) and one double in the old wing (small but worked well). We would definitely stay here again. Nice Euro feel. Funky little town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My spouse and I were just looking for a place to sleep after riding White Water all day and this place was perfect. The modern style is unique, but more importantly it has everything you need for a great price. In a convenient location right in the city centre. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornAfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

THe rooms were very nice, although lacking in a few things. When we came in all the lamps were unplugged and it took us a long time to find any electrical plug ins (especially in the dark). The bed had an odd array of blankets and no sheets. THe room also only provided a small sample bottle of shampoo for soap. Other then these minor details, the staff were very nice and helpful, the bar and grill attached made amazing food. The hotel is right in the middle of it all and its within walking distance to downtown. Definitely will stay again, but will be more prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda C, Guest Relations Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking a minute and providing feedback. We strive to provide our guests with the best service and comfort while they stay with us and your comments help us to improve.

Depending upon what type of room you were staying in, we offer our guests a triple linen sheet system in our rooms. For bath amenities, we provide our guests in the budget rooms with soap and shampoo. In our other rooms, we provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, and a makeup remover. If this was not provided in your room, I certainly hope that my staff provided you with it on discovery.

As for the lighting in your room, I have talked with the housekeeping staff regarding checking of such things to ensure that this is not overlooked in the future.

If you would like to contact me directly so I may further discuss this with you please contact me at Rhonda@adventurehotel.ca.

Regards,
Rhonda Comeau
Guest Service Manager
The Adventure Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple room types for a group of guys. I stayed in the dorm style bunk room. Initially I was taken back by the small size and detached shower. After a hour it began to feel perfect. The detached shower worked great with the small half bath in the room. There was slight noise that could be heard from the bar below but nothing that stopped us from sleeping. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The coffee shop next door had the best breakfast sammie known to man. Overall fantastic value for a clean updated room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing