We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, clean modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Adventure Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, clean modern rooms”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our night at the Adventure Hotel. The location is fantastic, we enjoyed being able to walk everywhere in town with ease.
There are some great common areas in the hotel where you can find coffee and tea in the morning and a great patio where you can relax after touring the area.
The rooms were very nice and clean, on the small side but you don't need anything more. Very clean and fresh bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    74
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
90
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for two night I was very worried when I was told our room had no shower and you share a shower on a different floor and that we would be in bunk beds ... But once arriving it was pretty sweet very small and cozy and nicely renovated thank god for the ac though that tiny box heats up quick oh also we had two dogs in the room as well it sorta felt like we were talking back to our childhood and having a slumber party! Needles to say was a great time location is perfect for just about anything you could want to do! The staff is super friendly and with all the treats they gave our dogs they probably put on a pound or two! The rooms are spotless and the beds are so comfortable. And let's not for get the price 69.00 a night in the middle of summer!?!? That's crazy oh also if you go to the visitor Centre first Legit a block away you can get a paper so your room is only 59.00 a night! Don't suggest order flood from down stairs thought out of four people not one of us enjoyed of finished our meal.. Lots of great places to eat in the same block though!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misscait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was my first stay at The Adventure Hotel nee, The New Grand Hotel, post renovation and name change. All the amenities are there and it is done with style. For years I traveled for work and I've stayed in a number of "newly renovated" hotel properties. This is the first hotel where I was literally Gobsmacked by the quality of fit, finish, materials and, workmanship. The tile setter who did the bathrooms is an artiste. His work led me to look any short comings in the renovations. None were found. Rooms are great, food is great, staff are courteous and professional. With the new air conditioners you can almost see your breath in your room if you want or, you can open a window for a gentle night breeze. Located uptown and close to everything. This makes it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereStayedThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. The first time we had an awful room,since the renos the rooms have greatly improved. The staff were ok but need to pay attention there has been two mix ups with payment and gets a little frustrating. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been staying literally in the same room at this hotel for 5 years now. My "new" room after the winter long renovation project was better than expected! Love the addition of USB ports in the plug ins. Allows me to charge multiple things at once with varied options. The beds are still as comfy as ever, even on their new solid wood frames. The little drawer under the bed held all my clothes for the week long stay. The addition of remote controlled air conditioning was very welcomed as the days are hot and the nights do cool off. The ability to quickly adjust the temperature was helpful. The rain shower in my room...amazing!

Danny really did a great job with all the renos. The deck got an addition of an infrared sauna. The second floor got a new guest lounge complete with a great long table to have coffee around, a microwave, new vending machines, and a TV. Everything looks so fresh and new.

Rhonda at the front desk is the most accommodating person you will ever meet. There isn't a single problem she can't solve and she is full of information and tips for any traveler. They even turn on your a/c on the day you arrive so your room is comfortable right from the start.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from above the bar. Note that there are three level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are a couple in our 30s, visited Nelson for the first time. We chose this hotel has it was a reasonable price and good location, close to downtown. We immediately noticed how clean and trendy the rooms looked. Love the laminate floor - we both have bad allergies and so this type of flooring is really preferred. Allergy free! :) Newly renovated rooms. We had an econo queen room with a shower - highly recommend! We slept SO well in this room - better than expected and it is so close to downtown / wonderful places to eat and the water. Friendly, helpful staff. Downside - no kitchen area to make your own food and they do not offer breakfast - but, overall, an excellent stay and will return if we are ever in Nelson again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that is NOT above the bar if you need quiet at night. The econo queen roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location in Nelson and very friendly/helpful staff. I arrived on a Thursday and had a discounted rate from my online booking. When I decided to stay another night they extended my discount and gave me a nicer room! The accommodations are simple but that's the point. It's a streamlined hotel with everything you need and the price reflects that. Definitely recommend and definitely would return.

Room Tip: I had no problems with noise, but apparently some rooms get some noise from the street on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Property: The Adventure Hotel
Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing