We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Villa Motel was chosen based on what I read off tripadvisor reviews and was happy with the choice. The beds are comfortable and the room clean. Our room had been recently updated and had a large flatscreen TV. Was able to park our motorbikes out front so that is good when travelling on motorbikes. Did not stay for breakfast so not suure how it was as left before it was on as like to travel early and did not start till 8. It appears that they are remodelling some rooms as they go along as there was some reno being done to room next door. Our room was nice and updated so well done on owners to be giving the older motel a facelift as finished product is very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Al R,

Thank you for your review. I hope the reno we were doing in the room next door didn't bother you during your stay. The room next door is one of the first batch of rooms to receive hardwood flooring. Please inquire for this room on your next stay!

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Having stayed the previous night in a very uninspiring and smelly Super8 in West Kelowna, the Villa Motel was a breath of fresh air. It sits just across the lake, away from the main town of Nelson, but everything is so close this made no difference to us.
Our room was spacious, spotless, well decorated, with a huge flat-screen TV and our view was of the sunny mountains. The owners were very friendly and so helpful. Their knowledge of the area is perfect, if in need of breakfast go to The Bent Fork just across the bridge it was ace!
All in all this is a gem of a place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Nicola S,

Thank you kindly for such praise. I was excited to see your photos you posted along with your review. Was the Bent Fork amazing or what?

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Villa Motel on Nelson's beautiful North Shore is our destination spot when we travel to Nelson. The beds are more than comfy and the rooms comfortable and clean. Our room had been recently updated and the beautiful flatscreen TV made it perfect. Thanks to Frank & family and Melissa for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Rae B,

The staff and I are very delighted to hear of your pleasurable stay with us. Melissa was surprised you remembered her name, thank you!

-Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My Girlfriend and I have stayed at the Villa several times.We first stayed there for work and now all ways book in when we visit Nelson.Frank is super friendly and helpful.The room is clean spacious and some have a great view of the lake.We felt really at home there and the housekeeping staff are really nice. We've stayed at a few places in Nelson and this is our favorite.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Philtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Thank you for the review Philtea. You and your girlfriend are always welcome here. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us over the many months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Villa Motel is run by very friendly and informative people. Their knowledge of the area was a great asset. The rooms are being updated and I spent two nights in a large king room, with a new and quite large, flat screen TV. The bed was beautiful, with a new duvet, lovely white duvet cover and sparkling white sheets! The walls were adorned with tasteful, modern prints and paintings. The room in general still has that old look to it and and has not yet been entirely modernized. However; it was immaculately clean! I was more than a little impressed. I will definitely be staying there again on my next visit to Nelson. It was cleaner than a four diamond hotel!!

Room Tip: Room 33 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lschmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Thank you for your praise and title of cleanest room in town! The cleanliness goes out to our devoted housekeeping staff. I will forward this review to them and I'm sure they will be greatly pleased. Please do drop by Nelson again and go on that grand adventure to the secret caves. Also, the room you stayed in is one of our development rooms where we add things to see what guests think. I'm glad you found all the additions to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Motel in the late summer of 2012 and came across this hotel because of its fare price for what it had to offer. We arrived close to midnight and called the manager to let him know that we would be checking in 6 hours later than expected. Upon arriving to the lobby, the manager was very nice and warm welcoming and quickly got our room keys and everything else set up. The room was very modest and cozy with a nice big flat screen tv. The bathroom was a decent size (enough room for two!) and was its own room with the big mirror and sink across from it. I found this really convenient because I didn't have to wait to use the mirror to get ready for our day's excursion.

The free continental breakfast was decent. The only thing that was missing were eggs, but the homemade waffles made up for it!

During our 2-day stay, there was a lot of celebration going on in the parking lot but we could not hear it in our room. We were located on the ground floor and slept comfortably as people partied upstairs and outside.

Another note worth mentioning is that whenever I stay at hotels, I leave valuable-looking jewelery and some loose change on the sink counter for the whole day and return to see if the housekeepers would steal it. Nothing was taken or rummaged through our belongings and I am confident that this family-run motel are very hospitable and respectful toward all their guests.

I have recommended this gem of a motel to a lot of my friends because the value of the guest services, room cleanliness and location exceeds my expectations of what I paid for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sora85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Thank you for the review Sora85! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the waffles. I believe there was a wedding group during your stay and if the noise did disturb our guests I would have intervened. Great to know that your room was quiet regardless of the merry folks outside.

Hope to see you on your next trip out to Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The staff at Villa Motel really took care of us, and made our stay a delight. It was on the other side of the river from all the night life of Nelson, but it was also a lot quieter than some of the other places we stayed. If you are looking for a relaxing and affordable motel with exceptional service in Nelson, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Jesse J,

Being a little way out of the downtown core can make a big difference to the noise levels at night. Also, we are far away from the train that goes through town. I'm happy to see you have a restful sleep here. Thank you for the great praise.

Would love to welcome you back on your next trip out to Nelson.

Kind regards,
Frank Shin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#8 of 10 in Nelson
320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#10 of 10 in Nelson
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Address: 655 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £57 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Motel is located right by Nelson’s Orange Bridge, with views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is ideally situated away from Nelson’s city noise with plenty of free parking while being a close 4 minute drive to Baker Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel Nelson
Villa Motel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing