We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in Nelson”
Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Brookings, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls weekend in Nelson”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We found the Villa Motel to be the perfect spot for our overnite in Nelson. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade to a deluxe room with 3 beds. Frank was very helpful to supply us with any request from extra half n half and coffee for our room to showing us on the map of places not to miss in Nelson. The motel is older but the rooms had fresh paint and new linens. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean. This room had 2 flat screen tvs, a mini fridge and coffee maker. The only things it did not have that would be nice is a microwave and maybe a small table with a couple of chairs. There is a table and 2 chairs outside the room but we would have been too noisy to visit outside that late. The pool and hot tub was nice and since we didn't get back until around 9 (closing time). We were able to stay in a little while after the lights were turned off. Thanks Frank!
The location was perfect. Right across the B.O.B. (big orange bridge) from the city and the park. For those that need it, Wal-Mart is nearby. We ate and drank at different places on Baker St. but there is a restraunt on site.
Bottom line is that for the price it is a gem. Very clean and comfortable beds with duvets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you RoadTripSisters, for a wonderful review. We are very happy to accommodate you all during your travels to Nelson. There are some plans for this room during the next winter to take out one of the sink areas and create a lounge area with tables and chairs inside. This decision wouldn't have been possible without the feedback we receive from our guests, so thank you.

The bell and I will await your next visit.

Happy travels,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    65
    34
    8
    13
See reviews for
55
62
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The Villa I have drove past for many years of travel through Nelson on my way home from Greenwood .But was in Nelson on business this Saturday and decided the Villa would be a nice change and was it ever. It had one of the most comfortable beds to enjoy , close to most activities and was just a short walk to a delecious ice cream at DQ . There was some exsquisite artistry on side of bridge that the walk was very worth while.If by chance you are looking for a relaxing bed give Villa a call..

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Randall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for a review, Randall J! We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. I think the walk over the bridge and doing the things you recommended is one of the best walks in town. The bridge provides a stunning and often overlooked view of Nelson as a whole and has the DQ treats waiting at the other end. Very well done!

Happy travels,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I absolutely LOVE Nelson and have yet to find a good hotel. Villa was chosen for the family we brought with us. The staff was very nice on the phone and at check in. They are renovating they say, but put us in the "older" rooms so the kids could be above the pool. That was very thoughtful, and a good idea.My chief complaints with this hotel (and believe me it's no different than the one next door where we stayed a couple years previous), are the fact that the towels are old and thin, rooms a bit run down, and they don't stock extra pillows, or toilet paper rolls in the room. We had to call at a somewhat late hour, to get someone to bring a roll of TP to the front desk. They were a bit put out and asked if we told them not to clean the room ( we didn't) they had come to make up the beds earlier. There is an adequate restaurant below on the property. When we arrived we asked if there was a place to eat close by and was told no! It's literally down the back of the driveway. Sadly, I have yet to find a really good value hotel In Nelson. The good things were the lawn, and sprinkler, the kids loved running through in the evening. It was quiet and clean. Just really would like to see new towels and better bedding the bedding didn't fit the bed so it all came undone while we slept if we moved around. I'd be curious to see the renovations. But seriously, get good linens it makes travelers happy. It's a good thing it's not like the cost of staying here is cheap. Love that it's over BOB and a walk to the beach. Not sure if I'd stay again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We always try to put our guests into the updated rooms, first come first serve and by other requirements given to us by the guest. For example, if it is a group of rooms, we try to put them closer together. We do the renovations ourselves and have only started our major room early this year. The plan is to have a majority of our rooms updated by this coming winter 2013.

Thank you once again for staying with us and good luck on the search.

Happy travels,
Frank S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

4 of us split the 2 room suite. It's a little outdated and slightly rundown but it was very clean, the beds were comfy and the view can't be beat. The staff is very friendly. You get a free waffle for breakfast from the very kitsch waffle dispenser/ maker. The free breakfast consists of all manner of bread type products so not for the gluten-free crowd but certainly filled us up for the mornings. Careful with mobility issues. No lift to the second floor. We spent an hour in the pool and hot tub every night and enjoyed ourselves a lot. Granted, we were out most of the day. This is not a hang out type place but a more than fine place to sleep! I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Ali M,

I responded in depth to this review but it didn't meet the guidelines, oops! I'd like to simply thank you for visiting us and providing a review.

At this moment, since we host the breakfast in our lobby, I do acknowledge the limited seating and service space. The hope is to reconfigure the lobby to provide more space for both. When more space can be allotted the breakfast will offer more selections besides bread and waffles.

Unfortunately, since we have three separate buildings with two floors, an elevator is not in our scope of projects to do. However, I am always willing to lend a hand to our guests in bringing their luggage up or down. :)

I like how you point out "this is not a hang out type place" and would love a private message from you on some ideas to improve this. One project that is in process is a large gazebo in the gardens facing the lake/bridge. With a sun deck with comfortable lay down chairs and various seating, our goal is to provide more areas on our property to enjoy the sun and to relax. A drinking establishment is out of the picture as our goal is to maintain a quiet environment at night. Another idea I was tossing around was a games room of ping pong, board games, etc. I'd be extremely grateful for any ideas you have.

Thank you for a great review!

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from the long weekend stay at the Villa Motel. Initially there was a minor mix up with our booking, however the staff was quick to accommodate the situation and make our stay comfortable as well as their number 1 priority.

Our room was perfect, great size, cozy. We did not hear other guests during the entire duration of our stay. The bed was comfortable, which we weren't exactly expecting but it was a lovely surprise. The view was amazing, our room was on the top floor and overlooked the road and a sneak peak of the lake. Let me say, had it not been for the FABULOUS AIRCONDITIONING, we wouldn't have been able to sleep at night! We were extremely pleased with this as other places we have been to, we'd be lucky if the air-conditioning worked at all.

The staff was great, check in was quick and check out was just as good. We left early, so the manager advised us to leave our key behind with no hassle.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this motel; it was over the bridge (not on the Nelson city side) which was actually quite refreshing. You are about a 5 minute walk over the bridge to the beach. Perfect, perfect weekend! Thanks to all at Villa Motel, we will \be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hi KimberlyR99,

Thank you for such an amazing review! This is the first review or comment on the air conditioner. What a treat! Very happy you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Happy travels and see you soon,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Staff were helpful and friendly. Reception area needed a make over and room where we stayed was up two flights of cement steps with no lift available so we had to drag cases all the way up. Rooms were clean but very dark. I would only recommend this motel if you are going to be out all day and only back there to sleep as one could spend no time in such dark surroundings. Also get your breakfast someplace else as no room to sit down there, the motel entrance is on a really dangerous corner so one needs to be really careful when exiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymccaberogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Marymccaberogan,

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced walking up 1 floor to your room. If I may make a suggestion, if this is a serious issue, please make direct inquiry about your room location and access prior to booking online.

Our complimentary continental breakfast is served in the lobby and we are going to change the layout to add more seating capacity. Guests can also eat their breakfast on one of our picnic tables outside or take it back to their room. However, guests are welcome to venture into the city and enjoy a full hot breakfast at one of the great breakfast places like Bent Fork or Full Circle.

There is an entrance and an exit. Although you can safely exit and enter both ways, it is much easier to exit at the other side of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Villa Motel was chosen based on what I read off tripadvisor reviews and was happy with the choice. The beds are comfortable and the room clean. Our room had been recently updated and had a large flatscreen TV. Was able to park our motorbikes out front so that is good when travelling on motorbikes. Did not stay for breakfast so not suure how it was as left before it was on as like to travel early and did not start till 8. It appears that they are remodelling some rooms as they go along as there was some reno being done to room next door. Our room was nice and updated so well done on owners to be giving the older motel a facelift as finished product is very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Villa Motel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Al R,

Thank you for your review. I hope the reno we were doing in the room next door didn't bother you during your stay. The room next door is one of the first batch of rooms to receive hardwood flooring. Please inquire for this room on your next stay!

-Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#9 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Property: Villa Motel
Address: 655 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Motel is located right by Nelson’s Orange Bridge, with views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is ideally situated away from Nelson’s city noise with plenty of free parking while being a close 4 minute drive to Baker Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel Nelson
Villa Motel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing